E46 Fanatics Forum banner

DIY: FSR replacement for RHD

164K views 59 replies 46 participants last post by  ColonelSanders 
#1 · (Edited)
Before I start, I'd like to point out that this DIY was carried out on my RHD 2002 325i SE by me in Essex, UK in August 2010. I am NOT a mechanic so my technical terms may be incorrect and my tools are basic.

This is the second time I have replaced the FSR because the first replacement failed after 6 months. First time, it took me 3 hours just to remove the top torx screw on the stepper motor. Second time round I had the entire job done in 45 minutes so I had time to take pictures.

Ok friends............here goes.

Tools you will need:

Torch/Flashlight
Philips Head screwdriver
Torx T-20 Driver

Notice I have cut the handle down on the torx driver so that it is just under 6 inches long so that it can fit inbetween the steering column and the top torx screw on the stepper motor. (This will become clearer later in the DIY)

First, remove the two philips head screws that secure the coin compartment.

Next, remove the three screws that secure the panel under the dashboard.

Then pull out the pin in the centre of this stud that secures the panel to the gearbox tunnel and then remove the stud completely.

Next, this rubber stop behind the clutch pedal looks like it is screwed in with a philips head screw. It isn't, just grip it in your hand a pull it away.

Once these fixings have all been removed, grip the panel just under the steering column and gently pull it downwards. There are two retaining clips at this point that will release and the panel will come away. Remove the wiring to the reversing sensor bleeper (1), The interior footwell light (2). Slide the light grey cover backwards on the multi-plug (3) and remove the multiplug. The panel is now free and can be removed from the car.