E46 Fanatics Forum banner

2001 BMW 325i e46 Suspension

12K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  SoloII///M 
#1 ·
So I have a 2001 BMW 325i with 140,000. No suspension work has ever been done to my knowledge. Im a daily driver (75-150 miles a day, territory sales rep). When I am driving straight it's fine but any bumps I hear a THUD and then it levels out. I imagine my struts are blown.

What do you recommend I get to have it comfortable ride, lowered maybe an inch, and handle slightly better then stock?

I know that's a lot to ask, but if you don't ask you don't get an answer 100% of the time. :thanks:

Im looking at getting these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/251065288242?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

#2 ·
I'm sure there are other bushings that need replacing, but the common, thuds due to bumps, noise is often attributed to FCABs(front control arm bushings). You should start there. Struts being blown shouldn't really cause a thud. You would just have a slightly more bouncy ride. Look for leakage around the strut to see if they are in fact truly blown.

#3 ·
For a daily driven car, a good choice for a moderate drop and excellent ride / handling compromise would be either stock ZHP springs with Koni FSDs or Hotchkis springs and Koni FSDs. At your mileage you will need FCABs, RTABs, and very likely will also need front control arms. Might as well get it all taken care of while you're in there.

JV

#4 ·
#5 ·
I had the front control arm replaced about 15,000 miles ago, both sides. I hope that's not the problem again :( The ride is DEF bouncy though, and yeah the rear struts are leaking everywhere. In regards to the the Street Edge Coilovers im wondering if those are better then the Bilsteins.

#8 ·