E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   The Tire Rack's Tire & Wheel Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Can I do a staggered set up? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=293429)

panzr15 09-14-2005 05:17 PM

Can I do a staggered set up?

Is it possible to do a staggered set up on an xi with out killing the awd? What is the widest that i could go? My car is stock suspension height (for now at least). I'm thinking something in 18" range cause I saw a coupe yesterday at work that had a cracked rear shock mount from 19" wheels and an H&R lowering kit, so I'm a little nervous about 19" unless this is really rare. Oh and sorry if this is a repost.

03M3 09-14-2005 08:29 PM

usually staggered setups are a no-no on all-wheel drive cars...i am no pro but this is what i have gathered. If you really want a staggered look, you can get staggered lips from a company like DPE, i-forged, HRE. And mainly its the tires that shouldnt be staggered, not the rims. So say if you bought some 18x8.5 front and 18x9 or even 9.5 you could potentially run 235's or even 245's on all four wheels. Just some things to think about

panzr15 09-15-2005 01:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 03M3
usually staggered setups are a no-no on all-wheel drive cars...i am no pro but this is what i have gathered. If you really want a staggered look, you can get staggered lips from a company like DPE, i-forged, HRE. And mainly its the tires that shouldnt be staggered, not the rims. So say if you bought some 18x8.5 front and 18x9 or even 9.5 you could potentially run 235's or even 245's on all four wheels. Just some things to think about

Why shouldnt the tires be staggered? How does it change things?

03M3 09-15-2005 09:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by panzr15
Why shouldnt the tires be staggered? How does it change things?