E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Auto Trans. Limit (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=298752)

Oshin02 10-04-2005 05:37 AM

Auto Trans. Limit
 
I've heard a lot of draw backs that the step/auto equipped e46's have with major power upgrades. For example, there is no stage 2 SC kit for them due to the tranny not being able to withstand all that extra power......What is it really that can't withstand the power in the trans.? Is it the gears, the torque converter, etc.. Also, is there a way to correct this weakness in step/auto transmissions without swaping on over to a manual:hmm:? Thanks:thumbsup:!

Oshin02 10-04-2005 05:39 AM

And yes, I’m unfortunately a step/auto…….:cry:

Mr Paddle.Shift 10-04-2005 12:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oshin02
And yes, I’m unfortunately a step/auto…….:cry:

Why is it being unfortunate? I have so much fun at the tracks with an ASA SC and a steptronic.

BMR2NV 10-04-2005 09:56 PM

Well i had a turbo setup on my e46 and the tranny would always go into limp mode at around 3,500rpm when it was reaching max power levels. There is a limit on the tranny but i think its more got to do with the brain controlling it. There must be a certain power (torque) level that the computer has been pre set to before putting the trans into limp mode.
As soon as i took the turbo set up off and left it n/a with exhaust and air intake mods there car and tranny ran perfect... i dont think just "BEEFING UP" the tranny is going to help... Something needs to be done to the computer.

im no expert but thats just comming from experience..

Oshin02 10-05-2005 04:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMR2NV
Well i had a turbo setup on my e46 and the tranny would always go into limp mode at around 3,500rpm when it was reaching max power levels. There is a limit on the tranny but i think its more got to do with the brain controlling it. There must be a certain power (torque) level that the computer has been pre set to before putting the trans into limp mode.
As soon as i took the turbo set up off and left it n/a with exhaust and air intake mods there car and tranny ran perfect... i dont think just "BEEFING UP" the tranny is going to help... Something needs to be done to the computer.

im no expert but thats just comming from experience..

Is there any trans softwares that can do this?....:eeps:

greenohawk69 10-05-2005 01:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oshin02
Is there any trans softwares that can do this?....:eeps:

I've heard Dinan.

Oshin02 10-05-2005 06:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by greenohawk69
I've heard Dinan.

I just got off the phone with them, it doesn't eliminate the torque sensor:tsk:..........is there anythign else I can do? Is it a physical sensor in the trans that I can mess around wit hor is it strictly software? Thanks!

BMR2NV 10-05-2005 07:53 PM

I Think there is an actuall torque sensor.... but u cant just remove it because then u will again have problems with the trans computer. Its a fine line between being ok and being over the limit

Lay2Low 10-05-2005 09:40 PM

I hope someone can figure out how to make this work. How much can the tranny really hold before it starts to slip? It just seems wierd that they would slip with a "low" HP and torque, when you see things like mercedes' autos holdin 500+

malakia12 10-05-2005 09:45 PM

My tranny is holding up fine up til now, I have AA s/c, headers, cams, exhaust, but my car is a 325. It used to slip in the beginning when I first got the s/c installed, but since then I can basically push the car as hard as I want and then tranny responds just fine. time will tell i guess

Mr Paddle.Shift 10-05-2005 10:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lay2Low
I hope someone can figure out how to make this work. How much can the tranny really hold before it starts to slip? It just seems wierd that they would slip with a "low" HP and torque, when you see things like mercedes' autos holdin 500+

That's because each transmission has a torque rating. BMW has auto transmissions rated for higher torque, notably those in 7er, 5er, X5 and the Alpina V8 (Z8 based).

Oshin02 10-06-2005 06:47 AM

So how much can we step/ auto tran.'s really hold till they go into "Limp mode"? Thanks!

tpollard95124 10-06-2005 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMR2NV
Well i had a turbo setup on my e46 and the tranny would always go into limp mode at around 3,500rpm when it was reaching max power levels. There is a limit on the tranny but i think its more got to do with the brain controlling it. There must be a certain power (torque) level that the computer has been pre set to before putting the trans into limp mode.
As soon as i took the turbo set up off and left it n/a with exhaust and air intake mods there car and tranny ran perfect... i dont think just "BEEFING UP" the tranny is going to help... Something needs to be done to the computer.

im no expert but thats just comming from experience..

I know there's been lots of debate in this forum on auto transmissions and I'm not looking to re-create that. It would be interesting to know though what the torque sensor limits are on the GM and ZF transmissions.

Mr Paddle.Shift 10-06-2005 07:44 PM

I have a ZF 5HP19. My last dyno was about 240rw-hp, 210rw-ftlbs. I haven't experienced slippage or going into limp mode ever.

I need a more concrete proof. I know the GT-1 can display the torque rating. Hoping to jump on the dyno soon.

BayerischeMW 10-07-2005 08:34 AM

this is nice reading since i am planning on going ESS TX2 next spring on my 330 step, hoping it won't be any trouble.

Oshin02 10-09-2005 06:16 AM

:banghead:

Oshin02 10-09-2005 06:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by malakia12
My tranny is holding up fine up til now, I have AA s/c, headers, cams, exhaust, but my car is a 325. It used to slip in the beginning when I first got the s/c installed, but since then I can basically push the car as hard as I want and then tranny responds just fine. time will tell i guess

So your doin okiw with your step/auto? Or is it slipping?

malakia12 10-09-2005 08:33 AM

I am doing fine with my tranny

Oshin02 10-12-2005 11:16 PM

anyone else? :dunno:

bengwie 10-13-2005 03:48 PM

From my thought and my friend's experience, it is fine for 325 with supercharger w/ step because the power that SC gives on the 325 engine is right about the boundary of slipping (around 300 crank horse power), but 330 is the problem since the power will be above the boundary (the max limit of step tranny) and it will cause problems.

There was a product in www.levelten.com to upgrade your tranny to handle more horsepower, but I heard it was useless.

So, I think it would be better to just buy an M3 (anyway your car is coupe too, it would be an issue for people who like/want sedan). That's what my friend recommends me (he got SC on his 325). It's all up to you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use