E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Installing Aftermarket Head Unit (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=30392)

NiTE 09-22-2002 08:21 PM

Installing Aftermarket Head Unit
 
What are the exact parts that I need to install an aftermarket head unit into my 328i? The unit is an Alpine 7894, this should be an easy DIY, right? If I need certain OEM parts could someone please post the part numbers for them. Thanks in advance.

Delirium 09-23-2002 12:41 PM

I think this is what you need:

Face plate adaptor
Wiring harness
antenna adaptor

The think i dont get is that if your speakers are already amplified by the factory amp how do you hook up the head unit to the wiring harness? Wont the speakers be double amplified because the Head unit also has an amp? Which amp will you be using when you do this?

NiTE 09-23-2002 02:00 PM

im pretty sure the audio will not be amplified by the head unit, it will just pass through to the amp that is already in the car.

Derek330xi 09-23-2002 03:04 PM

anyone have a site that show the DIY for headunit? i am planning to install a panasonic mp3 headunit but don't know how

ZzyZx 09-25-2002 05:16 PM

I have this setup in my car now. PM me if you have any questons or need any help.

LfeStylez 10-21-2002 03:18 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Derek330xi
anyone have a site that show the DIY for headunit? i am planning to install a panasonic mp3 headunit but don't know how
hey derek, did you ever find a d.i.y. site on how to install the alpine head unit? i wanna do the same set up, but don't know much about the wiring...do you have HK system? if so, do you know if there's any different special wiring?

guest1016 10-22-2002 10:15 AM

when you hook up the output of your alpine to the wiring harness it goes directly into the amplifier, not the speakers. this is known as a high level input. Amps either take a hi-level (speaker level) or low-level (rca's)input Therefore your speakers will still be using the factory amp for power & crossover duties. There is nothing that will be doubly amplified. the Factory amps use high level input, VS. most aftermarket amps have input's for both. You have nothing to worry about just wire the plug up correctly and plug it in...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use