E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   General E46 Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   If you install OEM Xenons in a non-Xenon E46... (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=3133)

SrCsTc 04-28-2002 07:31 PM

If you install OEM Xenons in a non-Xenon E46...
 
will the "headlight-out warning light" come on? I was told it does... is there a way around it?

Curious Mike 04-28-2002 08:39 PM

Your dealer will need to use MoDiC to reset your car's computer so that "Xenon = YES".

SrCsTc 04-28-2002 08:44 PM

Have you upgraded yours to Xenons or know someone that did?

trkmedic69 04-28-2002 11:12 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Curious Mike
Your dealer will need to use MoDiC to reset your car's computer so that "Xenon = YES".
is that an expensive thing to have done?

Ausfahrt 04-29-2002 04:07 AM

I got mine done in Germany before I left.
 
They installed the german version xenon. It has auto leveling and I got the rear fog lights and the switch. They sold it to me but told me it was not DOT approved and might not pass customs. But I got them installed anyways and had no problems with customs. It was pricey though....

David328Ci 04-29-2002 04:31 AM

Yes the headlight indicators come on inside the car. A friend of mine got them in his 323i. It's somewhat annoying.

Curious Mike 04-29-2002 05:10 AM

I plan on one day buying xenon headlights, and I had read about the procedure on the .org while I was still over there. It should be a nominal fee, if not free.

KingRichard 04-29-2002 07:44 AM

Well, Xenon OEM from the dealer cost lots of $$$, so I grab the bosch version which is half prices. The different is BMW brands and Without. Modules etc are intacts.

Most dealer dont know the different anyway because its 100% identical accept for the brands. However you will required your dealer to reset your car using their MoDic system and told the internal car diagnostic that u have installed Xenon/Bi-Xenon. Dont know the cost there in US, but my dealer in Indonesia will do it for its labor cost only which is quite cheap :)

If you do not reset the system, Xenon might get burn up and will fail from time-to-time. Plus the error display is annoying like hell. This happen due to the different Watts between Non-Xenon (55W) and Xenon (35W) output.

I hope this will help out..

P.S. the autoleveling will be disable once the system reset. I was wondering if anyone know if this can be fixed. This happen due to the autoleveling sensors.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use