E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Home Improvement (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Can I use a car sub as a home theater sub? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=355643)

rana 04-10-2006 07:50 PM

Can I use a car sub as a home theater sub?
 
Hi guys,

My secondary Home Theater sub blew out...its actually been a while...

I have a 12" Infinity car sub sitting around collecting dust...Im wondering, can I use that as my home theater sub?

The only thing is, the actual HT sub I had, had a lot of knobs and stuff at the back to control sound output....and I think it had a built in amp as well....

Hmm...will my reciever be able to power the Infinity sub on its own?

sycE46 04-11-2006 01:27 AM

Most likely, no...

Most receivers can only drive 6-8 ohm speakers. Chances are... your infinity sub is either wired for 4 or 2 ohm.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rana
Hi guys,

My secondary Home Theater sub blew out...its actually been a while...

I have a 12" Infinity car sub sitting around collecting dust...Im wondering, can I use that as my home theater sub?

The only thing is, the actual HT sub I had, had a lot of knobs and stuff at the back to control sound output....and I think it had a built in amp as well....

Hmm...will my reciever be able to power the Infinity sub on its own?


Three30i 04-11-2006 01:41 AM

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...t=home+theater

This might help you :dunno:

brew 04-11-2006 11:30 AM

Yes you can use a car sub. You'll need a separate amp. Here is a link to some good cheap plate amps for subs: http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....up_ID=505&SO=2

Most of those should have no problem with a 4 ohm sub. If you have dual 2, 3 or 4 ohm voicecoils, make sure to wire them in series.

rana 04-12-2006 01:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brew
Yes you can use a car sub. You'll need a separate amp. Here is a link to some good cheap plate amps for subs: http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage....up_ID=505&SO=2

Most of those should have no problem with a 4 ohm sub. If you have dual 2, 3 or 4 ohm voicecoils, make sure to wire them in series.

Exactly what I needed!

Thanks brew :thumbup:

rana 04-12-2006 01:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Three30i

that was helpful. Thanks man :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use