E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Home Improvement (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Need help connecting HDTV (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=359143)

BMW_ARP 04-21-2006 10:23 PM

Need help connecting HDTV

I just ordered a 50" Sony 1080p SXRD KDSR50XBR1. This will be my first HDTV and i have no experience or knowledge in this field. What do i need to connect my stuff? I will be getting a HD receiver from DishNetwork soon and a progressive scan DVD player. How can i get the best image out of my tv? I need any kind of advice you guys can give me. Thanks

baller99 04-21-2006 11:07 PM

It depends on what the output capabilities of the hd receiever and the progressive scan dvd player are. You aren't giving enough info. You would want to hook them up with component video cables at the minimum, and if available hook them up with hdmi.

JBimmer01 04-21-2006 11:12 PM

Optical or coaxial audio cables are a must.

baller99 04-22-2006 02:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JBimmer01

No they're not. He didn't mention anything about a receiever.

Mike325i 04-22-2006 02:58 AM

Both of the new dish network hd receivers have hdmi inputs. You could go with an hdmi connection on that and the if the dvd player is an upconverting player (720p, 1080i) you can also use hdmi on that. If its just a plain progressive scan dvd player you'll need to use component cables.

I would also recommend some sort of calibration disk to help you adjust the colors on the tv. Something like avia or digital video essentials.

baller99 04-22-2006 03:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike325i
Both of the new dish network hd receivers have hdmi inputs. You could go with an hdmi connection on that and the if the dvd player is an upconverting player (720p, 1080i) you can also use hdmi on that. If its just a plain progressive scan dvd player you'll need to use component cables.