E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   General Off-Topic (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Aquarium fanatics help me out (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=368729)

Guest72414 05-24-2006 03:07 PM

Aquarium fanatics help me out

Im thinking of getting a 55 gallon hexagon aquarium should I go with an all-glass aquarium or acrylic aquarium? What are the pros and cons of each type of aquarium? Also since my surface area is limited in a hexagon aquarium what are some good saltwater fish to put in it? Im new to aquariums so want a nice setup but not something way to difficult to maintain. Also anyone have personal experiences with hexagon aquariums I need it to save space in my apartment but all the stores tell me not to get one.

Effing_Psycho 05-24-2006 03:28 PM

go to the library and get a book on aquariums. If I am not mistaken beginners shouldn't mess with salt water aquariums.

VALMONT 05-24-2006 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Effing_Psycho
go to the library and get a book on aquariums. If I am not mistaken beginners shouldn't mess with salt water aquariums.

salt water isn't that bad, just takes like 3 months of prep with bag salt and damsel fish. about 3 months before you can add other fish and dump the damsels back to the store.

glass is by far heavier but acrylic tends to scratch like b1tch if you are not careful.

KrzyBum420 05-24-2006 03:49 PM

Glass - doesn't scratch, cheaper

Acrylic - 2x lighter, stronger (can flex alot more), holds heat in much better, scratches easily meaning you have to use certain cloth to clean it.

If you get a tall aquarium that doesn't have much surface area, don't put in too much fish. goto like www.monsterfishkeepers.com or something and ask them there. many informative people on that site :thumbsup:

m3on20z 05-24-2006 03:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by np2004