E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Homelink to operate an apartment gate? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=489623)

Turbopilot 07-17-2007 04:44 PM

Homelink to operate an apartment gate?
 
My apartment has a security gate that can be accessed one of two ways: by rolling down the window and touching your access card to a scanner or by buying a keychain opener from the leasing office that (I assume) acts like a garage door opener. Has anyone used Homelink to open that type of gate? I assume it's not a rolling code since there may be dozens of transmitters and new ones can be added any time a resident wants to buy one.

Since I don't have an existing opener, I would basically have to park just inside the gate and wait for someone with an opener to pull up to the gate and program it. Will that work, or does the Homelink require multiple "zaps" to acquire the code?

tom @ eas 07-17-2007 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Turbopilot (Post 6321240)
My apartment has a security gate that can be accessed one of two ways: by rolling down the window and touching your access card to a scanner or by buying a keychain opener from the leasing office that (I assume) acts like a garage door opener. Has anyone used Homelink to open that type of gate? I assume it's not a rolling code since there may be dozens of transmitters and new ones can be added any time a resident wants to buy one.

Since I don't have an existing opener, I would basically have to park just inside the gate and wait for someone with an opener to pull up to the gate and program it. Will that work, or does the Homelink require multiple "zaps" to acquire the code?

Homelink works fine for security gates also. :thumbsup:

You'll need to borrow an existing remote to program it.

Tovar46 11-17-2012 02:45 PM

I just moved into an apartment complex with a gate that I have a remote for, which leads to my question would I have to get access to the actual gate opening motor box to allow a type of timed period to link everything together?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use