E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   General E46 Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   iPod + BMW - my adventures (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=578671)

rorschach 05-28-2008 02:39 PM

iPod + BMW - my adventures

As you can see from my profile, I've got a '01 E46. The interior is pretty basic, the car came with a Business Cassette head unit. Fortunately, it also has the CD-changer in the trunk so the same day I got the car, I automatically put in 6 discs and started listening to them like crazy, rarely changing them out because I'm.. well, lazy.
Obviously, my ultimate goal was to get my iPod hooked up to the car somehow. Started doing my homework and found a couple of ways.

1) DICE - $200 (~$50 for shipping)

2) Post-09/2002 head unit + AUX cable - ~$250

After finding out these were the only two options, I was ready to give up and just keep listening to those 6 CDs. I'm a student, so I decided the iPod isn't worth it. Plus at one point I got screwed on eBay for about $50 when I just decided to get a Business CD head unit to have the CD deck in the dash.

Then I found this. I had almost everything I needed in my closet, apart from a little male-to-female converter that I bought so I didn't have to mess with those 10 copper wires the DIY mentions. Victory!

3) DIY iPod cable that works with pre-2002 head units (if you have the CD-changer) - $0.50

Sure, it doesn't have steering wheel controls, ID3 tags or charging capabilities, but it's 400 times cheaper than DICE and personally, I'd take an unlocked iPod any day over the DICE options. Ironically, if you want to achieve that with DICE, you'd lose everything except the charging capability.

I finished the cable and hooked it up for a few minutes. I think the sound quality is excellent, though I'm not much of an audiophile.

As Hannibal would say, I love it when a plan comes together.

AntB 05-28-2008 02:58 PM