E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Australia (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   E46 DME Security Question (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=697396)

lmaus 08-10-2009 06:15 PM

E46 DME Security Question
 
Hi All,

I'm hoping someone can provide me with further details, or tell me if a workshop can perform this function - I have purchased another DME, which once installed will need to be synchronized to my EWS Immobilizer to allow me to start my car.

Anyone know?

E46 Coupe 08-10-2009 06:16 PM

Workshop with the right computer.. OR when you get the new DME flashed you can get EWS *cough* disabled *cough*

lmaus 08-10-2009 06:23 PM

Apparently an Autologic Computer can run the EWS Alignment through it's interface which should be relatively straight forward. Worx, does your box do this?


http://www.autologic.us/bmw.html

lmaus 08-10-2009 06:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by E46 Coupe (Post 10440996)
Workshop with the right computer.. OR when you get the new DME flashed you can get EWS *cough* disabled *cough*

Why would I want to disable it Mr CarThief? :craig:

lmaus 08-10-2009 06:25 PM


EWS
Security
Read and clear fault codes, diagnosis request, module information, ECU coding information, key status (enable or disable), display keys used in vehicle, align EWS to DME or DDE
E36, E38, E39, E46, E53, R50/R53 EWS 2, EWS 3, EWS 3D

E46 Coupe 08-10-2009 06:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmaus (Post 10441047)
EWS
Security
Read and clear fault codes, diagnosis request, module information, ECU coding information, key status (enable or disable), display keys used in vehicle, align EWS to DME or DDE
E36, E38, E39, E46, E53, R50/R53 EWS 2, EWS 3, EWS 3D

What's that from exactly?

lmaus 08-10-2009 06:41 PM

The Autologic Computer OBDII Compatibility List - it shows that the Autologic Computer can run the sync. Maybe I should head down to SouthernBM in Moorabbin and ask if I can use their "ESS" as Andrew claims to own.. Which technically doesn't exist? *laughs* .. Mate we need to catch up so I can whine to you about how ridiculous their service is.

E46 Coupe 08-10-2009 06:44 PM

Been there NEVER going there again! DW I know about it.

325Mark 08-10-2009 11:22 PM

Alignment can only be done on uncoded or virgin ews, your used one has already been aligned and cannot be done again any BMW workshop can do this your problem is the ews won't identify the isn from the dme. You need to dump the memory from the original dme and program the used dme. Your best bet would be Bmw scanner or the likes.

Ballistic325 08-10-2009 11:35 PM

^ how do you guys know all this stuff??

E46 Coupe 08-10-2009 11:46 PM

True fanatic?

lmaus 08-11-2009 12:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ballistic325 (Post 10442457)
^ how do you guys know all this stuff??

Don't you watch Hollywood movies? 325Mark is actually Nicholas Cage.

325Mark 08-11-2009 01:01 AM

$5 an autograph

lmaus 08-11-2009 01:13 AM

I think the most probable answer without knowing Mark, is that we all work in IT and have an aptitude for anything with a circuit board ;)

Sam_Micropak_AU 08-11-2009 01:19 AM

i thought i smelled geek

Ballistic325 08-11-2009 02:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmaus (Post 10442703)
Don't you watch Hollywood movies? 325Mark is actually Nicholas Cage.

And that would make you MacGyver :shhh:

325Mark 08-11-2009 03:32 AM

I have allot of BMW Diagnostic / Programming gear, Ive done plenty research into coding/programming modules as well as Aftermarket and Genuine BMW Equipment. Its kinda a hobby lol. DME Flashing is extremely hard on these cars and you would probably have more success to get an EWS Programmer and trying to change the ISN Password on the EWS rather than fiddling with the DME, Although you wont be able to swap the DME's then because your one wont work anymore. First off check what version EWS you have to see if you have rolling code ISN but I think you probably do.

lmaus 08-11-2009 06:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 325Mark (Post 10442385)
Alignment can only be done on uncoded or virgin ews, your used one has already been aligned and cannot be done again any BMW workshop can do this your problem is the ews won't identify the isn from the dme. You need to dump the memory from the original dme and program the used dme. Your best bet would be Bmw scanner or the likes.

This would ordinarily be true for obvious security reasons.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 325Mark (Post 10443541)
I have allot of BMW Diagnostic / Programming gear, Ive done plenty research into coding/programming modules as well as Aftermarket and Genuine BMW Equipment. Its kinda a hobby lol. DME Flashing is extremely hard on these cars and you would probably have more success to get an EWS Programmer and trying to change the ISN Password on the EWS rather than fiddling with the DME, Although you wont be able to swap the DME's then because your one wont work anymore. First off check what version EWS you have to see if you have rolling code ISN but I think you probably do.

There is indeed a way to hack the DME and change one of the EPROM values to think the EWS is accessible thus accepting the EWS and associated ISN within your immobilizer. This value effectively allows for the DME to be "Open" to input. A closely guarded secret, but known to people who possess certain tools & applications.

I have purchased a Siemens DME which comes with the new tune and the above mentioned open value which will accept my existing EWS information.

325Mark 08-11-2009 07:40 AM

So Why do you need to bypass the Used DME if you already have purchased a DME with the lockbit removed.

lmaus 08-11-2009 05:57 PM

I don't need to bypass anything, just needed to avoid sending my DME to the US at the cost of 2 weeks vehicle downtime. I have purchased another which has already been flashed with my new mappings to accommodate my ESS TS, just needed to confirm that the EWS sync process would be allowed and not get 10 hours down the install path and not be able to start my car at the end.

Learning about this type of technology has sparked my interest now however, probably in a similar to way to yourself - I have placed an order for the OBDII Carsoft Kit to feed my curiosity :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use