E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   No "check engine light" with headers!!! (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=713645)

F1004fun 10-17-2009 02:11 AM

No "check engine light" with headers!!!
 
I found the fix for running the aftermarket ebay headers! And keeping you CEL light out, hell the monitors even pass! Now this is on a '02 330Ci with MS43, I am not sure if this will work on '03 and later as they run MS45, but if your brave and want to try I'll help you out.

Now not that I am all for taking catalytic converters off your car, it's very horrible and you should all feel bad and put them back on.:blah:

But with that being said, the Innovate LC-1 is a very cool tool that I honestly must give credit to that pie330 guy for telling me about. It is a wideband O2 sensor with a little control unit that gives you 2 programmable outputs and a serial cable hookup for laptop hookup and tuning.

Now this may sound complicated but it really wasn't that hard to hookup, but I would recommend some automotive and electrical experience and a good soldering iron.

So with the headers installed hook up your 2 pre-cat sensors, this should leave you with 2 bungs left, well plug one and install the Bosch wideband O2 sensor in the other. Now I know your only reading one bank but this is the best I can do for now.

The Innovate controller fits under the engine cover nicely. ( I'll get some pics here in a day or two) I used my old connectors from the old post-cat O2 sensors, installed a 50ohm 10watt resistor in each of two sets of white wires, these are the O2 heater ciruit wires.

For the signal and ground wires it gets tricky. So we should have two wires left over at each of your O2 sensor connections, now sensor side wiring changes so reference the engine harness side for this. Bring the two wires together that connect to the yellow wire, and wire in about 3' of small yellow wire this is the Analog1 output from the controller. Next bring together the two wires that connect to the black wire, again 3' of small black wire, this is the signal ground. Bring this signal ground the yellow wire and all the associated LC-1 wires in a nice loom into the e-box, you'll even find a grommet you can use.

Once in the e-box lift the DME and the bracket that it's held into up and expose the chunk of red-white and brown wires underneath. Connect the sensor ground wire and the white and blue LC-1 ground wires to the splice of brown grounds under the DME, next connect the LC-1's red wire into the splice of red-white yellow dotted wires. Connect the yellow wires together.

Well if your still with me the hard part is done, fire up the laptop and load the software. While your doing this there is a bit of a calibration hoop you need to jump through, the directions are in the box with the LC-1.

Once you load the software go to Analog1, select "use air-to-fuel ratio" and program in .650volts at 18:1 and .100volts at 22:1, then go to advanced and select 1/3 second delay. Program all this in and clear you old catalytic converter efficiency faults and then go out and enjoy.

I have played around with this voltage curve a little and this curve finally got the monitor to pass, as I datalog more cars I'll update any changes I find. Hope this helps, I have found many cool ideas on this forum and wanted to give something back.

nite-stalker 10-17-2009 09:21 AM

thats a very expensive o2 simulator, if you are not doing any tuning

aggieE46 10-17-2009 09:29 AM

$40 at o2simulator.com works just fine, too :)

F1004fun 10-17-2009 11:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aggieE46 (Post 10774162)
$40 at o2simulator.com works just fine, too :)

Have you had these actuakky work for you? Because they didn't work for me, eventually my car set a light.
You see the O2 sensor foolers don't work, you get " catalytic efficiency faults".
The O2 sensor simulators don't produce the low voltage "lean" signal when you decelerate, so you will get " oxygen sensor low voltage not detected" fault.

I have tried it all, the LC-1 allows for the good .650 voltage of a good cat at cruising speeds and gives the low voltage on decel, with the addiction of the 1/3 second delay that is what the DME uses to measure the oxygen saturation of the catalytic converter. I am not sure if this is what they designed this little gem for, but it works damn good.

PEI330Ci 10-18-2009 03:51 AM

Glad to hear it worked out for you, and thank you for posting the details for others to learn from.

aggieE46 10-18-2009 09:38 AM

Working for several thousand miles, now.

Quote:

Originally Posted by F1004fun (Post 10776556)
Have you had these actuakky work for you? Because they didn't work for me, eventually my car set a light.
You see the O2 sensor foolers don't work, you get " catalytic efficiency faults".
The O2 sensor simulators don't produce the low voltage "lean" signal when you decelerate, so you will get " oxygen sensor low voltage not detected" fault.

I have tried it all, the LC-1 allows for the good .650 voltage of a good cat at cruising speeds and gives the low voltage on decel, with the addiction of the 1/3 second delay that is what the DME uses to measure the oxygen saturation of the catalytic converter. I am not sure if this is what they designed this little gem for, but it works damn good.


pat 10-18-2009 10:41 AM

Interesting...

F1004fun 10-18-2009 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aggieE46 (Post 10777444)
Working for several thousand miles, now.

I am interested to know if your OBD2 monitors have passed for the cats.

There was a while that I didn't get faults, like about 2 months but the monitors would still not pass.

SmokeyDP 10-20-2009 01:39 PM

Nice...

Now if there was a way to get the EGT sensor to stop throwing a code from installing headers without actually disabling the monitors...

aggieE46 10-20-2009 01:59 PM

I'll hook up AutoEnginuity later and see what's up.

Other than that, I guess I'll find out next year when I go in for inspection.

Quote:

Originally Posted by F1004fun (Post 10777757)
I am interested to know if your OBD2 monitors have passed for the cats.

There was a while that I didn't get faults, like about 2 months but the monitors would still not pass.


F1004fun 10-24-2009 09:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeyDP (Post 10787399)
Nice...

Now if there was a way to get the EGT sensor to stop throwing a code from installing headers without actually disabling the monitors...

It wouldn't be that hard to weld a fitting on there, you might want to consider running the EGT sensor as you DME looks at that for fuel and timing curves.

I don't own an M3 and I only work on a handful of them, so you M3 guys probably know more about that then I do.

SmokeyDP 10-27-2009 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by F1004fun (Post 10808171)
It wouldn't be that hard to weld a fitting on there, you might want to consider running the EGT sensor as you DME looks at that for fuel and timing curves.

I don't own an M3 and I only work on a handful of them, so you M3 guys probably know more about that then I do.

I have the EGT sensor, but unfortunately with the SuperSprint headers it throws a code unless you run 'race' software which disables the rear o2 monitors which also means the readiness monitors will not set.

F1004fun 10-30-2009 01:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeyDP (Post 10819997)
I have the EGT sensor, but unfortunately with the SuperSprint headers it throws a code unless you run 'race' software which disables the rear o2 monitors which also means the readiness monitors will not set.

Dude! This is perfect for you! Run the LC-1 into your rear O2 sensor signal and your golden. How man bungs are on the headers, 2 or 4? If you have 4 then it's the same as with the e-bay headers. If your serious about it I will help you with a wiring schematic, but it should be just about the same.

SpeedDemon 10-30-2009 01:10 AM

AA Tuning worked for me and it can work for you too ;)

SL Blak Soldier 10-30-2009 03:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SpeedDemon (Post 10834065)
AA Tuning worked for me and it can work for you too ;)

how much does AA charge for a remap? and how long does it take?

SpeedDemon 10-30-2009 04:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SL Blak Soldier (Post 10834500)
how much does AA charge for a remap? and how long does it take?

$200 and I paid for overnight shipping both ways. I also actually had them put their throttle remap thing on their and raise the rev limit from 6800RPM to 7000RPM; they call it a custom tune :blah: and it was $400 in total for everything). My car had to be parked for 3 days and that was counting shipping between Seattle and Florida... not too bad.

SmokeyDP 10-30-2009 08:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by F1004fun (Post 10834052)
Dude! This is perfect for you! Run the LC-1 into your rear O2 sensor signal and your golden. How man bungs are on the headers, 2 or 4? If you have 4 then it's the same as with the e-bay headers. If your serious about it I will help you with a wiring schematic, but it should be just about the same.

I thought the LC-1 only helps with the o2 and NOT with the EGT sensor being out of spec when it gets relocated?

I think I am just going to have it fixed correctly and get it custom tuned and be done with it actually.

F1004fun 10-31-2009 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeyDP (Post 10834774)
I thought the LC-1 only helps with the o2 and NOT with the EGT sensor being out of spec when it gets relocated?

I think I am just going to have it fixed correctly and get it custom tuned and be done with it actually.

Thats cool, I don't about the EGT not working right. I would think that as long as it is close enough the the exhaust port it should work the same.

You said the reflash turns off the light but doesn't pass monitors? Your lucky, I cant pass smog without my cat monitors checked off, even if all the others are. That was why I had to go with the LC-1, it was my only choice if I wanted headers.

dpgrand 01-27-2010 06:06 PM

I tried the o2sim, but i'm still getting a SES. More specifically I'm getting BMW codes 215 and 216, aka P2270, P2271, P2272, P2273. And I get "lean voltage not reached." This sounds an awful lot like the deceleration issue mentioned in the first post. Anyone have any thoughts/input?
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/e...and/errors.jpg

pat 01-27-2010 06:43 PM

This is bad news. I was hoping to get my o2sim installed when it warmed up :eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use