E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   ? about Valve Springs and Tuning (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=730768)

95blkmax 01-01-2010 02:16 AM

? about Valve Springs and Tuning

Hi guys! Im new to the bimmer realm so be gentle :hi:

In my case, this would refer to an M52TU

VALVE SPRINGS QUESTION-
Does anyone here know at what point do the OE valve springs experience valve float? How much lift can they handle before they bind? How much rpm at x amount of lift (say the Schrick 272s with 11mm lift) can they go before valve float takes place?

I ask because I see people changing the cams, having an extended rev limiter, yet no mention of valve springs having been updated. My background experience comes from Nissans (mainly VQ30 and VQ35s, the latter of which's valve springs can take 10.5mm lift as long as the stock redline is maintained, after that VQ35HR valve springs are the cheapest upgrade and they can handle an awesome 13mm lift before binding) and from Chevy (mainly LS1, for which the OE valve springs... lets just say it is not uncommon for valve springs to literally break on a 100k+ mile engine, even with the STOCK cam) lol.

So are the OE valve springs on these M50-54 engines really made that strong that they do not require changing for such an upgrade of cams as the 272s would be?

TUNING QUESTION-
Has there been an update on Jim Conforti releasing that so awaited end-user tuning software that I've read on some really old threads here and on bimmerforums? I had never been a fan of cookie-cutter tune. On my Nissan I went through an Apexi AFC, then to a Greddy E-Manage Blue, later to an Ultimate. On my Camaro SS I dealt with HP Tuners. Is there anything out there available for the end-user to tune his/ her own car with THAT IS NOT a full stand-alone?