E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   General E46 Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Im new to this but i got a question someone please help? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=851083)

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 09:57 PM

Im new to this but i got a question someone please help?
 
Ok im new to this forum but im getting a 2000 bmw 323i and im wanting to change the head unit in it so i can put subs in and so it will fit my ipod. But ive read that you cant change it and some red light starts flashing and you cant get reception in less you have some code? i was wondering if this was true. Please help? Thank you.

jt328ci 06-15-2011 10:11 PM

you heard wrong

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 10:13 PM

so it is possible? it was on yahoo answers so i was just curios.

Jmanscotch 06-15-2011 10:17 PM

No red lights, code you need to know, etc required on business cd head units...just replace and go.

Couple things worth noting:

- You can install subs without changing the head unit.
- You can get OEM AUX intergration with an OEM head unit, but need one produced more recent than yours

There are good alternatives to a single DIN aftermarket head unit that will get you what you want while retaining OEM, or atleast the OEM look.

If that interest you and you want to know more, let us know what you want, function wise, from a setup and we can make suggestions.

LiNk504 06-15-2011 10:17 PM

i just change my 323's old tape deck head unit to a new pioneer one. you just need an antenna adapter, wiring harness, and a mounting kit. it cost me just over $60 for all of those at car toys

Jmanscotch 06-15-2011 10:19 PM

^ good point, forgot to mention the 99-00 E46 has a different radio antenna plug than the rest, so if upgrading to another unit you will need an adapter.

Herbalicious 06-15-2011 10:21 PM

It's pretty easy to change the head unit...I had no issue with reception

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 10:41 PM

ok thanks to all. i was just curious about it cause i read it on yahoo answers. and i knew you could install the subs in without changing the head unit and im gonna post a link and is this the antenna plug that i would need? http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-ANTENNA...8195651&sr=1-4

rizwan1377 06-15-2011 10:43 PM

OP, whats your budget?

LiNk504 06-15-2011 10:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BJohnson113 (Post 13280711)
ok thanks to all. i was just curious about it cause i read it on yahoo answers. and i knew you could install the subs in without changing the head unit and im gonna post a link and is this the antenna plug that i would need? http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-ANTENNA...8195651&sr=1-4

yep, that would be it

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 10:47 PM

Btw keep in mind im only 16.. So if i ask some stupid ass questions that are common sense.. dont hate please ha

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rizwan1377 (Post 13280718)
OP, whats your budget?

budget for...? depending on what your talking about such as subs and stuff like that. and budget does not matter to me at the moment

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LiNk504 (Post 13280719)
yep, that would be it

ok thanks for the help

LiNk504 06-15-2011 10:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BJohnson113 (Post 13280736)
ok thanks for the help

no problem. oh and if you go with an aftermarket deck, be prepare to remove more than just the HU from the dash as you have to move some wires around so you can push the new HU all the way back

Jmanscotch 06-15-2011 10:57 PM

The budget question dictates what route we help suggest for you.

Bigger budget: Consider the Dynavin head unit. It's plug-n-play for out car (minus your antenna adapter) double DIN, looks OEM, has ipod function (that can charge the ipod unlike AUX) uses steering wheel controls, has NAV, DVD, etc.

Median budget: DICE unit (for ipod intergration/charging) and comparable others

Smaller budget but close to median budget: Newer OEM unit that supports AUX input.

ANREC330 06-15-2011 11:00 PM

why don't you get a "dice silverline" for the ipod and a hi-low converter to add a sub

Jmanscotch 06-15-2011 11:19 PM

^ Pretty economical way of doing it if that fits your needs OP.

For subwoofer installation, refer to the nice free audi info that BSW has put together here: http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/kn...tory+system%3F

(contains color codes for wires to tap into, items needed, etc)

BJohnson113 06-15-2011 11:39 PM

thanks for the budgets i dont need a hitec one with the GPS and touch screen etc i got my phone to do that for me haha i just want one with either an ipod adapter or a AUX mp3 plug nothing to special ha and the subs idk what to get and what size and everthing like that i was thinking one 12? and amp and all that. sorry im such a newbie im only 16 well 17 lol

ANREC330 06-15-2011 11:44 PM

age doesn't matter as long as you have a basic understanding of how it works, i have a single 10 with an epicenter to control bass levels, its all in a set up, i have a video that a friend recorded from his car(windows closed) and i lowered my windows in a tunnel(driving behind him) and turned everything up, the bass from my car covered up his music in the video, its pretty intense ill have to find the video and i myself am only 18

Jmanscotch 06-15-2011 11:46 PM

A good quality single subwoofer (either 10" or 12") will usually satisfy your needs and take up less trunk space.

I personally am running a single JL Audio 12W6 and absolutely LOVE the setup.

You will, however, hear plenty of opinions on different subs, different styles of music being better with certain subs and, obviously, a price range that is associated with each level of subwoofer out there. So, depends on what you listen to, whether quality or simply extreme decibals is your thing.

Back to head units:

A newer AUX capable OEM head unit and associated OEM AUX input would run you around $175-180 total.

A new ipod interface would run around the same price range. Some are slightly problematic (require being reset from time to time, etc). Steering wheel controls will be able to be used with most interface setups, which can be a convienence and a safer way to operate the ipod.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use