E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   DIY: Do It Yourself (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   DIY Gauge Cluster Swapping: Mileage & DSC light Fix (M35080 Chip) (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=853897)

redbull 325is 06-28-2011 12:01 PM

DIY Gauge Cluster Swapping: Mileage & DSC light Fix (M35080 Chip)
 
Hey,
I had an issue with the gas gauge and the led display in my '01 325xi wagon.
http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...n/690d55fd.jpg
I picked up a used cluster form a junk yard only to find that it triggered the manipulation dot and set off the DSC/ABS system.
http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...n/d3ca2752.jpg
I knew I could fix the DSC light with NCS Expert but I wanted to adjust the mileage so the car wouldn't be a true mileage unknown vehicle when I went to get it inspected next year.
I did a lot of research, bought some pointless scan tools and basically figured out that my M35080 chip equipped cluster couldn't be reprogrammed over the odb2 port. I bit the bullet and pulled apart the bad cluster:
http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...n/22c4e608.jpg
Pulled off the needles and found the M35080
De-soldered the chip and re-soldered it on the new replacement cluster
http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...n/855319df.jpg
and VOILA!
http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...n/556ad900.jpg

Notes:
-still need a windshield wiper tank, lol
-This is a pita to do so find someone who is good with a soldering iron and has done this sort of work
-OE cluster was Motormeter and replacement was Bosch.. everything seems to work as it should
-Take care of when you pull your needles to make sure you can put them in the exact right spot

:pimpin:

omarmarji 06-28-2011 12:20 PM

very smart.. you should have circled which chip you took out, so it'll be easier for other DIYer's to do.. great thread tho

redbull 325is 06-28-2011 12:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by omarmarji (Post 13324523)
very smart.. you should have circled which chip you took out, so it'll be easier for other DIYer's to do.. great thread tho

oops.. well it looks like this
http://www.adkautoscan.com/uploadfil...7203510722.jpg

Arty 06-28-2011 01:09 PM

So the mileage went up to match the car? How long did you drive around like that? I thought 60miles or more difference between the cluster and DME triggered the tamper dot also.

Nervous 06-28-2011 01:29 PM

He transferred the memory chip with the mileage.

Arty 06-28-2011 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nervous (Post 13324879)
He transferred the memory chip with the mileage.

I understand this. My question was about the difference in the mileage of the DME and original EPROM.

redbull 325is 06-28-2011 08:03 PM

about 200ish miles

BMW_Knight 07-06-2011 10:11 AM

I wonder if this can be done on a non-m to M cluster?

Scott87 07-10-2011 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arty (Post 13325137)
I understand this. My question was about the difference in the mileage of the DME and original EPROM.

When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.

As for the mileage, all items that store mileage readings are updated to meet the highest reading in the system. Your keys actually store the odometer reading too, if you give them to the counter at BMW they can read it off. A key may not be used for months, as soon as you put it in it takes the highest mileage reading. This is one of the problems of buying a new cluster if you are going to recode it. The mileage has to be less than your current one (or you have to have it programmed BEFORE you connect to the car).

If you plug it in and it updates the system with a higher mileage you then would need to get all the modules recoded. :(

TerraPhantm 07-12-2011 06:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMW_Knight (Post 13349694)
I wonder if this can be done on a non-m to M cluster?

Probably not in the case of the E46. The software is fairly different between the M and non-M clusters. If it does work, I would imagine the speedo and tacho scales would be off, the rev lights wouldn't work, and the oil temp gauge would act like an mpg gauge.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scott87 (Post 13362844)
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.

As for the mileage, all items that store mileage readings are updated to meet the highest reading in the system. Your keys actually store the odometer reading too, if you give them to the counter at BMW they can read it off. A key may not be used for months, as soon as you put it in it takes the highest mileage reading. This is one of the problems of buying a new cluster if you are going to recode it. The mileage has to be less than your current one (or you have to have it programmed BEFORE you connect to the car).

If you plug it in and it updates the system with a higher mileage you then would need to get all the modules recoded. :(

In my experience, the car doesn't increment the mileage unless the VINs match. So unless you change the VIN without changing the mileage, there shouldn't be much issue.

Also for anyone intending to do the chip swap, make sure the clusters are the same software number.

CrazyOneToo 07-17-2011 10:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scott87 (Post 13362844)
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.

As for the mileage, all items that store mileage readings are updated to meet the highest reading in the system. Your keys actually store the odometer reading too, if you give them to the counter at BMW they can read it off. A key may not be used for months, as soon as you put it in it takes the highest mileage reading. This is one of the problems of buying a new cluster if you are going to recode it. The mileage has to be less than your current one (or you have to have it programmed BEFORE you connect to the car).

If you plug it in and it updates the system with a higher mileage you then would need to get all the modules recoded. :(

Sorry but I am confused. I have a 1999 E46 328i Sedan. I need to change my cluster out due to some plastic being broken on the inside. The reset button and the clock settings both have the tabs broken off and also the round plastic that holds the striker stalk in place on the clock side is broken. I can set the clock but thats it. As for the other side its useless for resetting or running any tests. I attempted the DIY tab fix I found here somewhere but with the other damage included it seems I need a diffrent cluster. Can I just buy a used one and hook it to my car? I see them on eBay and ECS tuning sells them. The dealer will be waaaaaay higher and will make me code it I imagine. I also thought of maybe trying to get one and switching the chips via a local computer shop. Now I am unsure on what all is involved. :confused:

Thanks
Alan

GBinSB 08-03-2011 02:18 PM

has anyone run into this problem with the wagon with the Euro lights? I have rear fog lights on my 2001 325iT. Both knobs are broken and I want to replace the cluster. I am concerned that the new cluster wont work properly because I have the euro rear foglights and switches. Any advice?

zooter2002 01-01-2012 05:47 PM

i wanted to check to see if redbull ever had any problems with this after he put a few miles on now?

Arty 01-02-2012 07:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scott87 (Post 13362844)
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.



http://www.bimmerboard.org/members/q...mper%20Dot.jpg

EDIT: It looks like the temporary IKE takes over above 120 miles and the LCM updates the original cluster when they are reunited.

zooter2002 01-02-2012 09:09 AM

so to be clear, if you change chips and the new chip has lower milage, in about 120 miles the odo will change the to the highest reading in any memory? and your tamper dot will come on too? is this correct?

example, my car has 110k and i buy a new cluster with 90k and swap the chip in the speedo, my speedo will now read 90k until i drive 120 miles and then the odo will change to 110k and my tamper dot will light up? is this what happen to redbull? thats what im asking

i can live with a tamper dot, i just dont want to buy used cluster with 175k on it and my can change to that..

mvitale27 01-09-2012 02:53 PM

sorry to dig up an old thread but my current cluster has a tamper dot and a few missing LEDs so is there any fix for this besides buying a brand new cluster and having it coded by the dealer? ($$$)

mvitale27 01-10-2012 11:41 AM

anyone?

glhx 02-15-2012 02:44 AM

From what it says you do have to buy a new cluster and have a used one re coded to the car. Unless you can set the cluster to o miles or within 120 miles...also the vin has to match which can be recoded.... I think instead of having a dealer recode you can buy a pa soft that will recode it for you and do many other things...like roll down windows with the key and do any diagnostics including abs and air bag...plug and play direct from china for $30...as for the indicator lights...they are led and can possibly be re soldered

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=755156
to replace leds....this was for the gauge lights...

if anyone knows different list some details and a diy....i would like some specific information on recoding the ike and the abs module....using pa soft or ncs expert....i particularly want to know about abs recoding

mvitale27 02-15-2012 12:41 PM

i realize replacing the LEDs can be done simply by buying new LEDs and soldering them in place. but since my tamper dot is already on (possible that the cluster was replaced with a used one by PO?), buying a used cluster and transferring my chip probably wont do me any good. it looks like a need a brand new cluster (~$650) and having it coded or coding it myself

glhx 02-17-2012 11:23 AM

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...php?t=1402839. ....you can rewrite the mileage and change the vin

look at this http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=755156

he said he broke his first cluster...bought a new set and had it recoded to the car....maybe he knows...for what he paid it couldnt have been new....

i have pa soft and i know it codes ike....I know it resets mileage on some chips, but not the m35080...i just got it and used it to read codes...it was like $40....and for what it does thats a steal...i know it will change the vin on the cluster to the vin on the body. the next post has a device that sets the mileage to zero....i know there is something that will remove the tamper dot...dont know what yet


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use