E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Dynavin tmc upgrade and radio antenna upgrade. Done! (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=879695)

chazstace 10-13-2011 07:56 AM

Dynavin tmc upgrade and radio antenna upgrade. Done!
 
Hi Guys,

I have been playing around with various way of getting traffic information down to the dynavin sat nav, most of what i have tried cost money every month and are slow and complicated.

So in short I have come up with bespoke boosted TMC setup that WORKS!
I have also come up with a way to fix the poor FM reception that we get as a result of the dynavin upgrade.

The system is all hooked up on the car at the moment and its all working but its a mess and in bit's.

Once I have everything sorted I will post up again with pics and what I have done.

I have also put together a Budget GPS tracing system that again works and supports live tracking, and can also be used in the event of your car being stolen.

Watch this space. :thumbsup:

fadeaway 10-13-2011 04:29 PM

Subbed. :popcorn:

BobSC 10-13-2011 05:59 PM

Looking forward to it....

ANREC330 10-13-2011 06:37 PM

In

Tchleung 10-13-2011 09:03 PM

In for updates!!! I do listen to the radio occasionally and can't believe how much reception I lost from the stock radio :(

Darkoz 10-13-2011 09:13 PM

For you guys who are having bad radio reception, are you sure the antenna is connected correctly, or that you've actually connected the correct one?
I only ask because I've never had an issue with the Dynavin's radio reception, it's just as good as the factory radio.

Tchleung 10-13-2011 10:09 PM

Darkoz, what year is your E46?

Mines connected properly. If it's not connected, I get 0 reception. I would say the overall reception isn't bad when you're in an area with a strong signal. I notice the signal to dwindle away a lot when I am on the highways and passing along mountain sides where my stock one would stay strong.

Darkoz 10-13-2011 10:22 PM

^ 2001

chazstace 10-14-2011 04:25 AM

Right guys, I did my 1st test last night.
I can confirm that TMC works 99.9% of the time, even down the motorway. so now Traffic over TMC is very useful. (no more 3G connections etc!)

The problem is that the stock TMC antenna that comes with the Dynavin is about as much use as a chocolate fire guard, and you will not get reception of TMC unless you are on top of a transmission tower.

Pictures of home built amp.

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/...s/IMG_4982.jpg

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/...s/IMG_4983.jpg

Pictures of TMC being downloaded to Dynavin.

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/...s/IMG_0634.jpg

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/...s/IMG_0637.jpg

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/...s/IMG_0640.jpg

I'm working a little harder on the FM reception and waiting for a couple of parts to be delivered, hopefully this morning.

Once its done I will post up a video :)

johndddd 10-14-2011 08:21 AM

Does Trafficmaster work in the US or is it just for Great Britian?

rizwan1377 10-14-2011 08:30 AM

Sub'd.

sent from my verizon HTC Thunderbolt using bimmer app.

chazstace 10-14-2011 12:15 PM

Right its done I have TMC (Traffic) and all FM stations coming through loud and clear, once more with no unsightly after market antennas. I will post up a video and how it was done very soon.

I'm very happy with this setup, "Trafficmaster" is UK/Europe only I think however you will have a TMC provider in the USA etc, however I'm not sure what it is.

glmark 10-15-2011 06:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chazstace (Post 13701025)
Right its done I have TMC (Traffic) and all FM stations coming through loud and clear, once more with no unsightly after market antennas. I will post up a video and how it was done very soon.

I'm very happy with this setup, "Trafficmaster" is UK/Europe only I think however you will have a TMC provider in the USA etc, however I'm not sure what it is.

Well done, Please advise how you managed to do this, the radio reception is crap at the best of times as well as the TMC. Looking forward to your video.
Thanks

chazstace 10-16-2011 02:35 PM

I used a custom built booster from the Factory FM antenna connections on the rear screen, bypassing the factory AMP. The lower FM window antenna for TMC and the upper for FM Radio.

The amp is rated at 22db.

glmark 10-17-2011 02:43 PM

Where did you buy the booster from. Did you use Two, one for the FM & one for the TMC.
Cheers

chazstace 10-17-2011 03:03 PM

The booster is a home built one, The booster can either be used on the TMC or the RADIO.

I used the booster on the Radio side because its more stable than factory, and I used the connection from the factory antenna to the TMC.

chazstace 11-04-2011 04:50 PM

Diagram of booster wired into car.

http://i1189.photobucket.com/albums/...ics/BMWTMC.jpg

elfer 11-14-2011 09:37 AM

Interesting thread, thanks chazstace.

I'm in the UK with an '04 Coupe and also have poor FM reception since the Dynavin install, and also non-existent TMC with the supplied aerial. At least I know it's not just me now!

I've actually been considering a roof antenna. I have a standalone DAB tuner feeding the Dynavin's aux-in, and already have a dual-band DAB/FM roof antenna on my other car, an E46 Touring, which works very well. the Coupe's lines would be spoilt more I think by a rod on the roof, which puts me off. If I did though, maybe I could use the rear window antenna for the TMC.

Or maybe I need to practice my soldering skllis and build my own antenna amp...

fadeaway 11-14-2011 07:28 PM

That's not exactly a "home built" booster. What kit did you use? Unless you had a PCB fabricated with part numbers and shield outlines and decided to build a box that fits everything perfectly. :eeps:

Looks like it's using a single BJT. This box should have the coax in, two wires for power/gnd, and 2 wires coming out. Is that what you have there?

Also, how do you only have one box, but are able to boost the signal for both the upper and lower parts of the window? This doesn't make sense to me.

chazstace 11-15-2011 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fadeaway (Post 13798453)
That's not exactly a "home built" booster. What kit did you use? Unless you had a PCB fabricated with part numbers and shield outlines and decided to build a box that fits everything perfectly. :eeps:

Looks like it's using a single BJT. This box should have the coax in, two wires for power/gnd, and 2 wires coming out. Is that what you have there?

Also, how do you only have one box, but are able to boost the signal for both the upper and lower parts of the window? This doesn't make sense to me.

Its a home build kit, you get them from a place called maplin here in the UK, however do a search on google and I'm sure you will find them.

There are 2 parts to the rear window, one used by the factory amp that I have left in place and the other connected to the new amp. Giving 2 feeds, one for Radio and one for the TMC.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use