E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   How do you make a bootable SD for Dynavin Android updates? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=901235)

foobar_666uk 02-03-2012 12:41 PM

How do you make a bootable SD for Dynavin Android updates?
 
I've lost the SD card for my DVN-E9X and need to upgrade Android.

How do I create a new bootable SD card from Windows?

Darkoz 02-03-2012 04:28 PM

There is already dedicated Dynavin Android thread, post you question there but before you do try searching and reading first.

foobar_666uk 02-03-2012 05:02 PM

Yes I saw that thread thanks, but at over 100 pages long I have not got the time to read every post.

I did a search, but came up with no answers, hence my post.

Darkoz 02-03-2012 05:09 PM

You don't have to read every post, just post your question in the dedictaed thread, it's there for a reason.

opey 02-03-2012 05:44 PM

format it to fat32 and put the files on the card

mistapony 02-03-2012 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by opey (Post 14050054)
format it to fat32 and put the files on the card

What I've read is that it needs to be fat16 and an active bootable partition

Darkoz 02-04-2012 12:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mistapony (Post 14050938)
What I've read is that it needs to be fat16 and an active bootable partition

Try in then and let us know how you go, that way you would've learnt something and maybe help someone else out along the way.

foobar_666uk 02-04-2012 06:08 AM

I've tried using the following;

Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT16/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT32/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition

All formatting using EASEUS used 63 Sectors per track, 255 Head & 482 Cylinders.

Yet none of the above has worked for me?

I have a 4GB SanDisk SDHC Card and I am using Windows 7

Am I right in my understanding that to boot from the SD card, you simply insert the SD card into the "Navi" slot and reboot the Headunit?

I am not having any luck at all !!!!

listermint 02-04-2012 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by foobar_666uk (Post 14051462)
I've tried using the following;

Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using Windows 7
Formatted as FAT16 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted as FAT32 / 64K allocation using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT16/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Formatted with 2 partitions, FAT32/64 & EXT2/64 using EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition

All formatting using EASEUS used 63 Sectors per track, 255 Head & 482 Cylinders.

Yet none of the above has worked for me?

I have a 4GB SanDisk SDHC Card and I am using Windows 7

Am I right in my understanding that to boot from the SD card, you simply insert the SD card into the "Navi" slot and reboot the Headunit?

I am not having any luck at all !!!!

Use a different card, i havent had much use with that exact card.

I dont think it responds well to SDHC cards. try a standard micro card maybe 2gb without high capacity.

jeffb325@NavigationSolutions 02-04-2012 11:02 AM

also you may want to be sure that sd card slot is actually reading the card, with android running, take out the card and and put it back in, make sure it recognizes it (it will say so in the status bar)

foobar_666uk 02-04-2012 11:16 AM

Yeah it recognises it in Android.

Hmm I'll have to buy another SD card

foobar_666uk 02-04-2012 02:09 PM

I've just gone out and bought a "SanDisk SD Card - 2GB"

Used EaseUS to format it as Fat16, 64K, Active Primary partition.

Loaded the files from the Dynavin website onto it, put the card into the "Navi" slot on the Headunit and rebooted it.

Again, nothing happened. It just booted up as normal - Android see's the card OK, on first boot up it said at the top bar "Preparing SD card..." and in the Settings-->Storage it sees the SD card fine.

I am waiting for someone to send me across a format utility that Dynavin sent him, so hopefully that will help - but none of the above has worked for me so far.

foobar_666uk 02-05-2012 04:56 AM

Finally got it working with the help of this utility from Dynavin

Follow these step by step instructions

http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/0.png
http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/1.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/2.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/3.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/4.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/5.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/6.jpg
http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/7.png

You will find that the text is not chinese unless you are using the chinese language, instead it is special characters, so it is a bit of a guessing game that the correct text is showing, but I managed it OK - on that basis anyone else should be OK too :)

Also it is worth noting, that it appears this Utility does NOT work with an inbuilt card reader on your Laptop/PC. For some reason I had to use an external USB SD Card reader.

When using the USboot utility, if it does not show a USB symbol next to it, you are not using an external USB adapter
http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/U...tUSBreader.png

When you are using a USB reader you get the following, with USB symbols next to the drives - this then worked for mehttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/U...hUSBreader.png

You can download the USBoot Utility here

BigDRick323 09-12-2012 07:42 PM

Ran across this but see that it is not updated, I am trying to get mine to work. When I insert the card it doesn't make a difference, the android side is still a blank screen.

nrj 01-23-2013 06:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by foobar_666uk (Post 14053758)
Finally got it working with the help of this utility from Dynavin

Any update on this issue? All those links are dead, foobar.

I cannot for the life of me get my Dynavin to boot from any SD cards, including the one that came with the unit for reflashing.

BigDRick323 01-23-2013 07:15 PM

I wish I could get mine to do anything on android side, would pay someone to come and set it up!

jeffb325@NavigationSolutions 01-24-2013 01:16 PM

rick, I know you have tried everything, at this point I think its likely your sd card slot is bad......how come you have not contacted your dealer about this?

BigDRick323 01-24-2013 01:50 PM

Thanks Jeff, I contacted them and they advised me to mail it back to China for repair. I'm hoping it's me being an idiot and not a repair situation, I'd like to get another perspective dealing with this who might see something I am missing or ignoring...Not real excited about sending the unit back to China. Maybe an electronics pro locally can even repair it here so I dont have to ship it out.

UniQue84 06-26-2013 04:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by foobar_666uk (Post 14053758)
Finally got it working with the help of this utility from Dynavin

Follow these step by step instructions

http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/0.png
http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/1.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/2.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/3.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/4.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/5.jpghttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/6.jpg
http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/7.png

You will find that the text is not chinese unless you are using the chinese language, instead it is special characters, so it is a bit of a guessing game that the correct text is showing, but I managed it OK - on that basis anyone else should be OK too :)

Also it is worth noting, that it appears this Utility does NOT work with an inbuilt card reader on your Laptop/PC. For some reason I had to use an external USB SD Card reader.

When using the USboot utility, if it does not show a USB symbol next to it, you are not using an external USB adapter
http://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/U...tUSBreader.png

When you are using a USB reader you get the following, with USB symbols next to the drives - this then worked for mehttp://www.theanstees.co.uk/images/U...hUSBreader.png

You can download the USBoot Utility here


Hey would be nice to see your images again. dont know that to do in usboot utility :/


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use