E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   E46 Convertible (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=106)
-   -   Valentine 1 Hardwire (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=915517)

illestminimike 04-13-2012 11:24 AM

Valentine 1 Hardwire
 
How do you Hardwire a valentine one with a convertible? All the DIYs are for cars with sunroofs.

jpk226 04-13-2012 02:26 PM

I believe there is a way to tap the power of the rear view mirrior but for me I have hardwired two radar detectors into my Convertible I used thishttp://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...00_i00_details and a direct wire kit. I did a 9500ix with the direct wire. The kits are avalible on ebay for around $10 you may also want to look into a concealed display and Savvy for the V1. Accessories that some users like to have with their V1.

illestminimike 04-13-2012 05:21 PM

I was thinking about getting the concealed display and putting it in the ashtray. But sometimes I use the ashtray.

ej205gdb 04-13-2012 06:42 PM

i did mine like this
http://pic100.picturetrail.com/VOL65.../331537166.jpg
http://pic100.picturetrail.com/VOL65.../331537145.jpg

BWOODM3 04-14-2012 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ej205gdb (Post 14290660)

WOW...impressed. Good work:clap:

illestminimike 04-14-2012 01:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ej205gdb (Post 14290660)

Mmmm not sure if I like it in between the rear headrest.

illestminimike 04-18-2012 11:21 PM

Bump for more suggestions.

fmzip 04-19-2012 12:10 PM

Pull out the over head light. With a multimeter, look for a 12volt source and ground, typically a brown wire with yellow stripe is power if my memory serves me correctly.

That's how I hardwired my V1

illestminimike 04-19-2012 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmzip (Post 14309522)
Pull out the over head light. With a multimeter, look for a 12volt source and ground, typically a brown wire with yellow stripe is power if my memory serves me correctly.

That's how I hardwired my V1

And yours is mounted next to the mirror? I kind of prefer it to be at the bottom of the windshield.

JJR4884 04-19-2012 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by illestminimike (Post 14310288)
And yours is mounted next to the mirror? I kind of prefer it to be at the bottom of the windshield.

from what i have read, middle of the windshield is perfect... looking at mine, the rear detector should have a clear view back, so not too high where the mirror is blocking it... about half way down will give you perfect clearance, and it isn't very obstructive on your view either... kinda blends in with the mirror for me

fmzip 04-19-2012 06:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by illestminimike (Post 14310288)
And yours is mounted next to the mirror? I kind of prefer it to be at the bottom of the windshield.

Mine is by the rear view mirror.

I don't see how you can get solid rear coverage if it's mounted low.........

johnrando 04-27-2012 03:46 PM

Same with my wires by the interior lights. The V1 is on the right side of my rearview, as I use a StealthOne Module for viewing (alerts come on the Nav).

RGO325CiC 04-29-2012 05:44 AM

I ran a CAT-5 up the pillar and exited it at the side of the overhead light housing. I clip the detector to the visor when I use it. Have the remote mod velcro'd to the middle of the gauge cluster, with the CAT 5 coming up from behind the steering shaft cover. When I leave the car, I remove both, and have only about 2" of CAT 5 visible. Hard to see from the outside.

M00P 04-29-2012 10:29 AM

I bought the glovebox flashlight adapter from the dealer for $15. Plugged the cig adapter into that and tucked the one wire up the A pillar with a spoon (didn't remove it) and the other wire to the consealed display in the ash tray.

You just have to remember to turn the power off of the unit when you exit the vehicle. I use my radar detector about 20% of the time I drive so not much of an issue for me. Hearing all those beeps on the street when there is no way for me to speed is annoying.

McGary911 04-29-2012 07:27 PM

I've wondered if anyone's ever mounted one in the passenger seat headrest. With our roll bar rear headrests, they won't go there (although there's a piece of plastic backing in there that might not be too hard to butcher. I was looking at that yesterday.

illestminimike 08-16-2012 05:53 PM

Bump. Still haven't done it. I hate plugging it in all the time. So would the map lights work?

fmzip 08-17-2012 11:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by illestminimike (Post 14658205)
Bump. Still haven't done it. I hate plugging it in all the time. So would the map lights work?

Yes..............

illestminimike 09-03-2012 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fmzip (Post 14661231)
Yes..............

Last question, do you have to have the lights on for the V1 to turn on? And does the V1 turn on when the car is off or do you need to turn it on and off manually?

Solidjake 09-03-2012 02:57 PM

Buy longer 4 wire telephone cable, run it down the a pillar into the shifter area. I have all of my gadgets wired there.

illestminimike 09-05-2012 10:01 PM

Well I opened up the interior light and the only wires in there is for the harness for the map lights. I dont think I can tap that for it. I wish Jake was local and could just do it for me.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use