E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   DICE MEDIABRIDGE MB1500 with Brodit Holder Review (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=931060)

shaheer19 07-03-2012 03:31 AM

DICE MEDIABRIDGE MB1500 with Brodit Holder Review
 
2 Attachment(s)
Well I have finally completed my Iphone integration. I have an Iphone 4 (iOS 5), Brodit pass through holder & a Dice Mediabridge MB1500. Thought I would post a quick review for those of you who are thinking about buying a Mediabridge unit. Here are some pics of my finished install:

Attachment 459093

Attachment 459094

INSTALL :

Ok this was an absolute doddle - I followed the video guides by BSW on Youtube and it was straight forward. The hardest part was releasing the bracket holding the emergency triangle in the boot - can be a b*tch to get out. Before I started I disconnected the battery just to be on the safe side. Then just follow the instructions on the videos. Very simple. For the mic I fed the wire up the passenger side A piller, across the top of the windshield and then back down the driver side A piller. Plenty of length on the wire for the mic. For the Brodit holder I connected the 'USB to Iphone cable' to the MB behind the glovebox and fed it through so it comes out below the sunglasses holder. Best to remove the sunglasses holder to do this - just a small pull will release the sunglasses holder.

PLAYING MUSIC (DOCKED):

Works as expected. Just make sure you phone is unlocked before you dock. Then you control your music either via the phone, the stereo or the steering wheel. Whilst docked, the unit will charge your phone.

PLAYING MUSIC (BLUETOOTH):

Ok this is the best thing about the unit. In bluetooth mode the system is amazing. My favorite feature is the fact the you can hold down the speaker button on the steering wheel and once the unit beeps you can use voice commands to operate your phone. For instance you can say "Play Eminem" and the phone will play songs by Eminem. You can also use this feature to select playlists, songs and albums. My phone does not have to leave my pocket in order to use this feature - amazing! If my battery is running low then I can dock the phone to charge it and select bluetooth as on the iphone. You can also listen to internet radio via various apps on available on iTunes.

MAKING CALLS:

Again you can use voice commands to make calls in Bluetooth mode. For instance you can hold down the speaker button on the steering wheel and say "Phone Home" and the phone will make a call to your home number. I have made calls and I can confirm that people can hear me loud and clear. If you receive a call the all you have to do is press the UP button on the steering wheel to answer and DOWN button to hang up. The only negative is that the text display on the stereo does not display the names of your contacts - instead it just displays the phone number.

OVERALL:

I would definitely recommend this unit for those of you who are in two minds about it. TomTom app works as you would expect by using the factory speakers and the music fades when an instruction is given out. When i get in my car I just press the speaker button and say "Play Music" and the the music resumes from where it left off. The fact that I can dock my phone and charge it if the battery is low is also very convenient and tidy.

sunilsf 07-05-2012 11:52 PM

does Bluetooth work (i.e., for incoming calls) if you are listening to the radio?

shaheer19 07-13-2012 05:12 AM

No - if you are listening to FM/AM on the BMW headunit then Bluetooth will not work - however if you are listening to Internet Radio from your iPhone (a whole host of different apps available for this) then the bluetooth feature works as expected.

Adrian325ci 08-22-2012 07:45 PM

So what would I have to buy if I ONLY want BlueTooth music streaming with Android? Does that even work? I have a MIC and all that for phone calls, just need music.

Jeremy Bavsound 08-24-2012 03:47 PM

Great review and glad to hear you are enjoying your Mediabridge!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14672699)
So what would I have to buy if I ONLY want BlueTooth music streaming with Android? Does that even work? I have a MIC and all that for phone calls, just need music.

Adrian,

You would need only the Mediabridge in this case, and can select no on all of the accessories!

http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/product/711/0//

Adrian325ci 08-24-2012 04:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Bavsound (Post 14677917)
Great review and glad to hear you are enjoying your Mediabridge!



Adrian,

You would need only the Mediabridge in this case, and can select no on all of the accessories!

http://www.bavariansoundwerks.com/product/711/0//

Hey Jeremy,

I got a message from the guy that works there and he said I need the full kit:

1 - Yes. You would want the DICE MediaBridge kit.
2 - You will purchase the full kit. We have to install the mic that is included with the kit. The factory analog mic does not work with the new kit.

So, at this point I'm all kinds of confused :(

I would REALLY rather not have to remove the factory mic and replace it, since its working perfectly well with my phone and its already installed and all that good stuff.

Jeremy Bavsound 08-24-2012 04:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14678068)
Hey Jeremy,

I got a message from the guy that works there and he said I need the full kit:

1 - Yes. You would want the DICE MediaBridge kit.
2 - You will purchase the full kit. We have to install the mic that is included with the kit. The factory analog mic does not work with the new kit.

So, at this point I'm all kinds of confused :(

I would REALLY rather not have to remove the factory mic and replace it, since its working perfectly well with my phone and its already installed and all that good stuff.


The Mic is included with the Mediabridge, so nothing extra is to be ordered there just to be clear. You do not have to remove the factory microphone, simply run the one for the Mediabridge as well! The Dice unit is not able to interface with the factory Microphone hence the need to route the new one.

Adrian325ci 08-24-2012 04:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Bavsound (Post 14678087)
The Mic is included with the Mediabridge, so nothing extra is to be ordered there just to be clear. You do not have to remove the factory microphone, simply run the one for the Mediabridge as well! The Dice unit is not able to interface with the factory Microphone hence the need to route the new one.

Well, so I guess the main question is... can I just keep using my factory bluetooth solution for phone calls and then use the mediabridge bluetooth solution for muisc streaming?

Or is that a bad idea?

If I'm forced to use Mediabridge for both, phone calls and music streaming, and I"m forced to use the Mediabridge MIC vs the OEM MIC, there probably isn't much purpose to keep the OEM MIC as well, correct?

Thanks again for all your help btw, I feel like I'm finally getting knowledgeable answers to my specific demands :)

And if I understand correctly the Mediabridge works just fine with an Android, so if I stream music through Rhapsody app on my phone for example, it should probably work just fine... do you have any info on that? I believe Rhapsody claims to support BT streaming, but I don't know if I'd be able to control the music through the steering wheel or not.

Jeremy Bavsound 08-24-2012 04:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14678103)
Well, so I guess the main question is... can I just keep using my factory bluetooth solution for phone calls and then use the mediabridge bluetooth solution for muisc streaming?

Or is that a bad idea?

If I'm forced to use Mediabridge for both, phone calls and music streaming, and I"m forced to use the Mediabridge MIC vs the OEM MIC, there probably isn't much purpose to keep the OEM MIC as well, correct?

Thanks again for all your help btw, I feel like I'm finally getting knowledgeable answers to my specific demands :)

And if I understand correctly the Mediabridge works just fine with an Android, so if I stream music through Rhapsody app on my phone for example, it should probably work just fine... do you have any info on that? I believe Rhapsody claims to support BT streaming, but I don't know if I'd be able to control the music through the steering wheel or not.

Adrian,

You should be able to do that yes. I can't comment on the specifics of how you will be able to switch in between the two as most people use one or the other, but that will work just fine for you. This also means there is no reason to remove the factory mic, simply have both :)

The Mediabridge will interface via bluetooth with Android devices, and be able to pick up signal from any App that supports bluetooth streaming, so assuming the Rhapsody app does support that you will be good to go!

Adrian325ci 08-24-2012 05:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14678103)
Well, so I guess the main question is... can I just keep using my factory bluetooth solution for phone calls and then use the mediabridge bluetooth solution for muisc streaming?

Or is that a bad idea?

If I'm forced to use Mediabridge for both, phone calls and music streaming, and I"m forced to use the Mediabridge MIC vs the OEM MIC, there probably isn't much purpose to keep the OEM MIC as well, correct?

Thanks again for all your help btw, I feel like I'm finally getting knowledgeable answers to my specific demands :)

And if I understand correctly the Mediabridge works just fine with an Android, so if I stream music through Rhapsody app on my phone for example, it should probably work just fine... do you have any info on that? I believe Rhapsody claims to support BT streaming, but I don't know if I'd be able to control the music through the steering wheel or not.

Hmm... I assume though if I use the BMW OEM BT for Phone Calls and the Mediabridge BT for Music, that the music will probably not mute when a phone call comes in? Or does the BMW control that part... ugh... so many configurations :)

Jeremy Bavsound 08-24-2012 05:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14678157)
Hmm... I assume though if I use the BMW OEM BT for Phone Calls and the Mediabridge BT for Music, that the music will probably not mute when a phone call comes in? Or does the BMW control that part... ugh... so many configurations :)

Assuming you are using the same Phone to stream the audio as your are to get the incoming call on, it will automatically pause the music for you!

Adrian325ci 08-24-2012 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Bavsound (Post 14678218)
Assuming you are using the same Phone to stream the audio as your are to get the incoming call on, it will automatically pause the music for you!

Final question, promise :)

Why do I need then to run the MediaBridge MIC at all? Does the MediaBridge not function if I don't connect its MIC?

Jeremy Bavsound 08-24-2012 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14678335)
Final question, promise :)

Why do I need then to run the MediaBridge MIC at all? Does the MediaBridge not function if I don't connect its MIC?

If you do not plan on using the Mediabridge to make/receive calls you could leave it unplugged, sorry if I wasn't clear there!

Adrian325ci 08-24-2012 09:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Bavsound (Post 14678622)
If you do not plan on using the Mediabridge to make/receive calls you could leave it unplugged, sorry if I wasn't clear there!

No worries. Also to confirm you have no ash tray dock for an android only Iphone, is that correct?

Adrian325ci 08-24-2012 09:23 PM

1 Attachment(s)
So is this basically what I want for the Android? (pic attached).

Also I'm not sure if the car had factory Sirius satelite, is there an easy way to find out?

Thanks again for all your help!

Jeremy Bavsound 08-25-2012 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adrian325ci (Post 14678673)
So is this basically what I want for the Android? (pic attached).

Also I'm not sure if the car had factory Sirius satelite, is there an easy way to find out?

Thanks again for all your help!

That is exactly what you would need, no dock for androids at this time due to the inconsistency in port locations in between manufacturers. If you are not using Sirius in your vehicle currently you will not need that cable.

Adrian325ci 08-25-2012 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeremy Bavsound (Post 14680064)
That is exactly what you would need, no dock for androids at this time due to the inconsistency in port locations in between manufacturers. If you are not using Sirius in your vehicle currently you will not need that cable.

Thanks Jeremy, I appreciate all the help, I'll most likely be ordering this shortly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use