E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Business radio problem? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=938314)

Mr.Miller 08-12-2012 08:17 PM

Business radio problem?
 
Hello my fellow M3 enthusiast. My name is Mr.Miller and I'm having an radio problem and i cant seem to fix it. First i would give history this is the standard radio not the navigation i search this forum but didn't seem to find anything relative to my problem most radio problems are from navigation. Anyway it started with two days ago i was listening to music and accidentally hit the speaker bottom on my steering wheel( the button below the r/t button). I immediately tried to turn it off by holding the r/t bottom, then tried turning it off by holding the speaker bottom but it didn't seem to work. So i restarted my battery and reset my time thinking it would work but it didn't. Now it seems like my radio isn't working correctly non of the bottoms on my radio are functioning. :jawdrop:. Only one buttom works on my radio which is the r/t buttom and it just switches two setting the time and then phone-book E.
here is some pictures of my radio and what it display. I already took the fuse out and restarted it still didnt work. Today i took out the radio to see if the plugs were connected and still doesn't work. Has this happen to anyone
http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...5/IMG_2100.jpg
when i press the r/t bottom this is what it displays
http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...5/IMG_2101.jpg
here the r/t bottom on the steering wheel
http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/b...5/IMG_2102.jpg

Mr.Miller 08-12-2012 08:19 PM

this thing is getting frustrating idk what to try any radio heads i can bring it to besides dealership im located in nyc. i want to upgrade to navi but i want to make sure everything is good im going to see if i can switch radio with my friend

RichardP 08-17-2012 04:44 AM

The radio appears to be stuck in Phone mode. That's pretty odd if you don't have a phone module installed in the car. You enter phonebook mode using the R/T key but this only works if there is a phone module installed. The control is all done via iBus messages so it's not something simple like a stuck button. Do you have an after market phone system installed in the car?

By the way, it's 'button', not 'bottom'! Bottom = Butt.

Mr.Miller 08-17-2012 11:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichardP (Post 14659187)
The radio appears to be stuck in Phone mode. That's pretty odd if you don't have a phone module installed in the car. You enter phonebook mode using the R/T key but this only works if there is a phone module installed. The control is all done via iBus messages so it's not something simple like a stuck button. Do you have an after market phone system installed in the car?

By the way, it's 'button', not 'bottom'! Bottom = Butt.

Not to my knowledge i don't think i have an aftermarket phone system installed in my car. I already tried reseting the fuse, the battery i took the radio out to make sure everything was in place and it was. how can i check if there an after market phone system installed

haurelio 08-17-2012 06:38 PM

try resetting the radio. this video shows that country code, but scroll to the right setting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIKlp_rVqto

Mr.Miller 08-17-2012 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by haurelio (Post 14660764)
try resetting the radio. this video shows that country code, but scroll to the right setting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIKlp_rVqto

Just tried reseting holding the m button down. But there was no response at all. I really don't understand what's wrong with this thing and if I buy another radio I feel it might do the same thing

Mr.Miller 08-18-2012 12:18 AM

I read on google somewhere this problem might be called Phone mode sometimes the radio gets stuck on phone mode but previous post I read people had some controls of the radio I don't. But I read somewhere that said I can reset the telephone fuse and see of that works

Mr.Miller 08-18-2012 02:01 PM

i just took the telephone fuse out still no good might have to try a new radio

monkeyhead 02-09-2013 07:47 PM

I had the same problem, radio was stuck on "phone" I just took out both radio fuses 7, 41, turned key to position one to make sure radio was dead. Took key out. Then i put both fuses back, turned key back to position one and walla, radio is back to normal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use