E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   E46 Xi Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   Wrecked 2001 XI (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=947962)

fastestmz3 10-01-2012 10:09 AM

Wrecked 2001 XI

I recently retired at 69 years old and acquired a wrecked 325XI to use as a project car.
Turns out the front subframe is damaged and needs replacement.
Same with sway bar and control links.
Anyone have tips on DIY.

If I posted incorrectly , let me know. I'm a rookie!

Kubica 10-01-2012 01:55 PM

The front subframe just unbolts - shouldn't be hard to find one used. Support the motor, unbolt the inner ball joints, fcab brackets, and power steering rack. Swaybar should be easy to find used also. Buy new links. Motor mounts too.

www.car-part.com

Mark M 10-01-2012 02:46 PM

Bigger question yet, what type of wreck did this car suffer?

A damaged front subframe would likely be indicative of the car's underside striking something at speed. In that case you'll likely have a lot more associated damage. Bent or ripped out subframe bosses, motor shifted rearward, possible bent control arms, etc. Would need more detail to fully advise.

SamDoe1 10-01-2012 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark M (Post 14778070)
Bigger question yet, what type of wreck did this car suffer?

A damaged front subframe would likely be indicative of the car's underside striking something at speed. In that case you'll likely have a lot more associated damage. Bent or ripped out subframe bosses, motor shifted rearward, possible bent control arms, etc. Would need more detail to fully advise.

^ This.

fastestmz3 10-03-2012 06:43 AM

more damage

I have now removed most parts surrounding the damaged frame.
It definitely hit a stump or cement chunk at speed. Sway bar is bent.
front section of sub frame is badly crushed. Fluid is leaking above the impact area. Next I will try to remove the sub frame to see what's up.