E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   General E46 Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   What are pros and cons of removing CDV (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=955095)

sharkey62 11-09-2012 02:48 PM

What are pros and cons of removing CDV

Hi
I am new to BMW's. I have read a few posts on here when I have been searching for information on clutch delay valves. I have a 2001 320i and cannot get a smooth gear change. I have been driving for 30 years so feel like a learner when the car jerks on gear changes. I have read that most people have removed the valve but just wondered if there were any negatives by doing this. Would it solve one problem and create another.
Any info would be most appreciated.

empirem3 11-09-2012 03:09 PM

Well the downside is that you can smoke your fly wheel/clutch in no time if you have a few bad shifts.

but the problem may be else where

Wolrab 11-09-2012 03:09 PM

Don't think it would solve your problem. The delay valve limits how fast the clutch will engage, which some people don't like. So out it goes.

Any idea what oil is in the transmission? Some people use thinner oil in cooler climates, such as RedLine D4 ATF. Apparently it shifts smoother when it's cold.

Your throwout bearing (translation: thrust bearing) might be on its way out. How many miles on the clutch?

webster 11-09-2012 03:27 PM

CDV delete and add a clutch stop from somewhere like UUC or Rogue. simple and easy mods that improve shift feel noticeably. that said, it still will not be as easy to drive smoothly as, say, a Honda manual gearbox. the E46 has a dual mass flywheel and self-adjusting clutch which can make smooth shifts somewhat tricky.

hamadyr 11-09-2012 03:49 PM