E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   ///M3 Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   2001 m3 accelerates on its own (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=955442)

Mircea's M3 11-11-2012 07:11 PM

2001 m3 accelerates on its own
 
Hello, I've had my m3 for a couple months now and had no real major issues until the other day, when I got on the highway entrance ramp, I was rolling down the ramp in 4th gear without touching the gas, hovering above brake pedal and all of a sudden I felt it pull so I clutched in and the engine was revving up to 4-5k rpm, I pumped the gas and went down.
I noticed it does this mostly on ramps when I turn quite a bit

Car has k&n intake which I know it affects rpm but it hasn't done that before.
Changed the battery the day before (battery wasn't recommended by BMW but it had over the specs that it requires)

I read something about sticky throttle but I'm not sure if that could be it, it just doesn't seem similar to my problem

Any help would be much appreciated

jfoj 11-11-2012 08:26 PM

I believe your car is drive by wire so there is no physical connection between the gas pedal and the throttle body.

I see you live in Canada as well.

A very common problem with many cars is the floor mat. Do you have a Winter floor mat or is the standard floor mat Velcro backing torn loose and/or are you missing the plastic inserts that screw into the floor?

PH03NIX46 11-11-2012 08:41 PM

Search the car for these badges:
http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/attach..._samuszane.jpg

Report back with details.

Mircea's M3 11-11-2012 08:47 PM

That was my first thought as well! But that's not it, I kept testing it to see in what conditions it does it and its only in big turns such as highway ramps or big roundabouts any gear doesn't matter.
I know the car is drive by wire so there is no cable to get stuck anywhere so that's what gets me so lost.
My floor mats are properly set in place
Thank you for your input tho much appreciated

Mircea's M3 11-11-2012 08:48 PM

Hahaha none found they must be hidden lol

scarede46er 11-11-2012 08:57 PM

If you live in Canada, it is possible that thanks to the snow, water has contaminated the TPS potentiometer in your accelerator pedal. In most cases, you can take it out and dry it. Else you may need a new one.

Blocked Out 11-11-2012 09:12 PM

you sure you're not just hitting your cruise control buttons(stored/reactivate)???

Blocked Out 11-11-2012 09:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scarede46er (Post 14891274)
If you live in Canada, it is possible that thanks to the snow, water has contaminated the TPS potentiometer in your accelerator pedal. In most cases, you can take it out and dry it. Else you may need a new one.

Rubbish !!!

None of what you said makes any sense. And sounds kind of racist actually

M3LIKECHIPS 11-11-2012 09:26 PM

Check for toyota parts

scarede46er 11-11-2012 09:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blocked Out (Post 14891315)
Rubbish !!!

None of what you said makes any sense. And sounds kind of racist actually

dafuq?

M3LIKECHIPS 11-12-2012 01:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scarede46er (Post 14891352)
dafuq?

YOUR A RACIST, DAMMIT.




















:rofl:

berserker 11-12-2012 01:59 AM

You do not have drive-by-wire, your throttle just got stuck, has happened to me as well. You can find that behind the firewall, drivers side, my cable fell out at 5400 rpm - never happened again, just a freak thing.

Mircea's M3 11-12-2012 05:50 AM

I also thought of the cruise control but once I got on the highway I tried the cruise and it didnt work which I thought might be related, it worked before.
Lol no Toyota parts already checked haha
And no this car hasn't been driven in the snow and it hasn't snowed this year yet.
I will check behind the firewall but I find it weird that it only does it on big turns

Thanks everyone for the input

Mircea's M3 11-12-2012 05:53 AM

And it happens every time

DSilk56 11-12-2012 09:23 AM

It wouldn't be the cruise control, since depressing the clutch immediately disengages it.

Dreamwerke 11-12-2012 09:34 AM

Mine did the EXACT same thing two days ago after getting a flat tire and only have 16" to put up front..

Dreamwerke 11-12-2012 09:36 AM

It has to be a sensor. It was the weirdest thing. I live in Delaware and it only does it in 3rd and 4th gear

Mircea's M3 11-12-2012 09:44 AM

Wow that's weird because I had a flat on front right and I put 17 inch wheels on front and that was a few days before
Damn that's weird that makes no sense

Thanks for mentioning that

Mircea's M3 11-12-2012 09:49 AM

And I have 19 inch rims in the back,
So I wonder if because they don't spin at the same rate the computer gets confused

Dreamwerke 11-12-2012 09:52 AM

That's what my friend that works for BMW said something about compensating for the wheel spin. Ill be putting 19s back on today or tomorrow ill keep you posted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use