E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Crankshaft sensor Blown AGAIN!!!! (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=955810)

HBizzo88 11-13-2012 03:11 PM

Crankshaft sensor Blown AGAIN!!!!
 
2002 330ci

So I don't know what to do. Maybe one of you have ran in to this problem. Car started running rough as all hell, yellow brake light came on along with the dcs light and check engine. So hooked up my peak tool and came up with a couple codes that are common when the crankshaft position sensor fails. So I changed that out, Car ran perfect.

Now after a couple weeks of driving, the lights are BACK on and is running rough, I assume because the timing is off due to the sensor.

I do not want to keep changing these things out. It's somewhat of a bi*ch. I just want to know what's causing the sensors to burn up.

The car does have an aftermarket turbo, and yea I do tend to get on it quite a bit.

Would just like to you guy's advise before i go to the garage and have to spend a heap of cash.

Thanks.

///MPR77 11-13-2012 03:18 PM

Sorry to hear.

What are the new codes?

As I remember you replaced the intake cps...what about the exhaust side, has it been replaced too?

HBizzo88 11-13-2012 03:26 PM

Code:
19
F4-crankshaft sensor
53-flywheel adaption segment timing faulty

I only changed the one on the rear right side of the engine (by the starter).

HBizzo88 11-13-2012 03:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ///MPR77 (Post 14896608)
Sorry to hear.

What are the new codes?

As I remember you replaced the intake cps...what about the exhaust side, has it been replaced too?

^^

///MPR77 11-13-2012 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HBizzo88 (Post 14896645)
Code:
19
F4-crankshaft sensor
53-flywheel adaption segment timing faulty

I only changed the one on the rear right side of the engine (by the starter).

I don't know what those codes mean off hand. You already replaced the intake cps, so with some research hopefully you will find that one is the exhaust side which is easy to replace, you probably won't need the girlfriends skinny hands to replace it, but a telescoping mirror will help.

xixixi 11-13-2012 04:04 PM

Willing to help ya out man, I can send you out a new crank sensor. PM me.

HBizzo88 11-13-2012 04:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xixixi (Post 14896816)
Willing to help ya out man, I can send you out a new crank sensor. PM me.

Thanks man but i already have a lifetime warranty on this one.

HBizzo88 11-13-2012 04:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ///MPR77 (Post 14896796)
I don't know what those codes mean off hand. You already replaced the intake cps, so with some research hopefully you will find that one is the exhaust side which is easy to replace, you probably won't need the girlfriends skinny hands to replace it, but a telescoping mirror will help.

Ok thanks! Ill do some research!

SweTurbo 11-14-2012 06:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ///MPR77 (Post 14896796)
I don't know what those codes mean off hand. You already replaced the intake cps, so with some research hopefully you will find that one is the exhaust side which is easy to replace, you probably won't need the girlfriends skinny hands to replace it, but a telescoping mirror will help.

He replaced the crankshaft sensor, camshaft sensors would throw vanos codes :)

How was the mounting surfaces of the CPS/block ?
I knw that could cause problems if they're corroded.

HBizzo88 11-14-2012 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SweTurbo (Post 14898553)
He replaced the crankshaft sensor, camshaft sensors would throw vanos codes :)

How was the mounting surfaces of the CPS/block ?
I knw that could cause problems if they're corroded.

I'm not sure. I don't know if you've ever replaced one before, but you can't really get a good look at the surface.

///MPR77 11-14-2012 06:16 PM

Are crankshaft sensors and cam sensors not the same; my apologies if they are not.

SweTurbo 11-14-2012 06:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HBizzo88 (Post 14899791)
I'm not sure. I don't know if you've ever replaced one before, but you can't really get a good look at the surface.

I've only replaced the sensor with the block out of the car, but removing the intake isnt much work and it can save you alot of problems with issues like this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ///MPR77 (Post 14900317)
Are crankshaft sensors and cam sensors not the same; my apologies if they are not.

They are not, they're both hall effect sensors but they are shaped differently as far as i can remember.

mike@maximumpsi 11-14-2012 07:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HBizzo88 (Post 14896579)
2002 330ci

So I don't know what to do. Maybe one of you have ran in to this problem. Car started running rough as all hell, yellow brake light came on along with the dcs light and check engine. So hooked up my peak tool and came up with a couple codes that are common when the crankshaft position sensor fails. So I changed that out, Car ran perfect.

Now after a couple weeks of driving, the lights are BACK on and is running rough, I assume because the timing is off due to the sensor.

I do not want to keep changing these things out. It's somewhat of a bi*ch. I just want to know what's causing the sensors to burn up.

The car does have an aftermarket turbo, and yea I do tend to get on it quite a bit.

Would just like to you guy's advise before i go to the garage and have to spend a heap of cash.

Thanks.

What ecu/software are you using for your car?

bigjae1976 11-14-2012 09:45 PM

The crankshaft sensor is a minor PIA to get in and out. I use a mirror. As with the camshaft sensors, aftermarket units are a crapshoot. My shop went through 2 aftermarket sensors until one finally worked (despite my insistence to use an OEM sensor).

Go OEM only on those 3 parts.

HBizzo88 11-26-2012 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjae1976 (Post 14900889)
The crankshaft sensor is a minor PIA to get in and out. I use a mirror. As with the camshaft sensors, aftermarket units are a crapshoot. My shop went through 2 aftermarket sensors until one finally worked (despite my insistence to use an OEM sensor).

Go OEM only on those 3 parts.

Ya I guess you're right. Took it to a shop. They said the same thing!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use