E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   E46 Xi Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=104)
-   -   vibration with "thump, thump, thump" sound (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=966473)

caleb6 01-19-2013 10:54 AM

vibration with "thump, thump, thump" sound

I've been researching this, but don't seem to see a discussion matching my symptoms. I'm a noob when it comes to car work, but learning fast.

Anyway, on heavy acceleration in 1st, 2nd and sometimes 3rd I get a vibration and sound from what sounds like right underneath the center armrest. It's related to RPM, and comes around 2900'ish and then again at 3700'ish. THere is a very solid rumbling type sound accompanying it.

Like I said, I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff, I'm hoping someone can say oh yea, that your U-joints or something.

thoughts?

Thanks!!

E46Moonlight 01-19-2013 11:00 AM

Search guibo

caleb6 01-19-2013 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by E46Moonlight (Post 15076272)
Search guibo

read all about it, but that's further upfront isn't it? And, mine looks in pretty good shape.

caleb6 01-19-2013 11:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by E46Moonlight (Post 15076272)
Search guibo

by the way, what type of AE's do you have, and are they on A/L headlights?

E46Moonlight 01-19-2013 11:04 AM

Then maybe the center support for the driveshaft

E46Moonlight 01-19-2013 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by caleb6 (Post 15076282)
by the way, what type of AE's do you have, and are they on A/L headlights?

I have Umnitza Orion V2s one stock bi-Xeon headlights

Kubica 01-19-2013 04:53 PM

I would change the transfer case fluid and front diff fluid.

Have a good look at transfer case mount, look for bent wheels, check tire pressures, etc.

caleb6 01-20-2013 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kubica (Post 15077000)
I would change the transfer case fluid and front diff fluid.