E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Sprint Booster (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=969782)

Poncho@home 02-06-2013 04:06 PM

Sprint Booster
 
I have an opportunity to purchase a Sprint Booster for $150. Is that a good deal? Used 2 times, comes with box & paperwork.

sprintman 02-06-2013 04:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Poncho@home (Post 15136268)
I have an opportunity to purchase a Sprint Booster for $150. Is that a good deal? Used 2 times, comes with box & paperwork.

If complete and it works yes. Is it the later switchable unit?

Marshmallow 02-06-2013 04:10 PM

I paid $300 new and I like it. Go for it!

Poncho@home 02-06-2013 04:25 PM

Yes, its complete and the newer model.

I guess I will go for it.

k20z1 L 02-06-2013 06:55 PM

Definitely man, congrats! I paid $300+

777eThOd* 02-06-2013 07:01 PM

Yeah, The sprint booster is a amazing tweak! its a most def. buy! wish i bought it that cheap!

rguti153 02-06-2013 07:05 PM

Need to get one

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Bimmer App

carcus 02-07-2013 12:17 AM

They work great for automatics. Best mod I ever bought for my E46. When I traded my E46 in.....I think I sold mine for about $150 shipped to a member on here. Mine was the older model without the selector buttons on it. I would have never used the buttons anyway;) I had a few posts about it a few years ago here. Great mod.

Redryan98 02-07-2013 09:58 AM

Definitely buy it, assuming its the correct one for whichever transmission you have (different boosters if you have an auto or manual). And if you don't like you can sell if for what you paid.

I paid $220 for a new/open box one and overall pleased with it. Car definitely feels quicker, though I still have a pretty obvious throttle delay/dead area in the throttle with the first 1/4" or 1/2" of travel in the gas pedal.

Poncho@home 02-07-2013 05:48 PM

Picked up tonight, like new in box with all packaging, even the tie wrap and sticky tape unused.

It is the correct one for my manual transmission.

Now I have to wait until spring to try it :(

Poncho@home 02-07-2013 07:48 PM

Any suggestions where to mount the selector switch? I would like it out of sight but easy to get to. Maybe the glovebox?

Marshmallow 02-07-2013 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Poncho@home (Post 15140873)
Any suggestions where to mount the selector switch? I would like it out of sight but easy to get to. Maybe the glovebox?

I change my mode a lot, so I stuck it on the trim to the right of the steering column. It just looks like a button on the dash and is out of the way with no visible wires but is easily accessible. It is also great because I tell my passengers that if they see me to switch it red, hold on I'm gonna drive and corner fast!

777eThOd* 02-07-2013 08:02 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Poncho@home (Post 15140873)
Any suggestions where to mount the selector switch? I would like it out of sight but easy to get to. Maybe the glovebox?

Tell me if you can see mine. ;)

Marshmallow 02-07-2013 08:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 777eThOd* (Post 15140908)
Tell me if you can see mine. ;)

I like the position of that, it's well concealed but fairly easy to mount.:thumbsup:

777eThOd* 02-07-2013 08:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hcollins (Post 15140928)
I like the position of that, it's well concealed but fairly easy to mount.:thumbsup:

Thanks!! It took me a while to re-run but totally worth it. I always leave that open cause of my aux cable.

Marshmallow 02-07-2013 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 777eThOd* (Post 15140938)
Thanks!! It took me a while to re-run but totally worth it. I always leave that open cause of my aux cable.

I have waaaaaay too much experience ripping apart my console, so I might relocate my button. Also, I like how you have your iphone easily accessible like that. Personally, I ran the cable into my Eurotray because I use my old ipod touch for music and leave it in the car. Now I don't have to bother hiding it when I leave the car.

Poncho@home 02-07-2013 08:34 PM

I have Nav, so don't have that option for switch. Nice btw!

Poncho@home 02-08-2013 02:39 PM

Any other suggestions? I will look at this tonight or tomorrow to try and find a good spot.

Marshmallow 02-08-2013 02:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Poncho@home (Post 15143677)
Any other suggestions? I will look at this tonight or tomorrow to try and find a good spot.

Run the wire up the dash, tuck it under the center console, run it up through the back of the console, remove the cupholder and coin holder, drill a hole in that little storage tray no one uses, and mount the button there. Personally, I'm thinking of adding the sport button option to my console with the help of this DIY:

http://www.zhpmafia.com/forums/showt...ORT-Button-mod

Poncho@home 02-08-2013 05:58 PM

I found the perfect spot for me, inside the ash tray. There is no smoking in my car, so no need for an ashtray.

That will keep it discreet. I will tackle the install this weekend.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use