E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   New Battery Terminal or Just Use a Ring Terminal straight to battery? (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=972190)

soul786 02-20-2013 05:02 PM

New Battery Terminal or Just Use a Ring Terminal straight to battery?
 
I'm installing a new audio system. Complete everything from 2 amps and a sub to all the speakers also.

The way I've got it set up in a drawing, a 0 gauge wire will go into a distribution block, 2 4ga wires come out to each amplifier. The 0 gauge wire is the issue though.

Should I just terminate with a ring terminal bolted to the battery? Or look into a whole new aftermarket battery terminal? What gauge is the stock power wire anyway and there's a second wire there too (on the +ve side). I'd need the same on the -ve side too (0 gauge is also going to a dist block, 2 4ga out).

Any help is appreciated. I'd like to keep this as clean as possible.

TurnersInOz 02-20-2013 08:40 PM

A ring terminal on the 0GA going to the positive battery terminal is fine. Make sure it is fused as well.
Don't ground straight back to the battery, you can wind up with ground loops doing that. You'd be better off grounding the amps directly to the frame.

soul786 02-20-2013 11:04 PM

Yep, for the 0awg wire I'll be using a 300A fuse.

And for the ground would it be better to go from the distro block then to the chassis on a well grounded point?

TurnersInOz 02-21-2013 07:45 PM

I grounded my amps directly to the chassis with no distro block.
Depending on what you are running from your amps (i.e. subs, mids, highs), using the same ground could also induce noise. It would be best to keep them separate.
4GA is a lot easier to terminate than 0GA anyway.
Here's one article that has good recommendations: http://www.termpro.com/asp/pubs.asp?ID=121

soul786 02-21-2013 10:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TurnersInOz (Post 15185512)
I grounded my amps directly to the chassis with no distro block.
Depending on what you are running from your amps (i.e. subs, mids, highs), using the same ground could also induce noise. It would be best to keep them separate.
4GA is a lot easier to terminate than 0GA anyway.
Here's one article that has good recommendations: http://www.termpro.com/asp/pubs.asp?ID=121

Thanks for the link.

So would you suggest not to use a distro block for the 4awg grounds from the amp and just draw those directly to a chassis ground?

TurnersInOz 02-23-2013 01:31 AM

Sure. Here's some more good reading:
http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/arch...p/t-50193.html
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/wirin...tor-whine.html

I would ground each amp individually.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use