E46Fanatics

E46Fanatics (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/index.php)
-   Australia (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=48)
-   -   Will a mk3 sat nav unit from the US work here (http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=972794)

DesiredM 02-24-2013 05:10 AM

Will a mk3 sat nav unit from the US work here
 
Dumb question I'm sure but will a head unit from the US work as a replacement or will there be anything that I would need to change? Just so much cheaper over there! Any insight would be great!

Thanks

JS330 02-24-2013 05:27 AM

Ubits are just plug and play, whats wrong with your headunit?

DesiredM 02-24-2013 06:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JS330 (Post 15191836)
Ubits are just plug and play, whats wrong with your headunit?

It has pixelation all over the screen, looks like it has grey worms everywhere and it's really annoying and got a quote just to replace the screen which was $250 and then people here want $400-500 for a used unit so just easier to get it from the states.

DeclanM3 02-24-2013 04:25 PM

Might as well upgrade to MKIV if you have to replace the unit anyway.

LSM3 02-24-2013 04:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeclanM3 (Post 15192771)
Might as well upgrade to MKIV if you have to replace the unit anyway.

Agreed.

I thought you'd have a MKIV DesiredM? Isnt your car an 02'

DesiredM 02-24-2013 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSM3 (Post 15192818)
Agreed.

I thought you'd have a MKIV DesiredM? Isnt your car an 02'

The actual sat nav works just my head unit is gone, but I though mk4 was only on cars built 2003.5 up?

JS330 02-24-2013 05:18 PM

Is your Headunit 4:3 or 16:9?

DesiredM 02-24-2013 05:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by js330 (Post 15192893)
is your headunit 4:3 or 16:9?

16:9

DeclanM3 02-24-2013 05:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesiredM (Post 15192838)
The actual sat nav works just my head unit is gone, but I though mk4 was only on cars built 2003.5 up?

The MK III and MK IV is the sat nav unit (disc drive in the boot). That component will work worldwide because the disc inserted determines region.

If you are replacing the screen itself then there are 2 options for the 16:9.. Cassette and CD. I assume they work worldwide but I can't confirm for sure.

Maybe post a link of what you're looking at?

Tymatk 02-24-2013 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesiredM (Post 15191852)
It has pixelation all over the screen, looks like it has grey worms everywhere and it's really annoying and got a quote just to replace the screen which was $250 and then people here want $400-500 for a used unit so just easier to get it from the states.

You can replace the screen by yourself .... with a bit of patient! Also i have MKIV on my X5 that i'm thinking of getting rid of ..... at the right price ;-) ........ if you want.

DesiredM 02-24-2013 08:03 PM

This is what I'm looking at

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261174937768

For the head unit itself not the actual disc drive

Tymatk 02-24-2013 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesiredM (Post 15193283)
This is what I'm looking at

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261174937768

For the head unit itself not the actual disc drive

I think you're only getting the GPS unit, MKIII with support CD only. The picture of the 16:9 screen is only there to show that it has the latest software!

DeclanM3 02-24-2013 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesiredM (Post 15193283)
This is what I'm looking at

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261174937768

For the head unit itself not the actual disc drive

Yeah that's just the drive (navigation unit). Sounds like you have diagnosed that you need a new screen.

Try this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/221184285531

E46 Coupe 02-24-2013 09:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DeclanM3 (Post 15193348)
Yeah that's just the drive (navigation unit). Sounds like you have diagnosed that you need a new screen.

Try this: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/221184285531

The way that ad is worded, it's hard to determine if the unit he is selling is damaged with dead pixels or not :loco:

DeclanM3 02-24-2013 09:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by E46 Coupe (Post 15193568)
The way that ad is worded, it's hard to determine if the unit he is selling is damaged with dead pixels or not :loco:

Yeah, maybe not the best example. Was the first one I found on my phone.. OP should get the idea though, need to look at auctions for the screen, not the CD / DVD drive.

LSM3 02-25-2013 03:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesiredM (Post 15192838)
The actual sat nav works just my head unit is gone, but I though mk4 was only on cars built 2003.5 up?

Nah. I had an 02 M3 with MKIV DVD nav

DeclanM3 02-25-2013 04:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LSM3 (Post 15194138)
Nah. I had an 02 M3 with MKIV DVD nav

Must've been a late 02.. Mine is 02/02 and has MK III

02PRUV 02-25-2013 04:07 PM

I still have a mk3 sitting here if you need one


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use