E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2009, 07:05 PM   #1
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
err I ment JL 10w7, I want one of these...now help?

Okay so I want to install a JL 10w7 and keep the OEM HU

Heres what I believe I need so far...

JL 10w7 woofer
JL 500/1 amp
Wicked CAS Enclosure
Sven2 LOC, right???

Questions:

What gauge wire kit (brand)do you guys recommend for this set up.

Where can I mount the amplifier so its as discrete as possible with out overheating? Or where do you guys most commonly mount yours?

Any other info would help thanks!
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-21-2009, 11:53 AM   #2
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
You can definetely keep your HK setup the way it is, as it runs on its own amp. You can mount the amp on the sub box to keep everything clean or on the back of the seat, whatever your preference. Personally, I have my amp mounted to the right of the box facing it. JL amps are very sturdy and you should not worry too much about it overheating with a single woofer setup.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 12:39 PM   #3
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
HK set up... I dont have an HK ooo HU... I ment head unit by that... and Im going to go with the wicked cas box , I think ill mount the amp on the ceiling of the trunk, I read that some have done that...
My main concerns are what LOC will I need for a JL 500/1 amp and what gauge and brand wiring to you guys suggest?
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 01:40 PM   #4
SCOOTTER
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: YORK, PA
Posts: 113
My Ride: 330sexi/gsx-r-1K
Go with a 4gauge wire. You don't have far to go, so it wont cost a ton.
__________________
I will not trade freedom for beneficence nor my dignity for a handout.
I will never cower before any master nor bend to any threat.


SCOOTTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 02:20 PM   #5
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
okay thanks! should I just get it cut to length from a shop?
any Idea on what LOC i will need?
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 12:56 PM   #6
//TRD power
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zero Maintenanceville
Posts: 2,561
My Ride: 3.0 | 200hp | 214trq
you ground and power are going to be short and simple since your battery is right in the trunk, your signal wires and remote are going to be the ones you'll need adequate measuring of, get a little bit longer just in case.
__________________
//TRD power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:02 PM   #7
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
okay, but what about a LOC!!! lol i searched and am not finding anything specific to a 500/1 amp????
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 04:15 PM   #8
325CI2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 851
My Ride: 09 335I
a sven 2 will work with that setup.
__________________
09 E90 335i Alpine White/Chestnut Brown
325CI2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 05:23 AM   #9
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
will the LOC affect the quality of my sound? What I mean is.... is there a better LOC I should get?
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:21 PM   #10
325CI2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 851
My Ride: 09 335I
all you really need is the SVEN. They do have more expensive options.

When i originally installed my system, i just added subs, components, and amps with a LOC. I wasnt happy with the lack of flexibility with the stock radio so i installed a headunit. That would be the best option, but alot feel that the headunits look out of place in our dashes. With the stock radio, you dont get any control of the sound other than volume, fader, balance. You do get bass and treble, but it affects the whole stereo. With an aftermarket headunit, you can control different aspects of your system.

Instead of buying a high price LOC like the Rockford 3.sixty, or the Audiocontrol LC6i, i would look to get a headunit. Many have used the Sven2/4 LOCs and have been happy with them.
__________________
09 E90 335i Alpine White/Chestnut Brown
325CI2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 01:04 PM   #11
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
yah i def. dont want a new HU I like the oem look , are there any benefits to the more expensive LOCs?
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 02:58 PM   #12
325CI2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 851
My Ride: 09 335I
for your setup, no. If you were to run new components with an amp, and run all your audio signals thru them, then it offers you more flexibility with crossovers, time-alignment, sound processing.

Since your just running a sub, i would just do a sven 2.
__________________
09 E90 335i Alpine White/Chestnut Brown
325CI2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 07:34 AM   #13
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
thanks for the help my man!
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:10 PM   #14
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
Don't need a loc for the 500/1. Just tap into the oem amplifier inputs and solder some RCA wires, then plug into the new amp.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2009, 05:04 PM   #15
lorenzeandmark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iraq~ Fort Drum, NY~ Warwick, RI
Posts: 138
My Ride: loves me too!!!
Send a message via Yahoo to lorenzeandmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by ca1242 View Post
Don't need a loc for the 500/1. Just tap into the oem amplifier inputs and solder some RCA wires, then plug into the new amp.
+1. Same setup
__________________
Bought and doing a mass install Novemberish
KW v1~ TSE3~ Clear corners/tail~ RoJa r2-7 19s on BFG KDWs~ Euphoria 6k Stg1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTKHarris
Now go my child and enter the light....
lorenzeandmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 12:57 PM   #16
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
uh-oh, now im getting mixed signals?



(no pun intended)
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 01:07 PM   #17
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,634
My Ride: 2003 330i
OEM head unit puts out a balanced-differential signal. 500/1 can take this signal directly, no adaptors necessary.
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 01:10 PM   #18
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
thanks ca1242! save me some cash...
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2009, 02:41 PM   #19
325CI2004
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 851
My Ride: 09 335I
good catch. Im not too familiar with JL Amps.
__________________
09 E90 335i Alpine White/Chestnut Brown
325CI2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2009, 08:09 AM   #20
turbokid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 120
My Ride: 2005 325i
would it hurt if I installed a LOC any how?
turbokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use