E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2009, 08:04 PM   #1
tardhat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 15
My Ride: 330i
Send a message via AIM to tardhat
Rear channels won't kick in with aftermark amp hooked in

I have an '01 330i with the HK system.
Trying to move my sub/amp out of my old Golf to to the 330i. I have speaker level input on the amp on the wiring harness for that input.

Everything works fine if you plug the speaker level input wiring harness into the amp *after* the stereo is initialized, but if the amp is plugged into the speakers before that, the rear channels refuse to initialize until the amp is removed. Currently the vampire splices are set in just before they hit the 6"x9"s (on left and right).

I figure it's some kind of load/impedence detection circuit in the HK amp seeing something isn't EXACTLY what it was expecting so it just says "no go away i'm not playing with you today" but I'm wondering if anyone can confirm this and if so will this setup work on the wiring before the amp? I don't know how strong of a signal is going through the wires before the HK amp, and before I go splicing into new wires I'd like a little peace of mind that it'll work.

I really don't want to go through the line-out converter method as I have a major aversion to introducing any more noise into the circuit if I don't absolutely have to.


to reiterate
If you short the remote turn on, the amp will turn on but there is still no signal to the amp, or even to the 6"x9"s in the rear deck until the wiring harness is seperated from the amp powering the subs. There is just no signal being delivered to those channels until the amp is removed from the picture entirely and then the rear channels kick back in, and then you can plug the amp back in and then you have boom (until you start the stereo back up again). Amp wiring is fine, (as far my friend and I can tell) this is entirely up to the HK amp to initiate the signal, once the signal is given everything is fine.
tardhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 05-18-2009, 12:19 PM   #2
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,633
My Ride: 2003 330i
You tapped in the wrong place for signal. You need to tap into the head unit's outputs (yellow/black, blue/black, both with brown/orange grounds). If the amplifier can not take the oem head unit's balanced-differential signal (most can't), you might need to get an adaptor (i.e. peripheral sven2).
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 01:54 AM   #3
tardhat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 15
My Ride: 330i
Send a message via AIM to tardhat
Well it's old, but it'll take speaker level inputs. It has a little square four pin harness that looks like the 12v rail on a motherboard. It's an MTX Thunder 4250d.

Tap that before it hits the first amp in the back then? Was trying to avoid adding one of those adapters and wiring the remote turn-on but if I have to I have to, I guess. :\
tardhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2009, 07:00 AM   #4
ca1242
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 7,633
My Ride: 2003 330i
Get an adapter and do it right!
__________________
ca1242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use