E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 05:27 PM   #1
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
Q:2001 330 motor with 328 DME?

Just wondering if this might work from what I can see the 328 is the non drive by wire as the 323 is. Since I have a 323 DME running the 330, I would imagine a 328 DME would be better for it as a 330 DME cannot be used since it is meant for the drive by wire. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks

Link for some reference http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...283&highlight=
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-23-2010, 10:16 AM   #2
95blkmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 204
My Ride: 00 BMW 328i
Send a message via AIM to 95blkmax
Man completely disregard what I said, I feel like an A-hole. I just noticed you were the guy that did the swap I mentioned (work is taking up too much of my sleep time lol).

I dont see how it would be worth the hassle of swapping DMEs man. After all for example, 323 or 328 DME, you'd still need a tune in order to get the most out of the engine swap.

In order to see how far off the engine's tune is (relative to actual 330s, if any at all), have you put this car on the dyno (R1killa asked this on page 3 of the referred thread but you never answered to it)? At least this way you'd be able to compare power curves and a/f curves to those of a 3.0 and DME to check this.
__________________

Hi, my name is 95BlkMax, and I am a Boostaholic
"DANGER TO MANIFOLD!!!!" O_o!

Last edited by 95blkmax; 02-24-2010 at 11:29 AM. Reason: I dont read clearly when Im deprived of sleep
95blkmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 10:46 AM   #3
raymond3080
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brampton
Posts: 54
My Ride: 323CI
lol...thats alright everyone makes mistakes...I don't really car about hp I hardly have enough time to work on the car as it is. As for hassle in swapping dme's it is just a computer and should be plug and play...but I am not sure about the security thats why I am asking...Summer is coming and once that happens my bike comes out and the bimmer collects dust...
raymond3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 01:14 AM   #4
95blkmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 204
My Ride: 00 BMW 328i
Send a message via AIM to 95blkmax
I would ASSume them to be different slightly, so not plug-n-play (we all know what assumption stands for lol).

My reasoning behind that ASSumption being that the M54 DME would have a different setup for the throttle body, being that it's an E-TB vs a cable operated setup on the M52TU's DME that should only have a TPS signal to worry about, rather than a throttle position input and accelerator pedal position input. Everything else however, as proven by your swap, should all by the same.

One would have to look at the wiring diagrams for both DMEs to find out for example, if the accelerator position signal even goes to the DME before going to the TB, OR if it goes directly to the TB and then a TPS signal is sent from the TB to the DME. If the latter, the next thing would be to find out if it's the same kind of signal (it could be stepped, it could be linear, etc...). If it's the same signal then it should not be hard at all to get the M54 DME to work. If it's not, then well, it's up to you to determine if the work is worth the outcome
__________________

Hi, my name is 95BlkMax, and I am a Boostaholic
"DANGER TO MANIFOLD!!!!" O_o!
95blkmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
323, 330, dme, swap m52

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use