E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Suspension & Braking Forum by BimmerWorld

Suspension & Braking Forum by BimmerWorld
Have some questions about suspension or brake setups for your E46 BMW? Get all your answers here!
Sponsored by BimmerWorld

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 08:38 PM   #1
flyinj3x
Registered User
 
flyinj3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,828
My Ride: 03/03 330ci
Send a message via MSN to flyinj3x Send a message via Yahoo to flyinj3x
Brake Pad Light not resetting..

hello fellow Fans. changed all four rotors, all new pads, and replaced both sensor wires this morning, along with fresh Ate Blue fluid.

everything went as well as expected and i completed the job in under four hours. i set the key to position 2 and began to pick up my tools and gather up all the old parts. once i was ready to start the car i saw the pad light was still on. i rechecked all my connections inside the boxes and they are solid. i unplugged them two or three times just in case. i put no stress or strain on either sensor when i installed them. i tried resetting the light again, and again it failed.

i thought i had done the reset incorrectly, so i came here to double check. the Bentley method i used is verified here, and many other places. there are also other BMW tricks to resetting lights. so i tried several; i tried position 1 for a few minutes, i tried disconnecting the battery for an hour, i tried the 'resume' button on the steering wheel, i tried holding the brake before turning the key, nothing worked to reset the light.

so either i have a bad spankin new sensor, or i can't turn a key to position 2 correctly. my question is, am i missing or forgetting something? getting to the connections is easy enough. i re-plugged them not twenty minutes ago, with another attempt to reset both before and after another check of the wires.

thanks for any help, or just pointing out the obvious.
flyinj3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-30-2010, 09:48 PM   #2
trippmann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: nj monmouth county
Posts: 900
My Ride: E30
Send a message via AIM to trippmann
just twist the wires together. sensors are for def people.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DylloS View Post
I'm surprised along with "making 100k a year, and dating super models" this forum doesn't have "make my girl cum every time" to the list.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa02e46 View Post
^It seriously was the worst decision of my life to sign up for this site.
trippmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 12:32 AM   #3
paraklas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 5,923
My Ride: ESS TS2 320ci
Long shot, but have you tried reseting the Instrument cluster?
__________________
http://www.argyrides.eu/makeyourownsig.jpg
paraklas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:13 PM   #4
gibby13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: columbia, sc
Posts: 83
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by paraklas View Post
Long shot, but have you tried reseting the Instrument cluster?
got a diy on this?
gibby13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 07:40 PM   #5
TrickTizzle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Minneapolis/Milwaukee
Posts: 3,106
My Ride: 325i
Send a message via AIM to TrickTizzle
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibby13 View Post
got a diy on this?

Search!

...Noobs these days.
TrickTizzle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 01:38 AM   #6
monkeyjuice5150
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Ramon, CA
Posts: 1,990
My Ride: ///M3 droptop
Send a message via AIM to monkeyjuice5150
I thought your suppose to turn to position 2, leave it for 10 mins till it dissapear, then you can go back to 1 and start.
__________________
monkeyjuice5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 08:12 AM   #7
flyinj3x
Registered User
 
flyinj3x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,828
My Ride: 03/03 330ci
Send a message via MSN to flyinj3x Send a message via Yahoo to flyinj3x
paraklas, i did not try resetting the cluster. i assumed the light was still on because of my installation, or because of one or two faulty sensors.

after reading and searching for hours last night, and finding nothing other than "Position 2" to reset the light, i decided to figure out if it was my install or one of the sensors. i took my old sensors and cut them about 2" from the elbow on the connection end. i then stripped the covering back another inch leaving 1" of wires exposed. removing 1/2" of insulation, i twisted the wires together and tucked them back inside the 1" of covering. i then covered the wires with heat-shrink and sealed it. now i have two OEM dongles that still seal the junction box, and have no extra wires to zip-tie under the car.

starting with the rear because it's the harder of the two to access with no jack or lift, i plugged in my new sensor i created. switched the key to position 2 and in about 30 seconds the light went out. i'm very glad it was only a bad sensor and not something i had inadvertently done during install.

thanks for your time guys, i appreciate your replies. i'll be in contact with the distributor later today.
flyinj3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use