E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 06:53 PM   #1
Drewfus2101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 626
My Ride: N/A
DIY: SAP Sim

I've been meaning to get this written up and posted, but have just been busy. I hope what I've put together is detailed enough. People can send me details or add info, and I'll update the file.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf SAP Sim DIY.pdf (1.07 MB, 1760 views)
Drewfus2101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-09-2011, 10:45 PM   #2
uzi577
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TO
Posts: 69
My Ride: e46,323
Awesome write up!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where can I get the PCB(printed circuit board)?
__________________
You WILL NOT rise for the occation, You WILL sink to the level of you training.
uzi577 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:13 PM   #3
Drewfus2101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 626
My Ride: N/A
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzi577 View Post
Awesome write up!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where can I get the PCB(printed circuit board)?
The PCB and Project Box can be purchased from Radioshack, but I don't have part numbers for them. They carry a good selection in store, so as long as you get a PCB that is at least 2" by 3", and a box that can hold that, plus at least 1" tall, you shouldn't have a problem.
Drewfus2101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 02:23 AM   #4
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
I thought this was for a SIM Access Profile Bluetooth conversion not the secondary air pump :$
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 10:40 AM   #5
sharpx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 542
My Ride: E60
Thank you for this DIY!
sharpx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 01:05 AM   #6
RBK333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manila
Posts: 6
My Ride: 03 M3 Black / Imola
This a great DIY.

I am deleting the SAP and the valve soon and I need you to direct me to a site that sells the Block Off plate for the valve. I saw a retailer that had it but lost the link.

Many thanks. This Forum is very good.
RBK333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 07:54 AM   #7
Drewfus2101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 626
My Ride: N/A
This is the only one that I found for the M54:
http://store.vacmotorsports.com/vac-...ate-p1744.aspx

But I'm too cheap, so I made one from some 1/8" steel I got at Lowes. It was a paint to cut with a hack-saw, but it was shaped the same.

However, I remember reading that BMW had an OEM part that fit. I did some research a while back, and wasn't able to find the part number. I just did some more digging, and they show the part on the diagram for my car, but don't give the number. But for the EURO model, the list the number. I put that in at ECS, and I got a hit.



Part #10 looks like the right one to me. I guess the EURO ones didn't come with the egr valve. ECS has the part for $7, which is much better than the other one, and better than making one too.
Drewfus2101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 09:48 AM   #8
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewfus2101 View Post
I just did some more digging, and they show the part on the diagram for my car, but don't give the number. But for the EURO model, the list the number. I put that in at ECS, and I got a hit. .
so whats the number?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 09:35 AM   #9
RBK333
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manila
Posts: 6
My Ride: 03 M3 Black / Imola
Hey thanks for the link. I will explore getting that part.
RBK333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 10:11 AM   #10
Drewfus2101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 626
My Ride: N/A
11121438086
Drewfus2101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 11:48 AM   #11
ice2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 126
My Ride: 02 330ci ZSP,ZPP,ZCW
Is it true that pre-03 cars won't get a SES light?
ice2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 01:22 PM   #12
drumbum624
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD/DC
Posts: 652
My Ride: 325xi
Send a message via AIM to drumbum624
If i were to use that part to block off where the EGR connects to the block, how should I go about closing that other little vaccum line that connects to it, golf tee? Also if I deleted my SAP without the sim, would my car still run the same and I got an SES or will it effect engine performance in any way?
__________________
drumbum624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 04:21 PM   #13
sharpx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 542
My Ride: E60
Quote:
Originally Posted by ice2003 View Post
Is it true that pre-03 cars won't get a SES light?
The car will show a CE/SES light if you remove the SAP without using a simulator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumbum624 View Post
...Also if I deleted my SAP without the sim, would my car still run the same and I got an SES or will it effect engine performance in any way?
Performance will not be affected by removing the SAP, which pumps air into the exhaust for about a minute on cold days. Otherwise the valve is closed and the SAP is not operating.

The low flow code (due to SAP removal) will not affect the car, but you will not know if you have a legitimate new code without constantly reading if new codes have been registered since the SES light would be already on.
sharpx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 02:24 PM   #14
drumbum624
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD/DC
Posts: 652
My Ride: 325xi
Send a message via AIM to drumbum624
Thanks, thats no problem cause I already have a light for my post cat 02 sensors. I don't mind checking occasionally for new codes.

But about that other vaccum line...shut it off with a golf tee?
__________________
drumbum624 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 01:59 PM   #15
fadeaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South OC
Posts: 309
My Ride: 04 330Ci
Has anyone confirmed whether or not this will work with the MS45.1?
fadeaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:53 AM   #16
fadeaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South OC
Posts: 309
My Ride: 04 330Ci
I'm hoping someone could give me a bit of insight into the 04+ models.

There appears to be two different types of SAP systems for our cars. I just took a look at mine and I have the newer version with an air filter. Part number 3 is a mass air flow sensor. I don't even see a connector for control signals on either SAP. Is it hiding somewhere?

NEW SAP

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...15&hg=11&fg=50

OLD SAP

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...88&hg=11&fg=50
fadeaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:02 PM   #17
awol82
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 57
My Ride: 03' 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by fadeaway View Post
I'm hoping someone could give me a bit of insight into the 04+ models.

There appears to be two different types of SAP systems for our cars. I just took a look at mine and I have the newer version with an air filter. Part number 3 is a mass air flow sensor. I don't even see a connector for control signals on either SAP. Is it hiding somewhere?

NEW SAP

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...15&hg=11&fg=50

OLD SAP

http://realoem.com/bmw/showparts.do?...88&hg=11&fg=50
The plug is not really visible from the top. It is on the bottom of the unit. Easy enough to get to though.
__________________
Eric
03' 325Xi
awol82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 08:51 PM   #18
fadeaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South OC
Posts: 309
My Ride: 04 330Ci
Hrm. I wonder whether or not the mass air flow sensor requires extra circuitry. I haven't been able to find another thread with this new system. I'll have to start tinkering on my own.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Bimmer App
fadeaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:18 PM   #19
serdar255
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,166
My Ride: '01 325ci / '90 325i
Thanks, but what circuit board do we use, can you take pics of your circuit board finished?
__________________

For coding, custom shift knobs, and vinyl stickers: PM me
serdar255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:41 AM   #20
Drewfus2101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 626
My Ride: N/A
Quote:
Originally Posted by serdar255 View Post
Thanks, but what circuit board do we use, can you take pics of your circuit board finished?
The board is just a plain 'breadboard' type board. It's just got a bunch of holes, so that the legs of the components will stick through there, and you'll be able to glue and solder the wires from one component to the other. Radioshack carries a few good ones that will work.

I should have taken pics of that part.
Drewfus2101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use