E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-17-2009, 04:35 PM   #1
dementievafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 270
My Ride: 2002 bmw 330ci
ipod through aux cable only, sound quality?

can someone who has used the aux for the ipod tell me how it sounds? any interference or any problems? thanks
__________________
bf.c Itrader rating for classifieds section
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...er.php?u=86148


dementievafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-17-2009, 04:36 PM   #2
VALMONT
The De46vil's Army
 
VALMONT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 24,602
My Ride: 325Ci, Passat
Send a message via AIM to VALMONT Send a message via MSN to VALMONT
sounds fine to me, just make sure the device it turned all the way up.
__________________
VALMONT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:48 PM   #3
dementievafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 270
My Ride: 2002 bmw 330ci
if my car is 01/02 built, with cd player with mode option, can i just run an aux cable somewhere back there and itll work? or do i need to do something or buy osmething special....damn this is annoying.....
__________________
bf.c Itrader rating for classifieds section
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...er.php?u=86148


dementievafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:42 AM   #4
Ballistic325
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,191
My Ride: slow and steady
hi... try this:

1. Turn Radio Off.
2. Turn Radio On.
3. Press and hold the "m" button for about 10 seconds.
4. Press < or > to navigate, you will need to go to the 2nd screen to look for the SW Version which is in a SV xx-xx xx format.

Your software version must be 43 or higher to support a direct aux-in cable. SW version is the last 2 numbers in the "SV xx-xx xx" format.

If your SW is lower than 43, there are other ways to get aux-in such as splicing into your CD changer cabling or using an aftermarket device (e.g. DICE / Blitzsafe / Grom) that takes over your CD changer port. This can be done at either at the HU end or in your trunk, depending on if you have a changer / pre-wiring in place at the moment.

HTH and good luck
__________________

I can help with
* Reading Codes / Coding your car
* R&R FCAs, Tie Rods, Sway links....
* RTABs

Need an RTAB tool? Or clutch fan and water pump tools? PM me.
Ballistic325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:34 AM   #5
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dementievafan View Post
if my car is 01/02 built, with cd player with mode option, can i just run an aux cable somewhere back there and itll work? or do i need to do something or buy osmething special....damn this is annoying.....
MODE has nothing to do with compatibility. You need to be 9/2002 or later build.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:41 AM   #6
guest0711
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 195
My Ride: 2006 bmw m3 coupe
i was wondering the same thing about sound quality of the aux cable because in my past experiences in my older cars i did not like how it sounded.
guest0711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:51 AM   #7
VALMONT
The De46vil's Army
 
VALMONT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: So Cal
Posts: 24,602
My Ride: 325Ci, Passat
Send a message via AIM to VALMONT Send a message via MSN to VALMONT
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertd320 View Post
i was wondering the same thing about sound quality of the aux cable because in my past experiences in my older cars i did not like how it sounded.
MP3 and other compressed audio formats will never sound as good as CD. It's not always the hardware.
__________________
VALMONT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:51 AM   #8
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertd320 View Post
i was wondering the same thing about sound quality of the aux cable because in my past experiences in my older cars i did not like how it sounded.
If a proper docking cable is used, audio quality is just fine. If played through the headphone jack (high level), some distortion is to be expected.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 12:42 PM   #9
dementievafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 270
My Ride: 2002 bmw 330ci
damn my version is 40, i dont want to get an aftermarket unit i'd rather get the dice kit, is there any other options other than splicing into the trunk changer?
__________________
bf.c Itrader rating for classifieds section
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...er.php?u=86148


dementievafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:19 PM   #10
tom @ eas
european auto source
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 12,584
My Ride: e92 S/C M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dementievafan View Post
damn my version is 40, i dont want to get an aftermarket unit i'd rather get the dice kit, is there any other options other than splicing into the trunk changer?
DICE has an AUX kit built in - it's the best of both worlds.
tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 02:46 PM   #11
dementievafan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 270
My Ride: 2002 bmw 330ci
yea if it was a bit cheaper......or if i was a bit richer....
__________________
bf.c Itrader rating for classifieds section
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...er.php?u=86148


dementievafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 03:07 PM   #12
glee403
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 23
My Ride: 2003 BMW 330ci
I installed the aux kit to come in right where the seat warmer button is (03 330ci). But like it was mentioned already, you need a bmw stereo head unit that was built after 09/02. The sound quality is stellar and a million people wouldn't know the difference if I was playing a CD or running an mp3 player (I use my ipod) through an AUX cable; no distortion, no buzz, nothing weird....better than paying 40 bucks than shelling out 100 for the dice unit (which I think is a pain to install anyway). Plus, if you're going on a roadtrip w/ a friend that doesn't have an ipod, it's possible to listen to their stuff too.

Good luck on trying to find a compatible mp3/ipod/aux unit!
__________________
Regards,
Gwang
glee403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 03:33 PM   #13
kurtnhl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carrollton, Texas/Norman, Oklahoma
Posts: 496
My Ride: 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by dementievafan View Post
yea if it was a bit cheaper......or if i was a bit richer....
Get the Radio Interface Dice if you chose to go down that path. I love mine, and have had no clarity problems. Some people with the trunk interface have had issues with sound. It probably is a little bit harder to install, but it is worth it. Oh and for the record your sig is terrible. Boomer Sooner. Haha. Only kidding.
__________________
kurtnhl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:49 PM   #14
Ballistic325
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,191
My Ride: slow and steady
Read these

Quote:
Originally Posted by dementievafan View Post
damn my version is 40, i dont want to get an aftermarket unit i'd rather get the dice kit, is there any other options other than splicing into the trunk changer?

You don't need to chop any wiring at all - looks like you are in college and therefore would have access to a whole world of engineers-in-training who could whip this up for you in no time

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=427248

and

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=578671


When I get some down time I will be following the steps in the first thread. Will also add a switch so that I can still using my CD changer when I want to...
__________________

I can help with
* Reading Codes / Coding your car
* R&R FCAs, Tie Rods, Sway links....
* RTABs

Need an RTAB tool? Or clutch fan and water pump tools? PM me.
Ballistic325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use