E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2009, 07:19 PM   #1
bbirnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4
My Ride: 2000 323ci
AUX cable/CD Changer Toggle Switch

Would it be possible to find the cables coming into the head unit from the CD Changer in the trunk, hook them into a toggles switch, hook the ends from an aux cable into the toggles switch, and then run the toggle switch back into the head unit ? Would this allow me to switch between the cd player and the aux cable using the toggle switch while have it set to the cd function on the head unit ?
bbirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-18-2009, 09:01 PM   #2
BmwAudio32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 657
My Ride: 2004 Imola 330i ZHP
Yes, this would work. I've had two different setups which would allow this to work.

1. Setup number one was with an aftermarket Pioneer CD changer. I hooked it up with a PAC interface unit that allow it to connect to the factory cd changer wires. It also had a handy feature of an aux input built in, and had a wire that, when grounded, would enable the aux in feature and turn off the changer. I hooked up a simple switch that turned the aux on/off and it all worked perfectly.

2. Setup number 2 actually stemmed from issue I was having with my factory SIRIUS and DICE, in which my DICE had noise whenever the SIRIUS unit was on at the same time. I ended up creating a "splitter" off the IBUS wires, so that both units were plugged into the wires at the same time, then I cut the power wire going to the SIRIUS unit and installed a switch inline that would cut power to it on/off. Thus, I had both DICE and SIRIUS but didn't have to go through the noise-prone SIRIUS slave port.


If your wanting to run a factory changer as well as something like the Blitzsafe aux adapter, you would want to do something similar to setup 2. What you would need to do is get one of those SIRIUS slave cables (someone posted a link to get one for like 15 dollars I think), and cut the ends off, thus you will have extra 3 and 6 pin connectors to use. You would splice this into the appropriate wires in the 6 and 3 pin bundles so that you'd end up with a forked cable with 2 connectors for each fo the 3 and 6 pin spots. You'd then rig up a switch like I did to cut power to one while the other is powered on, and your switching would work like you want.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...209&highlight=

If you scroll down to the bottom of that thread page you will see where I posted pics of my switch.
BmwAudio32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:55 PM   #3
Ballistic325
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,191
My Ride: slow and steady
bbirnie... I've been thinking along the same lines as you.

Have a look at these threads. It should be easy to splice in a switch so that you can use either the 3.5mm stereo cable or the CD changer...

Will hopefully get a chance to try this over the weekend. Will post updates either way.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=427248

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=578671

Cheers
__________________

I can help with
* Reading Codes / Coding your car
* R&R FCAs, Tie Rods, Sway links....
* RTABs

Need an RTAB tool? Or clutch fan and water pump tools? PM me.
Ballistic325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 07:20 AM   #4
bbirnie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4
My Ride: 2000 323ci
Thanks for the replies guys. Much appreciated.
bbirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 07:58 AM   #5
Ballistic325
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,191
My Ride: slow and steady
BmwAudio32 - thanks for the tips. Finally had a chance to go through your posts in a little more detail and understand better what you're talking about.

Unfortunately being in Aus means that the cables etc are harder to come by and much more expensive too, once delivery and currency conversion is factored in!

Will just have to rig stuff up the old fashioned way I think. Gathering the parts during this week and will take a crack at it this coming weekend. Will be following the basic steps described by white46 and roscharch.

In a nutshell, in order to do this with a HU without the aux input, and keep the changer working you'd need to splice into the existing CD changer harness. Then, insert a 3 x '4 gang' switch (1 x connects to HU, 1 x connects to line in, 1 x connects back to CD changer). Now, depending on the position of the switch, you can have either line in or CD changer... in theory

Will post findings.......
__________________

I can help with
* Reading Codes / Coding your car
* R&R FCAs, Tie Rods, Sway links....
* RTABs

Need an RTAB tool? Or clutch fan and water pump tools? PM me.
Ballistic325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 08:17 AM   #6
BmwAudio32
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 657
My Ride: 2004 Imola 330i ZHP
Yes, thats correct, you would need a slightly more complicated version of my switch that turns two circuits simultaneously when switched.
BmwAudio32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use