E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 10:10 PM   #1
AMCINK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 571
My Ride: 2000 323CI
Those window wise men please answer this

My driver side window rolls up and down ok; however it does not do the up and down motion when you close or open the door. What could it be?

I've been told that the sensor to do this might be inside the actuator therefore a whole actuator swap or could I repair the existing one
AMCINK is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-06-2010, 10:16 PM   #2
ProchaineStation
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,208
My Ride: Metro, Bus, Bike
Send a message via MSN to ProchaineStation
so how do you do it.
Halfway
__________________
Next Stop: ProchaineStation™

Montreal, world transit & infrastructure enthusiast.
www.youtube.com/AntoDamicoShow
ProchaineStation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 10:31 PM   #3
AMCINK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 571
My Ride: 2000 323CI
roll the window all the way up and then carefully guide the window with your left hand under the door trim and close it.
by the way I also have the stuck door syndrome - will this also tell me that the actuator needs to be replace???
AMCINK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 11:19 AM   #4
AMCINK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 571
My Ride: 2000 323CI
anyone?????
AMCINK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 01:29 PM   #5
MysticBlau330Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: 170 to NOVAE
Posts: 1,773
My Ride: 330Ci '04
when your door is open do you get a door open symbol on your dash?
__________________
MysticBlau330Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 02:51 PM   #6
AMCINK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 571
My Ride: 2000 323CI
^^^^^^^ No!! I'm not getting the open door symbol
AMCINK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 05:26 PM   #7
MysticBlau330Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: 170 to NOVAE
Posts: 1,773
My Ride: 330Ci '04
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMCINK View Post
^^^^^^^ No!! I'm not getting the open door symbol
if there is no 'open door' indicator on when the other door/trunk is open I think your General Module is acting up and may need to be reset. Try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes and see if that works. If you do get a 'door open' indicator in the other door then looks like your sensor is bad. Try the battery disconnect for that too.
__________________
MysticBlau330Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 05:29 PM   #8
DiscoStu
Sienna Red Coupe
 
DiscoStu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 6,619
My Ride: 2013 VW GLI
I had this same problem on occasion years ago and as bizarre as it sounds, a new lock cylinder in the door fixed the problem. Now my lock cylinder completely failed which is why I had it replaced, but it also in turn fixed my window issues.
__________________
-Gary
DiscoStu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 06:22 PM   #9
scottjoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 2,096
My Ride: '99 323i & '02 540i
I really doubt it is the General Module that would cause the lack of door open indicator. More likely the door lock actuator as that is where the sensor is for door ajar or the wiring between the door and the chassis. Unless there were a whole bunch of things acting funny I would not suspect the GM. The GM is solid expect for the door lock relays of course.
scottjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 06:24 PM   #10
scottjoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 2,096
My Ride: '99 323i & '02 540i
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMCINK View Post
by the way I also have the stuck door syndrome - will this also tell me that the actuator needs to be replace???
Please explain what stuck door syndrome is.
scottjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 06:25 PM   #11
Define ///M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 1,883
My Ride: Dream 2 B Suprchrgd
this is going on in the other bimmer. im curious
__________________


AKA Huggy1989
"I expect to pass through life but once. If, therefore, there can be any kindness I can show, or any good thing I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again."- WP
Define ///M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:11 PM   #12
AMCINK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 571
My Ride: 2000 323CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjoh View Post
Please explain what stuck door syndrome is.
The "stuck door syndrome" is when you try to open the door and pull the handle and the door does not open on the first try; you then need to pull it again sometime several times (with more induced force) to actually open the door.
AMCINK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:24 PM   #13
MysticBlau330Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: 170 to NOVAE
Posts: 1,773
My Ride: 330Ci '04
Yeah, my post was a little 'off'. What I meant was if ALL doors and trunk etc do not show open then it MAY be the GM which I too doubt. If it's just the one door then yes, more likely actuator/sensor or wiring. I would still try the 'battery' reset first.
__________________
MysticBlau330Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:28 PM   #14
skang330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bradley Univeristy / Dallas, Texas
Posts: 2,477
My Ride: 2005 E46 330ci
Send a message via AIM to skang330
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMCINK View Post
The "stuck door syndrome" is when you try to open the door and pull the handle and the door does not open on the first try; you then need to pull it again sometime several times (with more induced force) to actually open the door.
oh no this happens to me sometime
skang330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:35 PM   #15
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 22,863
My Ride: '99 328i 1.04646 mu
Um, I hope this 'stuck door' syndrome isn't just that the door is locked, meaning that the first pull shouldn't open the door...the second pull should.

Also, I thought that you could have a permanent setting where the door locks whenever you go above a certain speed (like you can set the car to have day time lights on or not). Anyway, I hope this 'issue' isn't mistakenly thought of as a glitch, when it's not.

That said, if it is repeated tries to open the door, that certainly is an issue.

Also, in my 16 years with BMWs, I've got to say the the 'disconnect the battery for 10 mins.' idea has saved me many times for a variety of electrical gremlins...hope it's a simple as that for you OP!

Doug
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:54 PM   #16
York
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 217
My Ride: 01 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMCINK View Post
My driver side window rolls up and down ok; however it does not do the up and down motion when you close or open the door. What could it be?
Of course I can't find it right now, but I saw in another thread that the up/down feature is controlled by the door lock actuator.

Here's one talking about weather causing the issue:

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...p+down+feature
__________________
330Ci

Last edited by York; 01-07-2010 at 08:02 PM.
York is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 08:45 PM   #17
blk04zhpcpe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: daphne, al
Posts: 150
My Ride: 2004 330ci zhp coupe
if the "up and down thing" you're referring to is the slight drop in the window's height before the door opens or the slight rise in the window's height after the door is closed, i have had each window take its' turn losing this functionality. each time, i reset the offending window by rolling it down all the way, then immediately rolling it back up all the way but continued to hold the window switch in the rollup position an additional 20 seconds or so after it had reached full travel. this was successful each time. it seems to memorize the end stop. i got this tip from a similar thread on this forum some months ago.
blk04zhpcpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 11:27 AM   #18
AMCINK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Posts: 571
My Ride: 2000 323CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by blk04zhpcpe View Post
if the "up and down thing" you're referring to is the slight drop in the window's height before the door opens or the slight rise in the window's height after the door is closed, i have had each window take its' turn losing this functionality. each time, i reset the offending window by rolling it down all the way, then immediately rolling it back up all the way but continued to hold the window switch in the rollup position an additional 20 seconds or so after it had reached full travel. this was successful each time. it seems to memorize the end stop. i got this tip from a similar thread on this forum some months ago.
Yea! I have try this method but I hold the button down for only 10 seconds I will try the 20 seconds rule adn report back
Thanks
AMCINK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:44 PM   #19
York
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Utah, USA
Posts: 217
My Ride: 01 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by blk04zhpcpe View Post
if the "up and down thing" you're referring to is the slight drop in the window's height before the door opens or the slight rise in the window's height after the door is closed, i have had each window take its' turn losing this functionality. each time, i reset the offending window by rolling it down all the way, then immediately rolling it back up all the way but continued to hold the window switch in the rollup position an additional 20 seconds or so after it had reached full travel. this was successful each time. it seems to memorize the end stop. i got this tip from a similar thread on this forum some months ago.
My heck, I think this works? I just popped out the overhead panel to prep my Homelink install. I used the passenger door and when I closed it, the window did not move up the last bit. I opened and close it a few times with no luck. So, I sat inside with the door closed, lowered the window all the way and then raised it all the way and held the window switch for an extra 10 seconds (second try would have been 20 seconds) and the window now works as before. I'll watch the door to see if this fix lasts. Sweet!
__________________
330Ci
York is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:30 PM   #20
warrior9504
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 63
My Ride: 330ci
Hey AMCINK,

did you ever fix your problem? I am having the exact problem with my 01 330ci.
warrior9504 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use