E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-14-2009, 09:12 AM   #21
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
cool, keep us posted mate.

for info, i have the parrot ck3000 and the connects 2 interface to use the steering wheel controls, and the wiring loom for the connects 2 box, doesnt even have a wire that goes to pin 10. It was inside the connects2 box that i fitted the transistor, i the drilled a little hole in the box, and ran the wire out, to the loom. I dont think i took any photos, but i'll check later
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 12:18 PM   #22
gms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 convertible
I just did a little bit of work on my car, I just removed the right trim of my back seat and found out that there is no amplifier over there, I just did it like in this movie

http://www.wonderhowto.com/how-to/vi...cabrio-143377/

I thought the factory amp would be at the location like you see after 4:09 just behind the black metal bracket, or is it the white piece on the left of the black metal bracket.

If I have no amp then it would be a lot more easier and just use the connects2 harnass.

I read somewhere that an european E46 doesn't have an amp and the european bm54 has a built in amp.
But I can nowhere find some confirmation on that, it could be right as I live in Europe.

Does anybody have some info on that?
gms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2009, 02:42 AM   #23
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
you only have the external amp if you have HK audio. Otherwise, its just like a regular car stereo setup.
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 09:03 AM   #24
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Hi

For those that have put in this work I salute you :cheers:

Am I reading this right? on E46 GAL (pin 10 X18126) has been reassigned as TELON? And GAL now comes through the k bus? I don't want to go shorting GAL and TELON wires together :?

Fankoo

Edit: Here's what I know
x18805:
Pin No. / Function
1 / Audio Cassette Right (+)
2 / Audio Cassette Right (-)
3 / Nav bus
4 / GND Aux In
5 / Audio Nav (-) - Nav Control Module / Video Module
6 / Audio Cassette Left (+)
7 / Audio Cassette Left (-)
8 / Aux in R
9 / Aux in L
10 / Audio Nav (+) - Nav Control Module / Video Module
x01037
Pin No. / Function
1 / Low Frequency Voltage Signal CD Changer Left
2 / Low Frequency Voltage Signal CD Changer Right
3 / Shield - audio shield
4-5 / No Connection
6 / Low Frequency Voltage Signal CD Changer Left
7 / Low Frequency Voltage Signal CD Changer Right
8-10 / No Connection
X18126
1 / Speaker - Front Left (+)
2 / Speaker - Front Right (+)
3 / Speaker - Rear Left (+)
4 / Telephone Mute
5 / +12v from ignition (ACC and RUN)
6 / Speaker - Rear Right (+)
7 / DAC - k bus
8 / Speaker - Front Left (-)
9 / Back Up (?) (terminal 30 - Fuse F56)
10 / GAL - speed signal [E36] TELON [Active High] [E46]
11 / Speaker Front Right (-)
12 / Speaker Rear Left (-)
13 / Nighttime Illumination Signal
14 / Speaker Rear Right (-)
15 / Ground
16 / Auto Antenna - diversity
17 / Not Used (LAC)
X13321
1 Signal, CD changer AF +, left
2 Signal, CD changer AF +, right
3 Signal, telephone AF -
4
5
6 Signal, CD changer AF -
7 TNF coding (short to 3?) http://z3ers.com/01/081501/pdfs/E_46_3_SERIES.pdf
8 Signal, telephone AF +
9
10
Adding an Aux input to E46 http://www.abar.co.uk/z4/auxfull.pdf

EDIT2 from the E46 WDS:

Last edited by Arty; 02-19-2010 at 10:00 AM.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:42 AM   #25
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
yeah the speed sensitive volume adjust, or whatever you call it, seems to work through the ibus, i disconected the GAL/tel on cable from the car, and wired it into the phone system... i would have been happy to lose the speed sensitive volume thing as it irritates me hehe. but its still working, so it must work though the ibus.
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 04:56 AM   #26
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ222 View Post
yeah the speed sensitive volume adjust, or whatever you call it, seems to work through the ibus, i disconected the GAL/tel on cable from the car, and wired it into the phone system... i would have been happy to lose the speed sensitive volume thing as it irritates me hehe. but its still working, so it must work though the ibus.
You can turn it off or adjust the speed adjustment sensitivity using the hidden menus. I think you have to hold down a button to see them, depends on your head unit. Pesonally I think it's a great idea, I'm forever fddling with the volume controls when I pull up to the lights.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:02 AM   #27
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
yeah ive turned it down to minimum, you cant actually switch it off altogether, but at minimum, it seems about right to me.

there is nothing wrong with the feature, i just dont really like it personally. at higher settings than minimum, i found myself turning it down to compensate... its just a personal preference thing really.
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 03:36 AM   #28
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Does anyone know the part number for the 10 pin connectors X13321 and X18805?
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 02:32 AM   #29
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
the small connectors that go into the where the cd changer goes?

i have some part numbers for the wires that go into the connectors, but not the housings themselves
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 01:56 AM   #30
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
I need the housing part numbers. I can't see them on realoem.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...80&hg=61&fg=15


Edit: the mating half part number for X18805 is 61136909008

Edit (2) a I think 61136909008 is a scocket. See part 2
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...=12&fg=30&hl=4

Last edited by Arty; 03-22-2010 at 03:50 AM.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 02:22 AM   #31
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
i'm not sure if that is the correct on or not to be honest. it doesnt look right in the picture some how, you got the business cd or the nav?

i found, that i a usb motherboard header plug will fit.

some older cases etc have the usb header plugs made up of various pins, but since motherboards have become standard in the usb pin header pinout, some of them are 2x5 way connectors, there not a perfect fit, as its thinner, and you have to check youve got it correctly, but it'll fit, and once its in its fine. i cut one off one of those brackets with 2 usb sockets that you fit inside a pc.

just a thought
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 04:27 PM   #32
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ222 View Post
i'm not sure if that is the correct on or not to be honest. it doesnt look right in the picture some how, you got the business cd or the nav?
I have business Nav. It doesn't look right I agree, but it is listed as the mating half in conjunction with the E46 aux input here
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...89&hg=65&fg=95

Quote:
Originally Posted by champ222 View Post
i found, that i a usb motherboard header plug will fit.

some older cases etc have the usb header plugs made up of various pins, but since motherboards have become standard in the usb pin header pinout, some of them are 2x5 way connectors, there not a perfect fit, as its thinner, and you have to check youve got it correctly, but it'll fit, and once its in its fine. i cut one off one of those brackets with 2 usb sockets that you fit inside a pc.

just a thought
Thanks, I can usualy liberate one from work if it's a 2.54mm (1/4inch) pitch.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 02:31 AM   #33
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
if you have nav, then i am assuming your dealing with 40 pins rather than the 17 pin connector?

if that is the case, then i think your small cd changer plugs are different too... i think its 10pin (2x5pins) for the 17 pin system, and 12 pins (2x6pins) for the 40 pin systems???

the mother board usb header is only 2x5 if i recall correctly, so unless the end 2 pins are not used, you'll need to find something else.
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 09:52 AM   #34
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
It's a 17 pin setup. The 40 pin came in with the post 2001 cars with Business CD or professional 16:9 Nav, So I have the 10 pin supplementary connectors.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:30 PM   #35
burnhamd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Perry Ga
Posts: 197
My Ride: 325i 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by champ222 View Post
cool, keep us posted mate.

for info, i have the parrot ck3000 and the connects 2 interface to use the steering wheel controls, and the wiring loom for the connects 2 box, doesnt even have a wire that goes to pin 10. It was inside the connects2 box that i fitted the transistor, i the drilled a little hole in the box, and ran the wire out, to the loom. I dont think i took any photos, but i'll check later
Any Idea why the connects 2 loom uses pin 17 on radio harness?

I also think that maybe one of the relays on the connects 2 could be used to produce the tel on signal.
burnhamd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 04:53 PM   #36
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
[QUOTE=Arty;11382922]It's a 17 pin setup. The 40 pin came in with the post 2001 cars with Business CD or professional 16:9 Nav, So I have the 10 pin supplementary connectors.

all business cd players, and the professional cd player use the 17 pin connector.. at least every single one that i have seen does. the 2005 business cd player in my car does aswell

there seems to be some misleading info about this... a lot of aftermarket accessory manufacturers state that its all 40 pin after 2002 or something... that simply isnt the case... as least not with the business cd player anyway.
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 04:59 PM   #37
champ222
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 83
My Ride: 330CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by burnhamd View Post
Any Idea why the connects 2 loom uses pin 17 on radio harness?

I also think that maybe one of the relays on the connects 2 could be used to produce the tel on signal.
does the connects2 kit actually use pin 17 for anything? or is it just a loop through? all pins are simply looped through as far as i remember, except for the ones it talks to ie IBUS and MUTE and the ones it switches ie the speaker cables.

i checked out all of the relays in the connects2 box, and i couldnt find a suitable signal for tel-on.

the tel on signal is simply the inverse of the mute signal.

so when a call comes in

the mute cable goes from 0v to 12v to mute the radio

the tel-on cable needs to do the opposite, go from 12v to 0v when a call comes in. this is what i used the transistor 'inverting' switch for.

you may have more luck finding one on the relays than me tho.
champ222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 02:43 AM   #38
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
champ222 - can you explain in more detail what you did/modified with the Connects2 box? It's the CTPPAR007 correct? If you have Parrot ck3000 anf Connects2 007 that should work just as is. It mutes the radio and it powers directly the front speakers for a phone call.

I have this setup, but I have an issue that I am hearing faintly some 'amp hiss' and slight ground/engine hum over the front speakers. I hear this even when the radio unit is off. I believe this is the Parrot amp sending this "noise" to the front speakers. Unfotunately, during qiet segments of music listening, this 'noise' can be heard slightly in the background. At higher volumes it can't be heard but it means the music is not as clear as it previously was. So this 'noise' is constanly feeding to the front speakers, then the relays in the Connects2 box allow the music through (or not) depending if in a call or not.

The Parrot works great but has introduced slight noise into my audio :-(

Any thoughts?
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:22 PM   #39
Xvman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 20
My Ride: 2006 M3 ZCP
Can someone please tell me where the plugs "X18805" and "X13321" can be found on the Center Console cabling? I had a NAV system retrofitted on my 2006 M3, and need to access
these cables to use a DICE Mediabridge. When I took out my Navigation head unit, I only saw the 3 pin connector (A4 or X18805). I can't find where the X18805 connector?

Thanks...
Xvman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:05 PM   #40
gms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 33
My Ride: E46 convertible
the dice media interface normally connects between the mk4 navi unit in the trunk

gms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use