E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 187 votes, 4.98 average.
Old 09-23-2010, 08:43 AM   #21
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by newspec View Post
Hmmm, Mine shows id3 tags (V4), Name of song, year, artist etc. To be honest have not looked if there is a random function.
Same here, don't know what the complaint is about then
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:07 AM   #22
2000_328CI
DK Jack Sparrow
 
2000_328CI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Isla de Muerta | DC/VA
Posts: 29,025
My Ride: 328Ci | Range Rover
Send a message via AIM to 2000_328CI Send a message via MSN to 2000_328CI
If you want Dynavin, you want to buy through Dynavin Solutions. Go Jeff
__________________

Everything you need to know on muffler deletes : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=745244
Wrapping an E46 in Vinyl : http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...ghlight=bronze
2000_328CI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:41 AM   #23
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
Darkoz, the v1-v4 has the zoran chip, they are pretty much the same. The v5 looks completely different because it is completely different!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:43 AM   #24
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
Can the radio show RDS while being set properly to US/Canada region? I recall the v1 would only show it if set to Europe version (in the US).

Random function on USB stick?
No rds tricks required, it works correctly....ill check on the random usb function and let you know
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:51 AM   #25
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Darkoz, the v1-v4 has the zoran chip, they are pretty much the same. The v5 looks completely different because it is completely different!
OK I thought I remember reading over at the Dynavin free Forum and Vassiles (sp?) saying that version 4 onwards has the new Sun....something or other chip, maybe I was dreamig.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:24 AM   #26
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
yes he did say that, but remember the "Version" numbers are an entirely made up nomenclature.....he was referring to the unit that we are now calling the V5, at the time I do think he called it a V4 but that was before there was a V4! The new chip is a sunplus.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:38 AM   #27
newspec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nz
Posts: 78
My Ride: Mspec 325i 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZen330 View Post
Can the radio show RDS while being set properly to US/Canada region? I recall the v1 would only show it if set to Europe version (in the US).

Random function on USB stick?
Yes there is a random function on the usb screen (usb stick) i checked it out today, Hahaha did not even realize it was there. You can also select repeat etc, sort of like a cd player really.
newspec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 12:01 PM   #28
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by newspec View Post
Yes there is a random function on the usb screen (usb stick) i checked it out today, Hahaha did not even realize it was there. You can also select repeat etc, sort of like a cd player really.
newspec, dont forget he is asking about the new V5...

I checked it out this morning and yes it does have a random function, it plays random from the entire USB.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 12:39 PM   #29
G-Hots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 991
My Ride: ///M3 & 328ci & X3
Send a message via AIM to G-Hots Send a message via MSN to G-Hots
hmmm ok, soooo?

Lets clarify a couple things for everyone that already have a dynavin and want to upgrade...

~Does this version come with the new firmware/software/chip? Because on the old one (v1,2,3,4) we weren't able to mod the software or hack it in any way.
At some point vasilis from the dynavin forums tried to change the theme of the dynavin and flashed his whole unit. I remember him talking about a sunplus or zoran chip or something.. Is it changed?

~Can we update the software with this new version if there are fixes for the bugs?

~Are there more theme options/skins for the main menus? Can you create your own?

~Does the subwoofer and mid controls work? Are they fixed?

~Does the music randomly stop when you get a call through bluetooth or when you put the car in reverse? Is it fixed?

~When you are getting directions from the gps voice, does the unit stop the music completely or does it turn down halfway/talk/turn up?

~Is there a fix for auto Random/shuffle function? Whenever you get on CD/USB mode, it plays where you left off but turns off the randomize option for some reason? Is it fixed?

~TMC hardware included? Is there an add on option?

~IPhone OS4 Compatibility? I remember my iPhone 3g worked good with the iPod hook-up but then i updated the software on my phone and all of a sudden it doesnt work... Is it fixed?

there are many more bugs that need to be fixed but without these bugs not being fixed, I feel like theres no need to upgrade the unit since the only thing changed is the design and better looking buttons..

Dont get me wrong, it is still one of the best mods i've done to my car and if dynavin fixed all of these issues and came out with a new model then people would pay more than 600-700 bucks. I personally would pay around 1000 bucks for a unit that worked the way it should.. just my .02 though. I dont know if these bugs annoy you enough or not...
G-Hots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 12:40 PM   #30
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
this USB you guys are talking about, I understand it is another USB connection aside from the ipod connection and I believe there are two, right? one on front and one on back that are linked internally?

so I can just use a USB thumb drive right? I think that is what I saw in one of your pics Jeff. That is mounted under the arm rest in the flush mount.

so, assuming this is the case, when the 3G modem comes out, would we be able to use the thumb drive, ipod and the 3g modem or would the thumb drive have to be removed to use the modem?
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 12:53 PM   #31
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRBOVNM View Post
this USB you guys are talking about, I understand it is another USB connection aside from the ipod connection and I believe there are two, right? one on front and one on back that are linked internally?

so I can just use a USB thumb drive right? I think that is what I saw in one of your pics Jeff. That is mounted under the arm rest in the flush mount.

so, assuming this is the case, when the 3G modem comes out, would we be able to use the thumb drive, ipod and the 3g modem or would the thumb drive have to be removed to use the modem?
you have this mostly right....but there is a third USB for the windows board, the modem plugs in there....so no, you would not have to unplug anything.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 01:16 PM   #32
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
Lets clarify a couple things for everyone that already have a dynavin and want to upgrade...

~Does this version come with the new firmware/software/chip? Because on the old one (v1,2,3,4) we weren't able to mod the software or hack it in any way.
At some point vasilis from the dynavin forums tried to change the theme of the dynavin and flashed his whole unit. I remember him talking about a sunplus or zoran chip or something.. Is it changed?
New chip, everything is different and the above is an unknown at this point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~Can we update the software with this new version if there are fixes for the bugs?
The firmware on the new unit is easily updated, it can be emailed and is loaded using the USB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~Are there more theme options/skins for the main menus? Can you create your own?
not on the stereo side of things, the Nav options are unchanged

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~Does the subwoofer and mid controls work? Are they fixed?
They are gone (like I said, it is different)

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~Does the music randomly stop when you get a call through bluetooth or when you put the car in reverse? Is it fixed?
I wouldnt call stopping the music for a phone call "random"....there has been lots of discussion of the back up camera mute on the other threads

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~When you are getting directions from the gps voice, does the unit stop the music completely or does it turn down halfway/talk/turn up?
It now does directions in the front speakers and reduces the volume out of the rear speakers but does not stop music playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~Is there a fix for auto Random/shuffle function? Whenever you get on CD/USB mode, it plays where you left off but turns off the randomize option for some reason? Is it fixed?
Dont know anything about this

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~TMC hardware included? Is there an add on option?
Not that I know of

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
~IPhone OS4 Compatibility? I remember my iPhone 3g worked good with the iPod hook-up but then i updated the software on my phone and all of a sudden it doesnt work... Is it fixed?
I have not heard of any compatibility issues with iOS4

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
there are many more bugs that need to be fixed but without these bugs not being fixed, I feel like theres no need to upgrade the unit since the only thing changed is the design and better looking buttons...
Everything about the unit is different (except the nav) so not a lot of the previous criticisms apply.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 02:13 PM   #33
Str8down
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 132
My Ride: E46 M3
Here are the posted differences by Dynavin, there may be more.

1: RDS can save the radio station name instead of frequency
2: People can watch and operate navigation software while on the phone calling
3: Navigation sound can come out from the front speaker while music comes out from the rear speaker under the navigation makes sound command
4: Can be compatiable with MEPG-4 dual channel DVB-T box or American ATSC digital TV, the speedperhour can be 250km / hour
5: Can adjust the screen brightness and contrast from the Main Menu directly
Str8down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 02:21 PM   #34
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,743
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8down View Post
Here are the posted differences by Dynavin, there may be more.

1: RDS can save the radio station name instead of frequency
2: People can watch and operate navigation software while on the phone calling
3: Navigation sound can come out from the front speaker while music comes out from the rear speaker under the navigation makes sound command
4: Can be compatiable with MEPG-4 dual channel DVB-T box or American ATSC digital TV, the speedperhour can be 250km / hour
5: Can adjust the screen brightness and contrast from the Main Menu directly
6: Different in every way except Nav program
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 02:45 PM   #35
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
7. Screen is matte finish now
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 06:18 PM   #36
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,307
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
Lets clarify a couple things for everyone that already have a dynavin and want to upgrade...

~Does this version come with the new firmware/software/chip? Because on the old one (v1,2,3,4) we weren't able to mod the software or hack it in any way.
At some point vasilis from the dynavin forums tried to change the theme of the dynavin and flashed his whole unit. I remember him talking about a sunplus or zoran chip or something.. Is it changed?

~Can we update the software with this new version if there are fixes for the bugs?

~Are there more theme options/skins for the main menus? Can you create your own?

~Does the subwoofer and mid controls work? Are they fixed?

~Does the music randomly stop when you get a call through bluetooth or when you put the car in reverse? Is it fixed?

~When you are getting directions from the gps voice, does the unit stop the music completely or does it turn down halfway/talk/turn up?

~Is there a fix for auto Random/shuffle function? Whenever you get on CD/USB mode, it plays where you left off but turns off the randomize option for some reason? Is it fixed?

~TMC hardware included? Is there an add on option?

~IPhone OS4 Compatibility? I remember my iPhone 3g worked good with the iPod hook-up but then i updated the software on my phone and all of a sudden it doesnt work... Is it fixed?

there are many more bugs that need to be fixed but without these bugs not being fixed, I feel like theres no need to upgrade the unit since the only thing changed is the design and better looking buttons..

Dont get me wrong, it is still one of the best mods i've done to my car and if dynavin fixed all of these issues and came out with a new model then people would pay more than 600-700 bucks. I personally would pay around 1000 bucks for a unit that worked the way it should.. just my .02 though. I dont know if these bugs annoy you enough or not...
To answer your questions, every question you have listed has been answered by Jeff in this thread and his other Dynavin thread, you obviously haven't bothered to read anything.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:09 PM   #37
Redman M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Posts: 194
My Ride: M3 - Individual -
wow this is pretty cool
__________________


BMW M3 - Individual Atlantis Blue
Redman M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:39 PM   #38
G-Hots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 991
My Ride: ///M3 & 328ci & X3
Send a message via AIM to G-Hots Send a message via MSN to G-Hots
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
To answer your questions, every question you have listed has been answered by Jeff in this thread and his other Dynavin thread, you obviously haven't bothered to read anything.
dont get me wrong brother, i am just trying to put all the FAQ's together so people know more about the unit and dont ask the same questions over and over again.

Jeff basically answered all the questions about the bugs that we had with the previous unit and is proven almost all of them have been fixed. I am planning on buying one of these new ones and let go of the V3 that I have.
G-Hots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 02:12 AM   #39
330iZHPftw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 156
My Ride: 2004 330i ZHP, SV650
looking to purchase a V5 ASAP -- what's the process Jeff?

Also, noticed on the Dynavin engrish website that at the bottom of the Dyanvin for e46 page they have a pic / text that say 'Google Map + GPS Tracker'..false advertising or can/does this thing run Google Maps?
__________________
330iZHPftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 03:28 AM   #40
ZZen330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,141
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
newspec, dont forget he is asking about the new V5...

I checked it out this morning and yes it does have a random function, it plays random from the entire USB.
Hmm, that's pretty cool to know then. And from a couple comments it appears USB stick gets ID# text displayed now as well. v1 didn't do that, so I guess that changed somewhere alon the way.
ZZen330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use