E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 46 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 11-17-2010, 02:16 PM   #81
Flybot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 154
My Ride: E39 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post

Just copy the data.zip file to your main Primo folder replacing the existing one.
Got it working. Thanks for the help. It turns out it was a bad Loading.bmp file (not 800x480). I replaced it with a 800x480 and all is good. Chase provided me with the file fix.





.

Last edited by Flybot; 11-17-2010 at 02:21 PM.
Flybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:03 PM   #82
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejames View Post
I acquired a copy of Primo earlier, but I think it's a generic one as the sys.txt is, well, empty pretty much.

[device]
type="navon_N480"

That's it!

Assuming what I have is a basic (no frills) version, what is the simplest sys.txt I can get away with for a Dynavin e46?

Thanks.
The simplest sys.txt you can get away with is not having one, Primo works fine without one at all as all these sys.txt you see floating around are made up by other people.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:10 PM   #83
thejames
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London
Posts: 96
My Ride: e46 330ci Coupe Auto
Darkoz: Thanks
thejames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 09:33 AM   #84
440films
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 21
My Ride: 2005 X5 4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440films View Post
After muting all sounds except Master and Voice Commands it seems to happen when the entering the freeway and when the different Exits appear on screen as well as when other navigation TTS directions would normally be.
I anyone else getting this issue?
440films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 02:52 PM   #85
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440films View Post
I anyone else getting this issue?
I'm not really sure I understand what issue you're having, can you explain clearly what it is.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 03:14 PM   #86
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440films View Post
After muting all sounds except Master and Voice Commands it seems to happen when the entering the freeway and when the different Exits appear on screen as well as when other navigation TTS directions would normally be

From the Primo thread on the Dynavin forum (thanks to VasilisE):

Just put these lines in your Primo sys.txt


[sound]
ding=0
pause_mp3_sooner=1
queue_length=200
mute_os_key=1
maneuver_chimes=0
sound_muted=1;this one does the trick
voice_muted=0
wheelsound=1
dynamic_volume_type=0
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 11-18-2010 at 03:15 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 04:01 PM   #87
440films
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 21
My Ride: 2005 X5 4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
From the Primo thread on the Dynavin forum (thanks to VasilisE):

Just put these lines in your Primo sys.txt


[sound]
ding=0
pause_mp3_sooner=1
queue_length=200
mute_os_key=1
maneuver_chimes=0
sound_muted=1;this one does the trick
voice_muted=0
wheelsound=1
dynamic_volume_type=0
Thanks. Unfortunately that's already what I have. I think it's an issue with the Skin.
440films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 06:52 PM   #88
440films
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 21
My Ride: 2005 X5 4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
I'm not really sure I understand what issue you're having, can you explain clearly what it is.
I am currently using the Dimka skin for Primo 1.1. I like it because it offers the look of iGo 8.3 but with some of the Primo advancements. When using turn by turn directions I usually turn the audio off. In this case by pressing the little speaker that is on the Map.

Although the Turn by Turn audio is muted whatever is playing in the background (iPod, Radio, etc) drops out periodically for about 2 seconds. Because of the Dynavin (V5) this happens in the front speakers only. I started to notice that the audio drops out when entering a freeway and when highway signs change from offramp to offramp. Every once in a while it drops out when navigation instructions would normally be if I hadn't muted them. This is my current sys.txt

[sound]
ding=0
pause_mp3_sooner=1
queue_length=200
mute_os_key=1
maneuver_chimes=0
sound_muted=1
voice_muted=0
wheelsound=1
dynamic_volume_type=0

[tts]
tts_buffer=131072
announce_exit_directions=1
tts_logics=3
priority="HIGH"
always_say_road_name=1
announce_street_name=1
skip_exit_numbers=0

Last edited by 440films; 11-18-2010 at 06:56 PM.
440films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 07:53 PM   #89
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Have you tried using one of the the default skins to see if it stil happens, if not then you know for sure that it's skin related.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:14 AM   #90
440films
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 21
My Ride: 2005 X5 4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Have you tried using one of the the default skins to see if it stil happens, if not then you know for sure that it's skin related.
I tried this morning. The Default Skin had no issues. But... the GJA v.2.20 skin did. The GJA skin dropped audio out of the front speakers every time (or turn) that voice commands would normally be announced had I not had the speaker button muted.

I know many of you are using the GJA skin. Is no one else having this issue?
440films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 11:48 AM   #91
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
hhhmmmm......thats the skin im using, it did what yours is doing when I first got it but changing those lines in the sys.txt that I mentioned earlier fixed it.....obviously something is different on yours...
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 11-19-2010 at 11:49 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 12:00 PM   #92
440films
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 21
My Ride: 2005 X5 4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
hhhmmmm......thats the skin im using, it did what yours is doing when I first got it but changing those lines in the sys.txt that I mentioned earlier fixed it.....obviously something is different on yours...
Jeff, who's voice are you using? I'm currently using Holly.
440films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 12:03 PM   #93
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,672
My Ride: BMW
same
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 04:33 PM   #94
Flybot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 154
My Ride: E39 528
Anybody have a link for a iGo Primo User Manual? Odd that you cant even get one on there web site.

Edit: Never mind. Found a link here: http://fixmygps.net/forum/showthread...d=9671#pid9671

The above link has most of the same stuff, but I still cant figure out what all the info is along the bottom edge of the screen, like "-DC-"

If anybody finds a better link Id be interested.




.

Last edited by Flybot; 11-19-2010 at 05:04 PM.
Flybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:12 PM   #95
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
That's why I don't use any of these amateur homebrewed skins, too complicated, messy and too much potential for bugs.
__________________

Last edited by Darkoz; 11-19-2010 at 05:13 PM.
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:31 PM   #96
440films
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Granada Hills, CA
Posts: 21
My Ride: 2005 X5 4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
That's why I don't use any of these amateur homebrewed skins, too complicated, messy and too much potential for bugs.
What do you usually use?
440films is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 07:06 PM   #97
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,304
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440films View Post
What do you usually use?
The default skins work well for me so that's what I use.
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 08:39 PM   #98
TRBOVNM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 436
My Ride: 04 330 CI/04 Cobra
Send a message via AIM to TRBOVNM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybot View Post
Anybody have a link for a iGo Primo User Manual? Odd that you cant even get one on there web site.

Edit: Never mind. Found a link here: http://fixmygps.net/forum/showthread...d=9671#pid9671

The above link has most of the same stuff, but I still cant figure out what all the info is along the bottom edge of the screen, like "-DC-"

If anybody finds a better link Id be interested.


.
I posted a link to one on the previous page of this thread I think and I posted it in another thread or two as well.
TRBOVNM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 09:20 PM   #99
immigrant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 563
My Ride: 2001 BMW 330CI
Send a message via MSN to immigrant
Hey is there any way to remove/hide the battery icon that shows up sometimes and also some of the extra stuff on the menu, like picture viewer and music player and a bunch of other stuff.
__________________


FS OEM BLAUPUNKT CD PLAYER (no mode)
FS OEM 330 AIRBOX + NEW AIR FILTER
FS 35W CANBUS BALLASTS (UMNITZA)
FS COMPLETE OEM LIGHTS: FRONT,CORNERS, REAR
FS PEAKE TOOL
FS 2001 LCM
P.M. me for anything you are interested.
immigrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 07:43 AM   #100
Flybot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 154
My Ride: E39 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRBOVNM View Post
I posted a link to one on the previous page of this thread I think and I posted it in another thread or two as well.
Post #72, thanks. That has better graphics than my previous link.
Flybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use