E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 06:51 PM   #1
visions1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
DSC Light w/ used Instrument Cluster

I have a 04/2002 E46 330ci. I put in a used cluster from a 12/2002 E46 330ci convertible. The problem is that both the DSC lights (center and brake) are always on. And the DSC does not function. Everything else works. If I put my old (gauges are dead) cluster back in and drive the car a little to reset the sensors the DCS lights are gone and DSC is working again.

Any advice on what is going on and why this match doesn't work would be greatly appreciated. My VIN is PH00265.
visions1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-24-2011, 07:16 PM   #2
cyberkaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA <-- Ithaca, NY <-- dirty jerz (201) Useful Posts: 25
Posts: 136,484
My Ride: E46 332i,M3;E30 325i
Send a message via ICQ to cyberkaa Send a message via AIM to cyberkaa Send a message via MSN to cyberkaa Send a message via Yahoo to cyberkaa
The DSC module changed around 9/2002 so the cluster probably has to be reprogrammed.
Do you have a tamper dot next to the mileage? Never tried programming when that is present so I don't know if it'll even work. You might have to send it in to a specialist for mileage correction first.
__________________
-Kalim
(klx photo studio)

M3 drive train conversion (S54 Swap, LSD, 6MT, suspension linkage) | UUC Stg 2 Organic Clutch | OEM M-Tech II Kit
KW V2 | BBS GT4 RE | Falken FK452 | Alcon 6-pot 365mm BBK | M3 steering wheel | Powerflex bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven View Post
i'd rather be gapless with no bulge
cyberkaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:47 PM   #3
visions1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
Yes, the manipulation dot is on, as it should be. So from what you wrote, I need a instrument cluster from a 330ci up to 09/2002, w/ same automatic transmission. What about matching the instrument cluster part number exactly? My original cluster part number is (6211-911391).

Using 'http://www.realoem.com/bmw/select.do?vin=PH00265' the used cluster I have with part number (6211-6931276) should also be a match. Or maybe that is only if it's UNCODED?

I just want to avoid having to buy a brand new cluster and repair fees.
visions1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 07:53 PM   #4
iansanderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,778
My Ride: 2001 330CiC
you need to find someone who can manually code the cluster to your car. The manipulation dot will stay on, but at least it should be able to work and allow your DSC to function.
__________________



Cheat Sheet:

GT1/ISIS/MoDiC = Factory authorized diagnostic system used by BMW dealerships across the world.

NCS Expert = BMW Factory R&D programming tool available on the internet (not intended for the public and not available to the dealership network)

OEM = Genuine BMW part only available from a franchised BMW dealership.

DME = Engine Management Computer
iansanderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:01 PM   #5
dimazz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 85
My Ride: 330i
If you have the correct tools, you can program the dsc, mileage and make the tamper dot go away.....
dimazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:03 PM   #6
cyberkaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA <-- Ithaca, NY <-- dirty jerz (201) Useful Posts: 25
Posts: 136,484
My Ride: E46 332i,M3;E30 325i
Send a message via ICQ to cyberkaa Send a message via AIM to cyberkaa Send a message via MSN to cyberkaa Send a message via Yahoo to cyberkaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by visions1 View Post
Yes, the manipulation dot is on, as it should be. So from what you wrote, I need a instrument cluster from a 330ci up to 09/2002, w/ same automatic transmission. What about matching the instrument cluster part number exactly? My original cluster part number is (6211-911391).

Using 'http://www.realoem.com/bmw/select.do?vin=PH00265' the used cluster I have with part number (6211-6931276) should also be a match. Or maybe that is only if it's UNCODED?

I just want to avoid having to buy a brand new cluster and repair fees.
If you were to find a cluster from a 330 up to 9/2002, you would probably have a working DSC. OTOH, the 12/2002 cluster you have now could possibly be reprogrammed. I'm saying "possibly" because I'm not sure if Progman would complain about the VIN and mileage not matching and refuse to code it.
If you get an uncoded cluster, you will be able to get rid of the tamper dot, but it will have to be programmed once it is installed in the car. Any indy with an Autologic or GT1 can do that.
__________________
-Kalim
(klx photo studio)

M3 drive train conversion (S54 Swap, LSD, 6MT, suspension linkage) | UUC Stg 2 Organic Clutch | OEM M-Tech II Kit
KW V2 | BBS GT4 RE | Falken FK452 | Alcon 6-pot 365mm BBK | M3 steering wheel | Powerflex bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven View Post
i'd rather be gapless with no bulge
cyberkaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 08:42 PM   #7
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,978
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Tamper dot cannot be cleared by any tools that plug into the OBDII port. You have to desolder the EEPROM from the cluster and use an external reprogrammer. You can fix the DSC by using NCS Expert... DIS and Progman complain about the VIN not matching and then refuse to recode the module
__________________

Last edited by TerraPhantm; 02-24-2011 at 08:44 PM.
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:03 PM   #8
cyberkaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA <-- Ithaca, NY <-- dirty jerz (201) Useful Posts: 25
Posts: 136,484
My Ride: E46 332i,M3;E30 325i
Send a message via ICQ to cyberkaa Send a message via AIM to cyberkaa Send a message via MSN to cyberkaa Send a message via Yahoo to cyberkaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
You can fix the DSC by using NCS Expert... DIS and Progman complain about the VIN not matching and then refuse to recode the module
Was afraid of that. Out of curiosity, do you know offhand which flag needs to be modified in NCS Expert?
__________________
-Kalim
(klx photo studio)

M3 drive train conversion (S54 Swap, LSD, 6MT, suspension linkage) | UUC Stg 2 Organic Clutch | OEM M-Tech II Kit
KW V2 | BBS GT4 RE | Falken FK452 | Alcon 6-pot 365mm BBK | M3 steering wheel | Powerflex bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven View Post
i'd rather be gapless with no bulge
cyberkaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:06 PM   #9
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,978
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberkaa View Post
Was afraid of that. Out of curiosity, do you know offhand which flag needs to be modified in NCS Expert?
Just recode it using a profile that doesn't have manipulation enabled (standard expert mode works fine). Doing it like that codes the module to the defaults for your car's VO/ZCS. Basically it codes it like DIS/Progman would, except it doesn't complain about VIN
__________________
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:15 PM   #10
visions1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
That makes perfect sense... The last attempt I made was at a indy w/ a Autologic/GT1 and the system didn't even show the DSC fault, leaving no option to reprogram/reset it. Where can I locate NCS Expert?

Thanks!!!!!!!
visions1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:15 PM   #11
cyberkaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA <-- Ithaca, NY <-- dirty jerz (201) Useful Posts: 25
Posts: 136,484
My Ride: E46 332i,M3;E30 325i
Send a message via ICQ to cyberkaa Send a message via AIM to cyberkaa Send a message via MSN to cyberkaa Send a message via Yahoo to cyberkaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
Just recode it using a profile that doesn't have manipulation enabled (standard expert mode works fine). Doing it like that codes the module to the defaults for your car's VO/ZCS. Basically it codes it like DIS/Progman would, except it doesn't complain about VIN
Got it. Thanks.
__________________
-Kalim
(klx photo studio)

M3 drive train conversion (S54 Swap, LSD, 6MT, suspension linkage) | UUC Stg 2 Organic Clutch | OEM M-Tech II Kit
KW V2 | BBS GT4 RE | Falken FK452 | Alcon 6-pot 365mm BBK | M3 steering wheel | Powerflex bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven View Post
i'd rather be gapless with no bulge
cyberkaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:38 PM   #12
visions1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
Does anybody know of any indy or other person in the Pensacola or Destin, FL area with NCS Expert?
visions1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:33 AM   #13
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,978
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberkaa View Post
Got it. Thanks.
And now that I think of it, you should probably also write the proper ZCS/VO to the cluster using the "ZCS_SCHREIBEN" or "FA_WRITE" functions (depending on whether the car has a ZCS or or a VO). Just make sure the module you do the initial read from isn't the cluster.
__________________
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:43 AM   #14
cyberkaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA <-- Ithaca, NY <-- dirty jerz (201) Useful Posts: 25
Posts: 136,484
My Ride: E46 332i,M3;E30 325i
Send a message via ICQ to cyberkaa Send a message via AIM to cyberkaa Send a message via MSN to cyberkaa Send a message via Yahoo to cyberkaa
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
And now that I think of it, you should probably also write the proper ZCS/VO to the cluster using the "ZCS_SCHREIBEN" or "FA_WRITE" functions (depending on whether the car has a ZCS or or a VO). Just make sure the module you do the initial read from isn't the cluster.
That much was obvious.
Thanks!
__________________
-Kalim
(klx photo studio)

M3 drive train conversion (S54 Swap, LSD, 6MT, suspension linkage) | UUC Stg 2 Organic Clutch | OEM M-Tech II Kit
KW V2 | BBS GT4 RE | Falken FK452 | Alcon 6-pot 365mm BBK | M3 steering wheel | Powerflex bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven View Post
i'd rather be gapless with no bulge
cyberkaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 05:09 AM   #15
SweetBMW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 316
My Ride: 318CIA
Check out www.rpmmotorsport.net

the site looks a little tacky but its a serious company, he fixed my ews dme and cluster. i had the same problem and i also needed a used dme to match my original ews. the cost for generic coding is around 150 cad.
__________________
SweetBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 06:21 PM   #16
visions1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 13
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
Any chance a Genesis or Launch will possibly work. I found a indy shop that has that as an option.
visions1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:13 PM   #17
redbull 325is
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 704
My Ride: 325xit/6
Send a message via AIM to redbull 325is
Will an ebay "pa soft" bmw scanner have the ability to also do this? I'm in the same boat
__________________
Royal Elite Club of 6 Speed Tourings - founder
redbull 325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:47 PM   #18
TitaniumCranium
/// Limitless
 
TitaniumCranium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle / Sequim
Posts: 3,216
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetBMW View Post
Check out www.rpmmotorsport.net

the site looks a little tacky but its a serious company, he fixed my ews dme and cluster. i had the same problem and i also needed a used dme to match my original ews. the cost for generic coding is around 150 cad.
I've spoken with this guy at some length on the phone. He used to work for BMW in Germany as a software programmer. He's one of the programmers responsible for the code that's in the DME's our cars use. He know's what's up.
__________________

/// MODS
/// Auto => 6-Spd Manual Conversion | Apex EC-7 | Koni/Ground Control Coilovers | Vorshlag Camber Plates | Meyle HD LCA | PowerFlex bushings | GruppeM rep CAI | Shark Injector | 6000k HID's and Fogs | BMW European MTechII | BMW Performance Shifter | ACS Mirrors and Rear Spoiler ///
TitaniumCranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 02:27 AM   #19
SweetBMW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 316
My Ride: 318CIA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TitaniumCranium View Post
I've spoken with this guy at some length on the phone. He used to work for BMW in Germany as a software programmer. He's one of the programmers responsible for the code that's in the DME's our cars use. He know's what's up.
Yeah I know. I didnt say that the guy was tacky, only that the website might look a little suspicious for people who doesnt know them

But yeah, Zac is a great guy. Always fixed my issues regardless og subject. Quick call and few mins later, problem solved!
__________________
SweetBMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use