E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2004, 02:03 PM   #1
Will ZCPM3
Registered User
 
Will ZCPM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,883
My Ride: ///M3
difference between our ecu's and the the e36 obd's for FI?

Whats so different about the 2 systems and why does it seem so much easier for e36's to run piggyback or change there engine management systems for FI. i guess this is kind of leading back to the age old question why are e46 so hard to tune. is it just a time difference in that the e36 has been out for so much longer?
__________________
Will ZCPM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-15-2004, 10:46 PM   #2
RyE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pleasanton, CA or UCSB
Posts: 203
My Ride: 323Ci
95 and below e36s have OBD I. I think the 96+ E36 and all e46's have OBD II. OBD I was made before the gov. put certain environmental restrictiosn on the engines, thats why theyre so easy to tune.
__________________
RyE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2004, 11:09 PM   #3
ElitistK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 212
My Ride: Lexus GS
most e36 r obd I.....it's HARD to find one with an obd II

this is why e36 m3 is much deadlier than the e46 m3 when it comes to get down dirty with the crazy mods
__________________
ElitistK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 03:51 AM   #4
teamdfl
Slow in, slower out
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Awesome, NJ
Posts: 4,567
My Ride: 325it
The difference is about 12000 lines of code.
__________________
Mod the driver. Participate in your local BMWCCA autocross or driving school. Have you joined BMWCCA yet?

teamdfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 11:58 AM   #5
Will ZCPM3
Registered User
 
Will ZCPM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,883
My Ride: ///M3
any1 know what program is used to re-write the code? not that im trying that, just curious. i was watching rides the other nite and they had a guy who was changes the afr codes, wondered what he used to do it
__________________
Will ZCPM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 04:32 PM   #6
K-DOG
P.I.M.P.
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,463
My Ride: 2002, 330i 5spd
Quote:
Originally Posted by B3AM3R
any1 know what program is used to re-write the code? not that im trying that, just curious. i was watching rides the other nite and they had a guy who was changes the afr codes, wondered what he used to do it
Its not only the code....the difference is that the government made tighter regulations AND added a bunch various sensors etc to the mix. O2 sensor, MAF, all that kind of crap.....with OBDII came a crapload of stuff that needed to be added(not sure which sensors exactly). Before you change the code, you would need to take all that crap out. Its been done on E36's m3's....the so called OBDI conversion, but never on an e46.
__________________
K-DOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2004, 09:58 PM   #7
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,326
My Ride: 2006 GTI
If you are serious about tuning your engine and want to be able to make changes like AFR, timing, fuel maps, etc etc etc get yourself a stand alone ecu and bypass the bmw setup. I am currently looking at a new ecu setup which will allow me to bypass the FPR and MAF all togheter. Not sure if im going to do it yet, I dont want to take my car off the road for another 2 weeks and tare it apart once again.


The system I am looking at is Autronic, this is the engine management software that went into the new shelby
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 08:39 PM   #8
trybaljedi
XXXX
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Floor.i.d.a
Posts: 719
My Ride: XXXX.
Send a message via AIM to trybaljedi
Quote:
Originally Posted by crispvx
If you are serious about tuning your engine and want to be able to make changes like AFR, timing, fuel maps, etc etc etc get yourself a stand alone ecu and bypass the bmw setup. I am currently looking at a new ecu setup which will allow me to bypass the FPR and MAF all togheter. Not sure if im going to do it yet, I dont want to take my car off the road for another 2 weeks and tare it apart once again.


The system I am looking at is Autronic, this is the engine management software that went into the new shelby

Do you know what youre getting yourself into? Cost? Hours upon hours on the dyno?

Last edited by trybaljedi; 01-20-2004 at 08:45 PM.
trybaljedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:02 PM   #9
xS3x
mi casa @ technik
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Taipei
Posts: 6,299
My Ride: 2002 330Ci
Send a message via MSN to xS3x
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roshan
Do you know what youre getting yourself into? Cost? Hours upon hours on the dyno?
it should be interesting to see what he comes up with though..
__________________
xS3x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:21 PM   #10
Will ZCPM3
Registered User
 
Will ZCPM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,883
My Ride: ///M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by xS3x
it should be interesting to see what he comes up with though..
i totally agree, even if it ends up not working, to me it would still be worth the money and time becasue i would have learned something
__________________
Will ZCPM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:24 PM   #11
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,326
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Its totally going to be worth it, well if I do decide to ever swap it out. For now im going to wait for the renn sport software and maybe during the summer I will consider the swap. I know autronic is releasing a new ecu sometime during the spring, another reason to wait

The costs would be 0 as I would do all the work myself.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:37 PM   #12
Will ZCPM3
Registered User
 
Will ZCPM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,883
My Ride: ///M3
how much is the autronic ecu and everything else you need for installation
__________________
Will ZCPM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:39 PM   #13
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,326
My Ride: 2006 GTI
I am estimating total costs to be around 1500.00 when its all done, this is with me doing the install.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 12:53 AM   #14
trybaljedi
XXXX
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Floor.i.d.a
Posts: 719
My Ride: XXXX.
Send a message via AIM to trybaljedi
Quote:
Originally Posted by crispvx
I am estimating total costs to be around 1500.00 when its all done, this is with me doing the install.

who's gonna tune it?
trybaljedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 09:21 AM   #15
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,326
My Ride: 2006 GTI
My friend is the # 4 largest distributor for autronic, thats whos going to tune it.

But like I said before, not sure if this is going to happend. I am going to get the renn sport software first and im sure thats going to please me.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2004, 06:35 PM   #16
trybaljedi
XXXX
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Floor.i.d.a
Posts: 719
My Ride: XXXX.
Send a message via AIM to trybaljedi
I didnt know that your friend was a distributor. Makes much more sense now.

Im sure youll be happy with the RENNsport ECU. At this point, unless youre planning on a turbo..seems like a stand alone is overboard. Either way, props.
trybaljedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use