E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Suspension & Braking

Suspension & Braking
Have some questions about suspension or brake setups for your E46 BMW? Get all your answers here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 07:02 PM   #1
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
Are brake pad sensors necesary?

i am not interested in installing them because i can manually check if my pads are going down on life. will it throw a code by not having them? does the factory put it in ?
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 05-04-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,376
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
you will have a yellow light on the dash telling you to change your pads.
but why not spend 10 and get one
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 08:16 PM   #3
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
you will have a yellow light on the dash telling you to change your pads.
but why not spend 10 and get one
so if i dont have the sensors at all my cel will always be on?
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 08:36 PM   #4
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,376
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
not you cel but a warning light yes.
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:03 PM   #5
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
i dont think i have a warning light n the dash besides the cel do i?
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:10 PM   #6
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,376
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
You would see the break pad warning night
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:12 PM   #7
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
ohh ok so does bmw put sensors on when they do a warrantied brake job?
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:16 PM   #8
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,376
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven747 View Post
ohh ok so does bmw put sensors on when they do a warrantied brake job?
Anytime that light goes on to reset it you must get a new sensor. So yes.
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:17 PM   #9
joneperry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: D(M)V
Posts: 754
My Ride: e46 + S60 + Z
You are only going to have that round brake pad sensor light on http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/att...-dashboard.jpg

all the time, why not just buy a sensor, its about 17 bucks for both, since you only need 2 (one for rear and one for front). It becomes illuminated due to the circuit being broken when the caliper closes when the brake pedal is applied and the sensor wire is cut due to the thickness being low. If you somehow just cut the wire and install close the loop before it gets to the caliper, I dont think it would need to be changed. Its a safety feature and if you sold the car to someone like that then
joneperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:40 PM   #10
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by joneperry View Post
You are only going to have that round brake pad sensor light on http://www.bimmerwerkz.com/forum/att...-dashboard.jpg

all the time, why not just buy a sensor, its about 17 bucks for both, since you only need 2 (one for rear and one for front). It becomes illuminated due to the circuit being broken when the caliper closes when the brake pedal is applied and the sensor wire is cut due to the thickness being low. If you somehow just cut the wire and install close the loop before it gets to the caliper, I dont think it would need to be changed. Its a safety feature and if you sold the car to someone like that then
cool yeah i know what your saying but the way i see it is that i visually inspect my pads once a month and like currently i just purchased a brake package from bimmerworld and i believe i still have 30 to 40 percent left on the pads so ill never get to minimums like that

thanks every1 question answered
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 06:03 PM   #11
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
wwait 1 more questione if i change out my pads before it triggers the brake wear sensor i can use it again correct and it wont go pbad until the thickness of a set of pads goes below minimuns.. so reletively speaking you could change out 10 pairs of pads at 30% and still have the same senosrs?

i promise last question
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:08 PM   #12
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,376
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven747 View Post
wwait 1 more questione if i change out my pads before it triggers the brake wear sensor i can use it again correct and it wont go pbad until the thickness of a set of pads goes below minimuns.. so reletively speaking you could change out 10 pairs of pads at 30% and still have the same senosrs?

i promise last question
Yup! but why not buy the 5 dollar sensor and use your pads completely?
http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E46-325...448/:thumbsup:
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 07:15 PM   #13
Steven747
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,375
My Ride: 05 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Yup! but why not buy the 5 dollar sensor and use your pads completely?
http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E46-325...448/:thumbsup:
just for this time because my rotors are dust and i was under warranty and they replaced the pads but not rotors so im just going to jump into some stoptech pads which the stock paads have a little more than 35% left so im just going to reuse the sensors...? wouldent that just make sense? and do you think i could sell some used pads like that for like 30 bucks lol thanks alot man you really cleared up some questiones about the sensors
__________________
Steven747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use