E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-28-2011, 12:01 PM   #1
redbull 325is
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 699
My Ride: 325xit/6
Send a message via AIM to redbull 325is
DIY Gauge Cluster Swapping: Mileage & DSC light Fix (M35080 Chip)

Hey,
I had an issue with the gas gauge and the led display in my '01 325xi wagon.

I picked up a used cluster form a junk yard only to find that it triggered the manipulation dot and set off the DSC/ABS system.

I knew I could fix the DSC light with NCS Expert but I wanted to adjust the mileage so the car wouldn't be a true mileage unknown vehicle when I went to get it inspected next year.
I did a lot of research, bought some pointless scan tools and basically figured out that my M35080 chip equipped cluster couldn't be reprogrammed over the odb2 port. I bit the bullet and pulled apart the bad cluster:

Pulled off the needles and found the M35080
De-soldered the chip and re-soldered it on the new replacement cluster

and VOILA!


Notes:
-still need a windshield wiper tank, lol
-This is a pita to do so find someone who is good with a soldering iron and has done this sort of work
-OE cluster was Motormeter and replacement was Bosch.. everything seems to work as it should
-Take care of when you pull your needles to make sure you can put them in the exact right spot

__________________
Royal Elite Club of 6 Speed Tourings - founder

Last edited by redbull 325is; 06-28-2011 at 09:22 PM.
redbull 325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-28-2011, 12:20 PM   #2
omarmarji
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: scottsdale az yonkers ny
Posts: 415
My Ride: E36 332i
very smart.. you should have circled which chip you took out, so it'll be easier for other DIYer's to do.. great thread tho
omarmarji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 12:34 PM   #3
redbull 325is
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 699
My Ride: 325xit/6
Send a message via AIM to redbull 325is
Quote:
Originally Posted by omarmarji View Post
very smart.. you should have circled which chip you took out, so it'll be easier for other DIYer's to do.. great thread tho
oops.. well it looks like this
__________________
Royal Elite Club of 6 Speed Tourings - founder
redbull 325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:09 PM   #4
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
So the mileage went up to match the car? How long did you drive around like that? I thought 60miles or more difference between the cluster and DME triggered the tamper dot also.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:29 PM   #5
Nervous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 1,483
My Ride: 01 330CI 6MT ZSP EU3
He transferred the memory chip with the mileage.
Nervous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 02:20 PM   #6
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nervous View Post
He transferred the memory chip with the mileage.
I understand this. My question was about the difference in the mileage of the DME and original EPROM.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 08:03 PM   #7
redbull 325is
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NC
Posts: 699
My Ride: 325xit/6
Send a message via AIM to redbull 325is
about 200ish miles
__________________
Royal Elite Club of 6 Speed Tourings - founder

Last edited by redbull 325is; 06-28-2011 at 09:20 PM.
redbull 325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 10:11 AM   #8
BMW_Knight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,963
My Ride: STG2 ZHP,E70 X5(DD)
Send a message via ICQ to BMW_Knight Send a message via AIM to BMW_Knight
I wonder if this can be done on a non-m to M cluster?
__________________

Thanks to: www.getbmwparts.com www.aatuning.com www.toyotires.com
Eurowerkz Mid-Atlantic Regional Director
Join the Eurowerkz Facebook Fan Site : Click Here
Need your car coded with Euro Options? (Remote Windows up, Corner delete, DRL off, etc.) PM Me
BMW_Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 01:58 PM   #9
Scott87
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 590
My Ride: 325ci 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
I understand this. My question was about the difference in the mileage of the DME and original EPROM.
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.

As for the mileage, all items that store mileage readings are updated to meet the highest reading in the system. Your keys actually store the odometer reading too, if you give them to the counter at BMW they can read it off. A key may not be used for months, as soon as you put it in it takes the highest mileage reading. This is one of the problems of buying a new cluster if you are going to recode it. The mileage has to be less than your current one (or you have to have it programmed BEFORE you connect to the car).

If you plug it in and it updates the system with a higher mileage you then would need to get all the modules recoded.
Scott87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:47 AM   #10
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mountain Top
Posts: 5,903
My Ride: 2005 M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW_Knight View Post
I wonder if this can be done on a non-m to M cluster?
Probably not in the case of the E46. The software is fairly different between the M and non-M clusters. If it does work, I would imagine the speedo and tacho scales would be off, the rev lights wouldn't work, and the oil temp gauge would act like an mpg gauge.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott87 View Post
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.

As for the mileage, all items that store mileage readings are updated to meet the highest reading in the system. Your keys actually store the odometer reading too, if you give them to the counter at BMW they can read it off. A key may not be used for months, as soon as you put it in it takes the highest mileage reading. This is one of the problems of buying a new cluster if you are going to recode it. The mileage has to be less than your current one (or you have to have it programmed BEFORE you connect to the car).

If you plug it in and it updates the system with a higher mileage you then would need to get all the modules recoded.
In my experience, the car doesn't increment the mileage unless the VINs match. So unless you change the VIN without changing the mileage, there shouldn't be much issue.

Also for anyone intending to do the chip swap, make sure the clusters are the same software number.
__________________

Last edited by TerraPhantm; 07-12-2011 at 06:51 AM.
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:22 PM   #11
CrazyOneToo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Smith, Arkansas
Posts: 222
My Ride: 1999 328i 4dr
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott87 View Post
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.

As for the mileage, all items that store mileage readings are updated to meet the highest reading in the system. Your keys actually store the odometer reading too, if you give them to the counter at BMW they can read it off. A key may not be used for months, as soon as you put it in it takes the highest mileage reading. This is one of the problems of buying a new cluster if you are going to recode it. The mileage has to be less than your current one (or you have to have it programmed BEFORE you connect to the car).

If you plug it in and it updates the system with a higher mileage you then would need to get all the modules recoded.
Sorry but I am confused. I have a 1999 E46 328i Sedan. I need to change my cluster out due to some plastic being broken on the inside. The reset button and the clock settings both have the tabs broken off and also the round plastic that holds the striker stalk in place on the clock side is broken. I can set the clock but thats it. As for the other side its useless for resetting or running any tests. I attempted the DIY tab fix I found here somewhere but with the other damage included it seems I need a diffrent cluster. Can I just buy a used one and hook it to my car? I see them on eBay and ECS tuning sells them. The dealer will be waaaaaay higher and will make me code it I imagine. I also thought of maybe trying to get one and switching the chips via a local computer shop. Now I am unsure on what all is involved.

Thanks
Alan
__________________



1999 328i E46 with a M52TU - 2002 X5 E53 3.0i with a M54

AutohausAZ.com/

CrazyOneToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 02:18 PM   #12
GBinSB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 19
My Ride: 2001 325Ti
has anyone run into this problem with the wagon with the Euro lights? I have rear fog lights on my 2001 325iT. Both knobs are broken and I want to replace the cluster. I am concerned that the new cluster wont work properly because I have the euro rear foglights and switches. Any advice?
GBinSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 05:47 PM   #13
zooter2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 89
My Ride: 2002 330i
i wanted to check to see if redbull ever had any problems with this after he put a few miles on now?
zooter2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 07:57 AM   #14
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott87 View Post
When the chip was moved over from the original cluster the chassis number would match up, that is what triggers the tamper dot. A difference in odometer readings wouldn't.




EDIT: It looks like the temporary IKE takes over above 120 miles and the LCM updates the original cluster when they are reunited.

Last edited by Arty; 01-02-2012 at 08:01 AM.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 09:09 AM   #15
zooter2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 89
My Ride: 2002 330i
so to be clear, if you change chips and the new chip has lower milage, in about 120 miles the odo will change the to the highest reading in any memory? and your tamper dot will come on too? is this correct?

example, my car has 110k and i buy a new cluster with 90k and swap the chip in the speedo, my speedo will now read 90k until i drive 120 miles and then the odo will change to 110k and my tamper dot will light up? is this what happen to redbull? thats what im asking

i can live with a tamper dot, i just dont want to buy used cluster with 175k on it and my can change to that..
zooter2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 02:53 PM   #16
mvitale27
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 211
My Ride: '02 330xi
sorry to dig up an old thread but my current cluster has a tamper dot and a few missing LEDs so is there any fix for this besides buying a brand new cluster and having it coded by the dealer? ($$$)
mvitale27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:41 AM   #17
mvitale27
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 211
My Ride: '02 330xi
anyone?
mvitale27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 02:44 AM   #18
glhx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 710
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
From what it says you do have to buy a new cluster and have a used one re coded to the car. Unless you can set the cluster to o miles or within 120 miles...also the vin has to match which can be recoded.... I think instead of having a dealer recode you can buy a pa soft that will recode it for you and do many other things...like roll down windows with the key and do any diagnostics including abs and air bag...plug and play direct from china for $30...as for the indicator lights...they are led and can possibly be re soldered

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=755156
to replace leds....this was for the gauge lights...

if anyone knows different list some details and a diy....i would like some specific information on recoding the ike and the abs module....using pa soft or ncs expert....i particularly want to know about abs recoding

Last edited by glhx; 02-15-2012 at 03:09 AM.
glhx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 12:41 PM   #19
mvitale27
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 211
My Ride: '02 330xi
i realize replacing the LEDs can be done simply by buying new LEDs and soldering them in place. but since my tamper dot is already on (possible that the cluster was replaced with a used one by PO?), buying a used cluster and transferring my chip probably wont do me any good. it looks like a need a brand new cluster (~$650) and having it coded or coding it myself
mvitale27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 11:23 AM   #20
glhx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 710
My Ride: 2002 BMW 330ci
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...php?t=1402839. ....you can rewrite the mileage and change the vin

look at this http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=755156

he said he broke his first cluster...bought a new set and had it recoded to the car....maybe he knows...for what he paid it couldnt have been new....

i have pa soft and i know it codes ike....I know it resets mileage on some chips, but not the m35080...i just got it and used it to read codes...it was like $40....and for what it does thats a steal...i know it will change the vin on the cluster to the vin on the body. the next post has a device that sets the mileage to zero....i know there is something that will remove the tamper dot...dont know what yet

Last edited by glhx; 02-17-2012 at 10:22 PM.
glhx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsc, gauge cluster, m35080, manipulation dot, swap

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use