E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-02-2011, 10:56 PM   #21
reyes186
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: atlanta
Posts: 485
My Ride: e46
i have a cd changer in the back but i don't have a cd player i have a cassette player ! would it still work for me ? pls let me know i want to do this this weekend !!
__________________
reyes186 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:32 AM   #22
PTPMotorsports
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 18
My Ride: 330Ci 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by reyes186 View Post
i have a cd changer in the back but i don't have a cd player i have a cassette player ! would it still work for me ? pls let me know i want to do this this weekend !!
Exactly the same system I have and works perfectly!!

Go for it
PTPMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:23 AM   #23
9deuce9rr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 63
My Ride: 99 323i, 66 Chevelle
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeezyx3 View Post
I've been reviewing this DIY and am going to tackle it this weekend, however I am just slightly confused as what exactly the "connectors" are as quoted above.
I didn't read of any connecting of connectors throughout the DIY except when OP stated the quote below.


can someone perhaps post a picture so I know exactly what it is I'm looking for.


also, how is it that these connections are connected together? and where did the yellow connector come from? I thought that the red and white connectors were cut off in step one to obtain the red, white, and bare wires. Because following the headphone jack connector wire, it looks like it leads up to the red and white cables that i thought were cut off.



this seems so simple, why am I sooo confused
sorry, haven't been on for a while and saw this thread get bumped from out of nowhere.

The connectors i was talking about are these:


And thanks to the last poster for the quick drawing to show how it's done.

As for the Blaupunkt CD unit, I'm not sure, I just have the casette business unit
__________________
9deuce9rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:33 PM   #24
PTPMotorsports
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 18
My Ride: 330Ci 2001
In my case connected the direct cables (without connectors) and covered it with Thermofit and lots of tape... Not planning on going back to hear CD's again ever so theres no point on using quick connectors.

Thanks for the DIY again.
PTPMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 10:20 PM   #25
reyes186
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: atlanta
Posts: 485
My Ride: e46
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTPMotorsports View Post
Exactly the same system I have and works perfectly!!

Go for it
Thanks I will !!!
__________________
reyes186 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 01:35 PM   #26
chorizo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: lost Angels
Posts: 858
My Ride: E3SIXXX///
i dont have the cd changer or mode button
so this wont work with i belive
__________________
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhibbard View Post
can i swap a 3.0 out of a bmw 2002 325 into a 1997 528 series
chorizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:27 PM   #27
spartanz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 62
My Ride: 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by chorizo View Post
i dont have the cd changer or mode button
so this wont work with i belive
Ditto ...
any suggestion OP ?
__________________
spartanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 03:10 PM   #28
SHOoff11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 260
My Ride: 2006 Honda Civic Si
I have the same question as the two people above me...any update?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDSKTR
You drive a BMW. That means you make $600,000 a year and date supermodels without pointy elbows or hairy arms. Need I say more?

2006 Honda Civic Si Coupe Nighthawk Black Pearl/Black
1983 BMW 733i 5MT Schwartz/Cardinal


1995 Silver Frost/Gray Taurus SHO (sold)

1999 BMW 328i Sedan Alpine White/Sand (sold)
SHOoff11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 05:31 PM   #29
9deuce9rr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 63
My Ride: 99 323i, 66 Chevelle
my head unit doesn't have the 'mode' button, but rather the 'am/fm/cd' buttons.
However, i think the cd changer is necessary, to trick the receiver into thinking it's playing the CD's, allowing it to go into CD mode.
Without the changer, I'm really not sure how you could pull it off.
Anybody else have any idea?
__________________
9deuce9rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 12:14 AM   #30
reyes186
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: atlanta
Posts: 485
My Ride: e46
it work for me but the sound quality is not good !!
__________________
reyes186 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:43 PM   #31
9deuce9rr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 63
My Ride: 99 323i, 66 Chevelle
What about yours doesn't sound good? Could be your connections somewhere? Mind sounds just as good/better than my CDs did
First round trying this, sound quality was terrible, so i re-did everything and it worked great. Assuming one or more of my connections just wasn't very solid
__________________
9deuce9rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 12:51 PM   #32
SHOoff11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 260
My Ride: 2006 Honda Civic Si
So it is possible with the older CD players?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDSKTR
You drive a BMW. That means you make $600,000 a year and date supermodels without pointy elbows or hairy arms. Need I say more?

2006 Honda Civic Si Coupe Nighthawk Black Pearl/Black
1983 BMW 733i 5MT Schwartz/Cardinal


1995 Silver Frost/Gray Taurus SHO (sold)

1999 BMW 328i Sedan Alpine White/Sand (sold)
SHOoff11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 01:45 PM   #33
zsp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 188
My Ride: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOoff11 View Post
So it is possible with the older CD players?
Yep, it's possible with all CD players AFAIK.
zsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 02:48 PM   #34
KohbraxE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dallas texas
Posts: 408
My Ride: E46 328i
instead of using the Cd changer in the trunk. Can i just use the pre wire? the sedans come pre,wired don't they?
__________________
KohbraxE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 05:15 PM   #35
SHOoff11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 260
My Ride: 2006 Honda Civic Si
One more noob question. I have the Business CD player, but if I were to hook all of this up via the CD changer wiring harness, how can I switch between my regular CD and my changer (ipod)?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDSKTR
You drive a BMW. That means you make $600,000 a year and date supermodels without pointy elbows or hairy arms. Need I say more?

2006 Honda Civic Si Coupe Nighthawk Black Pearl/Black
1983 BMW 733i 5MT Schwartz/Cardinal


1995 Silver Frost/Gray Taurus SHO (sold)

1999 BMW 328i Sedan Alpine White/Sand (sold)
SHOoff11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 06:53 PM   #36
zsp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 188
My Ride: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by KohbraxE46 View Post
instead of using the Cd changer in the trunk. Can i just use the pre wire? the sedans come pre,wired don't they?
I'm not sure, to be honest. The way I understand it, cars that are prewired have the wires but not an actual CD changer. If you have a CD changer, that's where you get the wires from.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOoff11 View Post
One more noob question. I have the Business CD player, but if I were to hook all of this up via the CD changer wiring harness, how can I switch between my regular CD and my changer (ipod)?
You can't. You unplug cables from your CD changer in the trunk, cut them up, and plug them into your iPod. Your iPod replaces your CD changer. If you have the Business CD player, you should have a CD player in your head unit that holds 1 CD. You can still use that.
zsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 03:27 PM   #37
SHOoff11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 260
My Ride: 2006 Honda Civic Si
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsp View Post
You can't. You unplug cables from your CD changer in the trunk, cut them up, and plug them into your iPod. Your iPod replaces your CD changer. If you have the Business CD player, you should have a CD player in your head unit that holds 1 CD. You can still use that.
I understand that, how can I toggle between the Ipod hookup and my indash CD player?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDSKTR
You drive a BMW. That means you make $600,000 a year and date supermodels without pointy elbows or hairy arms. Need I say more?

2006 Honda Civic Si Coupe Nighthawk Black Pearl/Black
1983 BMW 733i 5MT Schwartz/Cardinal


1995 Silver Frost/Gray Taurus SHO (sold)

1999 BMW 328i Sedan Alpine White/Sand (sold)
SHOoff11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 09:15 PM   #38
zsp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norcal
Posts: 188
My Ride: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHOoff11 View Post
I understand that, how can I toggle between the Ipod hookup and my indash CD player?
Sorry for the late response, but you just press the CD button on the HU. Pressing it switches between your in-dash CD player and your CD player in the trunk (which if you did this DIY, would be your iPod).
zsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:38 AM   #39
vitalik-seattle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2004 M3
Hey I have the mode button and I got a cassete player but someone stole my changer from the back before i bought the car =( so i just got all the wires hanging there but no changer itself.. Could i still do it somehow or changer is necessary???
vitalik-seattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 03:56 PM   #40
SHOoff11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 260
My Ride: 2006 Honda Civic Si
Payday is tomorrow, I can't wait to do this!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDSKTR
You drive a BMW. That means you make $600,000 a year and date supermodels without pointy elbows or hairy arms. Need I say more?

2006 Honda Civic Si Coupe Nighthawk Black Pearl/Black
1983 BMW 733i 5MT Schwartz/Cardinal


1995 Silver Frost/Gray Taurus SHO (sold)

1999 BMW 328i Sedan Alpine White/Sand (sold)
SHOoff11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use