E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-27-2009, 05:37 PM   #1
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
Trunk Lid Lock Actuator

Hello all

My trunk will 20% of the time not unlock, and another 30% of the time will not latch when closeing. Does this mean I need a new Trunk lock actuator? What part/part number do I need to order?

Update:


This is what I needed to order, part 9 ($45)

http://www.trademotion.com/partlocat...layCatalogid=0

Last edited by Toad21; 03-08-2009 at 05:15 PM.
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-27-2009, 06:33 PM   #2
330ciandr6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: .
Posts: 6,605
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to 330ciandr6 Send a message via Yahoo to 330ciandr6
trunk latch...but i've heard sometimes there are shorted wires in the boot between the trunk and the body...
__________________
Have a oil or coolant leak? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...732&highlight=
ABS/DSC/Brake/Airbag light on?? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...648&highlight=
330ciandr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 07:08 PM   #3
scottjoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 2,061
My Ride: '99 323i & '02 540i
Quote: "On a side note, I am getting new Door Lock Actuators for both sides. I am placing the order soon and thought I should replace this while I am at it."

Why are you replacing the door lock actuators? Doors won't unlock? Could be a GM5 problem.

Last edited by scottjoh; 03-07-2009 at 11:32 PM.
scottjoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 07:41 PM   #4
canaryM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 676
My Ride: is strong like bull
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottjoh View Post
Why are you replacing the door lock actuators? Doors won't unlock? Could be a GM5 problem.
I actually have the same problem and I changed my GM5 not too long ago (not because of the trunk issue). Door locks and windows are fine. I doubt that's the problem.
__________________

///Sport Package | Nav | Park Distance Control | LED tails
///M3 Lip spoiler | Adaptive Xenons | 62 LED Angel Eyes
canaryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 09:00 PM   #5
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
I am still looking for what part to purchase. The electronic lock actuator for the trunk lock needs to be replaced, can anyone help?

I have found this, but I am sure its what I need (part #9 latch)

http://www.trademotion.com/partlocat...layCatalogid=0

Last edited by Toad21; 03-08-2009 at 01:30 PM.
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 09:05 PM   #6
mkodama
Registered User
 
mkodama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33,171
Have you ever greased your trunk latch? Also I would check to make sure the trunk seal is pressed down all the way. If the trunk seal isn't pushed down all the way, it means you have to close the trunk extra hard and it makes it harder to open the trunk. Try putting your key in the keyhole and turning counterclockwise. It shouldn't require much force to manually unlatch the trunk.
__________________

mkodama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 10:12 PM   #7
maxboost83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 81
My Ride: 2002 BMW 325Ci
i got a question about the trunk door actuator. when u use the key to remotely unlock the trunk, is it supposed to pop up on its own?
maxboost83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 10:21 PM   #8
canaryM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 676
My Ride: is strong like bull
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxboost83 View Post
i got a question about the trunk door actuator. when u use the key to remotely unlock the trunk, is it supposed to pop up on its own?
Yes.
__________________

///Sport Package | Nav | Park Distance Control | LED tails
///M3 Lip spoiler | Adaptive Xenons | 62 LED Angel Eyes
canaryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 10:35 PM   #9
330CI_DROOLER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 92
My Ride: bimmer?
I have the same exact problem, when I close it it doesn't close properly and I get the light on the dash that its open. When I press the open trunk button next to the driver's seat, it locks the trunk and the light goes away. I've learned to live with it since I dont use the trunk much.
330CI_DROOLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 10:40 PM   #10
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by canaryM View Post
Yes.

Ok my trunk does not auto pop up either. Someone please be kind and help me find out what part I need. I have tried greasing the lock itself, it moves freely, it is the electronic motor actuator that is bad as far as I can tell.

Help!!
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 09:48 AM   #11
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
anyone?
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 12:23 PM   #12
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
Well I just ordered the one in the link above, I hope its the right one!
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 02:27 AM   #13
amowolves
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 46
My Ride: 330ci
i have the same problem....

I've sent the car back to the dealership twice already with regards to the boot release not working properly. when i press the boot release button on the remote i can hear locking the mechanism clunking away but it doesnt release the boot unless i tug on it at the same time. and then when i go to close it, i have to press the unlock button on the remote again otherwise it doesnt shut.

now theyve had it back twice and each time theyve said theyve changed a part but they look like the same parts to me, so im wondering if they even bothered. Im sure they probably only adjusted the metal plate that the latch hooks onto as it looks slight;y out of place? it looks like its designed to be adjusted as theres two screws covered by plastic clips?

any ideas, shud i try adjusting the latch plate or should i just ring em up again?

Thanks in advance

Amo
amowolves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 09:06 PM   #14
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
I should have the new Trunk Latch Actuator peice, linked above, on monday then i will post how the install goes. I have yet to find a DYI for this, since I have replaced the door lock actuators myself, I am sure I will figure it out and probably write up a DYI.
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 01:29 PM   #15
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
So I took out the trunk lock actuator last night and it was the easiest thing to do probably why there is no DIY.

I do have a question for you gentleman though:

So the trunk is supposed to auto open when you press the unlock trunk button? If it just unlocks and does not pop up it must be the struts are not powerful enough anymore correct?
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2009, 12:24 PM   #16
Toad21
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Normal IL
Posts: 893
My Ride: 00' 328CI
So I replaced the Trunk Lock Actuator last night, and that was the culprit! Now my trunk opens and closes every single time.

FYI, i will upload picture later tonight.
Toad21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 07:34 AM   #17
ComCool
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 79
My Ride: 330CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toad21 View Post
So I replaced the Trunk Lock Actuator last night, and that was the culprit! Now my trunk opens and closes every single time.

FYI, i will upload picture later tonight.
Does the trunk now auto open? When I press they remote to open the trunk, my trunk just unlocks and relocks. I have to pull the trunk while pressing the remote to make it open.
__________________
Best Regards
Dennis
ComCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use