E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 39 votes, 4.69 average. Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 03:32 PM   #41
El Polo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 461
My Ride: 99 black 328i
I will take a screenshot tonight. Yeah I don't think my anti-theft system is from bmw. But could it change the SRS module behavior?

Sorry if this post doesn't make sense. I am writing on a cell phone.
El Polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:36 PM   #42
JSanders
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,377
My Ride: Breaks too often
This is awesome! Can't wait to try it out.
__________________
JSanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 04:49 PM   #43
Ripwinder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 2
My Ride: BMW 328ci
Help

Hi Guys,

I have a 16 pin to usb cable. I have managed to get INPA working and can speak to the engine and auto box plus view real-time stats but can't seem to connect to any of the other modules in the car. My car is a 99 328ci. Do I need to purchase a 16 to 20 pin adapter and connect via the 20 pin?

I also can connect to the car with DIS SSS but both fail to read the actual data from the car.

Cheers,

Liam.
Ripwinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:23 AM   #44
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
If you have a 20 pin socket, you MUST use it to read all modules. That's the rule.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 11:51 AM   #45
markob
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: EU
Posts: 1
My Ride: Z3Q
Hello,

i have bmw scanner 1.36 with interface and Ediabus with interface(inpa compatible), USB to serial adapter cable and obdII and 20pin cable for newer cars.

I need ADS interface for my Z3 with 20pin connector, so can i modify any of mentioned two interfaces to be like ADS interface as i saw on the internet they have interfaces with knob witch is use to choose between OBDII or ADS mode so i assume that inside of interface it can select betwen different pins or something similar?

I use this two interfaces for e46 and other but i would be glad if i can use it also on e36 and older. For e36 i ned kkl, so i just conect with extra wire a 16# pin form 20 pin conector and 1# pin at the obdII 16 pin conector, this is for batt+? I read that this 16# pin is only for autodetect that without INPA still work, on the other side i also read that without 16#pin INPA wont start the readings.
So i wire this two pins between obdII and 20pin conector and with obdII ediabas interface INPA will work for e36 cars and older?

So i have
-BMW scanner 1.3.6 with interface
-OBDII Ediabas (it says "inpa compatible")
-USB to serial cable (virtual COM port)
-ADS (20 pin)connector on one side and on the other side is male 16pin connector that connect to ediabas obdII female connector and obdII ediabas conect to USB to serial cable and than trough USB to computer.


Please if someone has DIY link with pictures that i can use to build/modify this two interfaces i allready have.

On this picture is my tools that you can see inside what they look like


In EDIABAS interface a see that pin 15 is not conected to PCB

Last edited by markob; 10-14-2011 at 11:57 AM.
markob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 08:29 PM   #46
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
do i need the 20 pin connector to align the egs?
With progman?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 08:46 PM   #47
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
If you have a 20 pin socket, you MUST use it to read all modules. That's the rule.
Damn


Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:14 AM   #48
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideracer69 View Post
do i need the 20 pin connector to align the egs?
With progman?
The DME and EGS are available from the 16 pin connector always.

Quote:
If you have a 20 pin socket, you MUST use it to read all modules. That's the rule.
Some modules (DME, EGS) are on the 16 pin socket.

Last edited by Arty; 10-17-2011 at 02:15 AM.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:19 AM   #49
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by markob View Post
I need ADS interface for my Z3 with 20pin connector, so can i modify any of mentioned two interfaces to be like ADS interface as i saw on the internet they have interfaces with knob witch is use to choose between OBDII or ADS mode so i assume that inside of interface it can select betwen different pins or something similar?
I don't think you can do that. Read this to understand what an ADS hardware interface does.

http://www.bimmerforums.co.uk/forum/...rfaces-t85191/
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 09:48 AM   #50
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
The DME and EGS are available from the 16 pin connector always.



Some modules (DME, EGS) are on the 16 pin socket.
Well I tried getting in there with progman and it wouldn't let me. But then I go to my 01 e46 that just has the 16 pin obd2, and i can use progman fine. Is there another way to align the stuff without using progman,or dis? I gotta do a little searching.


Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 03:08 PM   #51
kuksul08
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: California
Posts: 2,108
My Ride: M3
Have you heard of anyone using the AutoEnginuity cable and the INPA software?

Also, what kind of sampling rates do you see with INPA on an E46? With AutoEnginuity I see ~100-300ms with one sensor, and upwards of 1000ms when reading multiple sensors. The program is supposed to be capable of 1ms, so I assume it is a limitation of the CAN. Yes/no?
__________________

Look at that subtle jet-black coloring. The tasteful thickness of it. Oh my God, it even has a 6mt.
S54 Valve Adjustment Spreadsheet & Info: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/28231781/S54...ent%20info.zip
S54 VANOS DIY Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SkT2j3jsU0
kuksul08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 05:05 PM   #52
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideracer69 View Post
Well I tried getting in there with progman and it wouldn't let me. But then I go to my 01 e46 that just has the 16 pin obd2, and i can use progman fine. Is there another way to align the stuff without using progman,or dis? I gotta do a little searching.


Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
I don't understand the issue you are trying to present.

If you have the 20 pin socket, you must use it to access all modules unless you want to pull the binnacle and add wires.
If you have the 16 pin socket only then short pins 7&8 on your adapter to access all modules.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuksul08 View Post
Have you heard of anyone using the AutoEnginuity cable and the INPA software?

Also, what kind of sampling rates do you see with INPA on an E46? With AutoEnginuity I see ~100-300ms with one sensor, and upwards of 1000ms when reading multiple sensors. The program is supposed to be capable of 1ms, so I assume it is a limitation of the CAN. Yes/no?
The baud rate is 9600 and half duplex.

The data comes in hex in up to 32 byte messages. Throughput is a serious limitation.

Later cars (2007+) went to K-CAN at 100kbaud and 500kbaud for faster firmware updates and messaging.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 07:40 PM   #53
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arty View Post
I don't understand the issue you are trying to present.

If you have the 20 pin socket, you must use it to access all modules unless you want to pull the binnacle and add wires.
If you have the 16 pin socket only then short pins 7&8 on your adapter to access all modules.
The baud rate is 9600 and half duplex.

The data comes in hex in up to 32 byte messages. Throughput is a serious limitation.

Later cars (2007+) went to K-CAN at 100kbaud and 500kbaud for faster firmware updates and messaging.
Thanks for the info. At the time I didn't have the 20 adapter available to me. But i just got it in.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 09:33 PM   #54
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Another question. I messed up and ordered the cable the has the serial end, instead of going to the obd2. Attached is a pic of how the inside of the 20pin cable looks. Would it be possible to feed the three wire into the obd2 plug with some pins? And to which pins?

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1320460418117.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	100.0 KB
ID:	423910  
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:46 AM   #55
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystert View Post
I have Inpa, DIS, and SSS all running on 64bit Windows 7, if only NCS Expert would run ona 64 bit machine!
Hi I got a cable from eBay an it came with all the software but inpa won't work on my 64bit system. Says an error about not working on 64 bit. Should I download another version ???? I can send screenshot if that's any help.
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 05:20 AM   #56
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi0112 View Post
Hi I got a cable from eBay an it came with all the software but inpa won't work on my 64bit system. Says an error about not working on 64 bit. Should I download another version ???? I can send screenshot if that's any help.
Try downloading the software from the interwebz. And also running compatibility mode for INPA.


Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 12:19 PM   #57
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
just thought i would ask and apologise if all ready asked, but is there a one system software that i can get and install just to read fault codes and reset service lights, the ediabas,inpa,sss,tis all seem to be such a challenge to understand and install and different things ot set and enable..i used to have an Audi A6 and had a system called VCDS with a cable, it was simple to use just install and run and connect to car plug, and in reckon a child could easily understand how to use it..now i have a BMW i have trawled through a lot of stuff and am really very confused..

Any help would be appreciated
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 01:06 PM   #58
darksideracer69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: TX
Posts: 2,886
My Ride: 01 325ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi0112 View Post
just thought i would ask and apologise if all ready asked, but is there a one system software that i can get and install just to read fault codes and reset service lights, the ediabas,inpa,sss,tis all seem to be such a challenge to understand and install and different things ot set and enable..i used to have an Audi A6 and had a system called VCDS with a cable, it was simple to use just install and run and connect to car plug, and in reckon a child could easily understand how to use it..now i have a BMW i have trawled through a lot of stuff and am really very confused..

Any help would be appreciated
How do you find inpa difficult? I think it's easy to use. There are other programs for bmw that are a lot harder to use.

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax View Post
If she ever yells 'oh god, oh god' just say, 'no, just Doug.'


IMAG02051
darksideracer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 03:10 AM   #59
Arty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,030
My Ride: 1999 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideracer69 View Post
Another question. I messed up and ordered the cable the has the serial end, instead of going to the obd2. Attached is a pic of how the inside of the 20pin cable looks. Would it be possible to feed the three wire into the obd2 plug with some pins? And to which pins?

Sent from my SGH-T959V using Bimmer
Have you got the female OBD2 connector? If so just connect OBD2.7 to TxD and TxD2. EDIT: and hook up the Power and GND too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi0112 View Post
just thought i would ask and apologise if all ready asked, but is there a one system software that i can get and install just to read fault codes and reset service lights, the ediabas,inpa,sss,tis all seem to be such a challenge to understand and install and different things ot set and enable..i used to have an Audi A6 and had a system called VCDS with a cable, it was simple to use just install and run and connect to car plug, and in reckon a child could easily understand how to use it..now i have a BMW i have trawled through a lot of stuff and am really very confused..

Any help would be appreciated
You need INPA and EDIABAS as a bare minimum.

INPA is the program that talks to the car.
EDIABAS is a tiny program that shares the COM port out to several programs when needed.

Follow the guide in post #1.
Arty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 01:40 PM   #60
rossi0112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United kingdom
Posts: 31
My Ride: Black 328 CI
it still copmes up with error when i install inpa and try to run it not compatible with my system i.e 64 bit, i have put it in compatibily mode..maybe i should start it all over..all i want to do is reset my service indicator and read any faults my car has, not bothered about programming and further in depth stuff, thought carsoft was a good idea but having read a few things about it people are saying that it aint worth getting it. i shall perserver a bit more..might take a [ic of the files that came on my cd if i get any more problems installing..
__________________
2000 Black 328 CI (mine)
2002 Blue 325I M Sport (wife's)
2000 Yamaha YZF R1 (mine)
2008 Skyjet SJ125-23 (sons)
2009 Kinroad XT50-18 (sons)
rossi0112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use