E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 131 votes, 4.97 average.
Old 10-11-2011, 10:36 PM   #2061
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tchleung View Post
Just to update everyone, the problem has gone away. Having the car sit for so long, than multiple short drives and working on the car with the interior lights on, left me with a dead battery the morning after. After charging it and driving it more, everything seems to have fixed itself. I have found out my alternator only charges at 13.7v's so it's just enough to charge it and than some as long as I have decent drives. Weather or not, a weak battery was the issue, or whatever was wrong fixed itself... Either way it's all good again. Yay
Typical, something goes wrong and it's always the poor Dynavin that gets the blame first.
"Ooh my back aches, bloody Dynavin"
"My roof's leaking, damn Dynavin"
"My knob was bigger before I got the Dynavin"
"I'm a 2 minute wonder, I swear I usually went for at least 5 mins before the Dyanvin"
"My wife used to be hot before the Dynavin"
"I was more intelligent before the Dynavin........."
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:04 PM   #2062
IHAZBMR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoCal I.E.
Posts: 568
My Ride: '02 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Typical, something goes wrong and it's always the poor Dynavin that gets the blame first.
"Ooh my back aches, bloody Dynavin"
"My roof's leaking, damn Dynavin"
"My knob was bigger before I got the Dynavin"
"I'm a 2 minute wonder, I swear I usually went for at least 5 mins before the Dyanvin"
"My wife used to be hot before the Dynavin"
"I was more intelligent before the Dynavin........."
LOL some of those probably are dynavins fault....hahaha
__________________

'02 Ti Silver M3 SMG SoCal I.E.

Mods: 35% Ceramic tint, CF Wrap Interior, CF roundels, CF Shift Knob, Painted reflectors, Cell Phone holder, Euro mirrors, Dice Mediabridge, Sirius SC-C1

IHAZBMR's '02 M3 SMG
IHAZBMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 11:14 PM   #2063
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
I KNOW some of those are true in my case....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 12:26 AM   #2064
Tchleung
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 634
My Ride: 02 M3


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
Typical, something goes wrong and it's always the poor Dynavin that gets the blame first.
"Ooh my back aches, bloody Dynavin"
"My roof's leaking, damn Dynavin"
"My knob was bigger before I got the Dynavin"
"I'm a 2 minute wonder, I swear I usually went for at least 5 mins before the Dyanvin"
"My wife used to be hot before the Dynavin"
"I was more intelligent before the Dynavin........."
__________________
Follow me on Instagram @tommtomm84

00 Jet Black 323i 5MT - Fuel Saver

02 Carbon Black M3 6MT - Fun Car
456whp/312wtq @ 8psi, No #'s yet at 9psi
4.10 / Headers / ESS VT2-550+

Tchleung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 12:46 AM   #2065
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
I'll see your and raise you a
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 06:06 AM   #2066
JoQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
My Ride: BMW 320
One thing I've been thinking about, why is the interface so damn ugly on the Dynavin DVN-E46? It's one of the most exclusive units for BMW and some chinese knockoff's even look better. For the money we pay, I wouldn't hurt to hire a graphics-designer. I don't understand why other Dynavin's look better, like this one: http://www.dynavin.com/products/product_dnv_e83.php

It really looks like the interface is 10 years old, but the unit is very modern, even got an Android alternative.

When will we get a nicer interface?
JoQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 05:01 PM   #2067
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
Quote:
Originally Posted by robin325ci View Post
So I finally jailbroke my ipod touch and followed DANe46's Epic Dynavin iPod Touch setup

Good job DANe46 I did however use a different app for the music player. FlickTunes works great for shufflers, but if you're a playlist user it's not that great. For example, you can't go back to the playlist and select a different song like the default music player does, you'll have to keep swiping to get to the song you're looking for..

So here's what I used: (note: some text copy/pasted from DANe46's guide in the link above)

*Jail-broken iPod touch

This is a must and allows you install Cydia apps and tweaks to make this whole setup work

*Big Boss App (TVOut2 Mirror TVOut)
Mirrors your iPod screen on Dynavin screen while in AUX mode
This allows album/track name and cover art to be shown

*Apple AppStore or Installous (TuTuneMe music player)
Similar to FlickTunes, but better in a couple of ways
-customizable themes for Day/Night mode
-customizable fonts and colors
-customizable gesture controls
-re-sizable album art
-Easily change playlists just by swiping your finger on the playlist bar
-single tap on the playlist bar allows you to choose another song from the playlist

Gesture Settings I used:

Playlist bar
-Swipe left/right: Prev/Next playlist
-Single tap: Playlist songs

Album art/song info
-Swipe left/right: Prev/Next song
-Swipe up/down: Volume
-Single tap: Play/Pause
-Pinch: Resize album art


*HackStor MyRepospace.com (Plugged In 1.3 Cracked)


Plugged in Settings:
Launch App: On
App to launch: TuTuneMe
Launch in Background: Off
Unlock: On
Override Auto-Lock: On (disables auto lock when plugged in/charging, be sure to manually lock your ipod/iphone when charging at home)

Unplugged Settings:
Close Launched App: On
Lock Device: On
Pause Music: On


Optional Tweaks:

*Xsellize Repo (LSRotator 4.0)

Allows the lock screen to rotate to landscape format

*Sinful Iphone Repo (SBRotator4 Cracked)
Allows the Springboard, Settings, AppStore, Map, YouTube to be displayed in landscape format

Settings:

iPad style layout 4x4 to 3x6 (16 icons max)
Icon scale 80%
Dock icon scale 100%

Can I do that with my repulgar ipod 4th (or 5th) gen nano, or is it for touch's only
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 06:03 PM   #2068
KamPow3r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 827
My Ride: ....
Ok, so I've had my Dynavin Unit for a year a 2 months and already my screen is defected. When I say defected the touch screen no longer recognizes when trying to change the Music, EQ, Navigation, USB, etc. I've tried turning it off and turning it back on and RESETing it, but still no luck. Does anybody else had this problem?

If not, Jeff, would you be able to provide some feedback and info as to how it can be corrected or do I need to bring my unit to you to be replaced?

Thanks in advance!
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines..."
- Enzo Ferrari

Last edited by KamPow3r; 10-12-2011 at 06:13 PM.
KamPow3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 06:47 PM   #2069
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
try re-installing the radio firmware. Could be corrupted button mapping.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:20 PM   #2070
Darkoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,306
My Ride: E46 325Ci
^ Also check your car battery that it's not going flat
__________________
Darkoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 05:41 PM   #2071
KamPow3r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 827
My Ride: ....
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
try re-installing the radio firmware. Could be corrupted button mapping.
Do you have a link or could you please email the file so that I can re-install the software on the Flash Card please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkoz View Post
^ Also check your car battery that it's not going flat
I replaced the battery recently and has been fine, but I did check just to make sure.
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines..."
- Enzo Ferrari
KamPow3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 06:26 PM   #2072
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
Email me for it
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 08:29 PM   #2073
KamPow3r
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 827
My Ride: ....
Thanks!!
__________________
"Aerodynamics are for people who cannot build engines..."
- Enzo Ferrari
KamPow3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:14 AM   #2074
richyboycaldo
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: san diego
Posts: 890
My Ride: Mx5 300zx 240z 330c
Hello Jeff, I bought the IS76 cable, but I don't know were to connect the yellow video cable. I see the Aux in (left) Aux in (right) I can hear the audio, but were does the video go? both of the yellow cables from the dynavins are video outs. I already have the TV out mirror app in my iphone, I already tried the blue "av in", but I still get the "no signal"

Last edited by richyboycaldo; 10-18-2011 at 11:33 AM.
richyboycaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 03:23 PM   #2075
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
its the blue AV in plug.....if you get no signal its because your iphone isnt outputting video. Cant help you there.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 06:29 PM   #2076
redeye93
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 25
My Ride: 05 M3 6MT
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
D95 are rolling out over the next couple weeks so unless you bought it in the last couple days it is going to be a D90.
I ordered mine on 10/5 and just received it today. Will it be a D90 or D95?
redeye93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 03:00 AM   #2077
itscoo2pyopants
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 858
My Ride: E53 4.8is
Send a message via AIM to itscoo2pyopants
hey i have a quick question, im interested in putting a dynavin in my e53 with oem navigation. what do i need to make it work? is it the same plug and play as e46?
__________________
itscoo2pyopants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:35 AM   #2078
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,697
My Ride: BMW
See my website FAQ, you car is a little trickier than a standard E46 install, but it's possible.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-23-2011 at 09:36 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:04 PM   #2079
Dominic_M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 11
My Ride: e46 M3
Just placed an order.. cant wait till i get it ... i also added the backup camera
I hope is not too much of a pain...
Dominic_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 11:45 AM   #2080
04yfz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: US
Posts: 1,386
My Ride: A car
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic_M View Post
Just placed an order.. cant wait till i get it ... i also added the backup camera
I hope is not too much of a pain...
Do you have a Coupe or sedan?



Sent from my ADR6400L using Bimmer App
__________________
Detailed Image Auto Detailing Supplies
[/CENTER]
04yfz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use