E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 195 votes, 4.92 average.
Old 01-07-2012, 12:08 PM   #41
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccagle View Post
Thanks. I'll give it a try tomorrow.
Here is the link:

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1622061

It will give you step by step instructions on what to do. I am still waiting for my cable to arrive
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:18 PM   #42
forzam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Coast
Posts: 374
My Ride: 04 325Ci
How is this scanner different from getting a Peake R5/FCX-3-16?
forzam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:22 PM   #43
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: On the Rappahannock River
Posts: 1,427
My Ride: 325Xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by forzam View Post
How is this scanner different from getting a Peake R5/FCX-3-16?
I think the Peake tool just allows you to read and reset codes... Not recode options.
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:26 PM   #44
forzam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Coast
Posts: 374
My Ride: 04 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Rick View Post
I think the Peake tool just allows you to read and reset codes... Not recode options.
So this can read everything the Peake tool can?
forzam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:28 PM   #45
bugra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West LA
Posts: 43
My Ride: 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by forzam View Post
So this can read everything the Peake tool can?
yes,and more than that.
bugra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:29 PM   #46
hassmaschine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 198
My Ride: '91 325ix
I think all you need for Win7 is the proper usb/serial driver. I have an XP laptop to use for this though.

anyone know - can PA Soft 1.4 synch an EWS unit to a different DME? I know BMW says you cant, but I also know that it can be done. I don't have an EWS unit to try it on but I might pick one up.

Gotta figure out what I'm doing wrong with the MSS54.. trying to read the memory, I get a lot of errors and junk data. but everything else seems to work perfectly.
hassmaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:39 PM   #47
forzam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Coast
Posts: 374
My Ride: 04 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugra View Post
yes,and more than that.
I was ready to shell out $150 on the Peake. Looks like I'll be getting this instead!
forzam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:45 PM   #48
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,030
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by forzam View Post
I was ready to shell out $150 on the Peake. Looks like I'll be getting this instead!
Could also get this http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Has INPA, DIS, NCS Expert, SSS/Progman. Pretty much every programming option for this car, including ECU flashing.
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 04:06 PM   #49
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Could also get this http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Has INPA, DIS, NCS Expert, SSS/Progman. Pretty much every programming option for this car, including ECU flashing.
or this

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...light=fs+cable

Although I got bmw scanner 1.4. I only need to do some coding and not mess with something that I am not familiar with.

PS: thanks ac_2007 for you help in choosing the cable Although I bought it from ebay for a little cheaper
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 04:42 PM   #50
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,030
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by trj View Post
or this

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...light=fs+cable

Although I got bmw scanner 1.4. I only need to do some coding and not mess with something that I am not familiar with.

PS: thanks ac_2007 for you help in choosing the cable Although I bought it from ebay for a little cheaper
Its not so much the cable, but that seller provides all the software, video tutorial how to install it, and has a track record for excellent support. Looking to flash my car to the EU2 tune.

PA Soft will do most, if not more than typical owners will ever need though.
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 04:48 PM   #51
Big Rick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: On the Rappahannock River
Posts: 1,427
My Ride: 325Xi
AC... What will the EU2 do for you? I assume that is a European setup?
__________________
NWS and Advertising Removed.
Big Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 04:51 PM   #52
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Its not so much the cable, but that seller provides all the software, video tutorial how to install it, and has a track record for excellent support. Looking to flash my car to the EU2 tune.

PA Soft will do most, if not more than typical owners will ever need though.
Agreed ac_2007, PA soft will do what typical owners will ever need. But you can mess up whole lot even with PA soft lol. You are going to get more PMs from me on PA soft usage, though

Thinking to get an old laptop just for the car now. Have to see how PA soft acts with windows 7 64 bit loaded in virtual box in a mac, then I will go for the other softwares and cables.
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 05:07 PM   #53
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Could also get this http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...9&cmd=ViewItem

Has INPA, DIS, NCS Expert, SSS/Progman. Pretty much every programming option for this car, including ECU flashing.
Has anyone bought this?
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 05:44 PM   #54
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,030
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Rick View Post
AC... What will the EU2 do for you? I assume that is a European setup?
It will disable monitoring for post cat O2 sensors, which I deleted because I'm running headers. Could also remove the SAP and not trigger a CEL

Sent from my LG-P999 using Bimmer
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 07:50 PM   #55
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Got my scanner in the mail today. Damn snow, can't test it
Will install it in windows 7 in virtual box in mac and see. Will post the results when the snow ends
__________________

Last edited by trj; 01-07-2012 at 07:51 PM.
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 08:16 PM   #56
Bostonbeast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 239
My Ride: 2000 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Has anyone bought this?
I just bought this a few minutes ago. Thanks ac2007 for the link!

I already have PaSoft but it's capabilities are somewhat limited.
Bostonbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 10:27 PM   #57
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bostonbeast View Post
I just bought this a few minutes ago. Thanks ac2007 for the link!

I already have PaSoft but it's capabilities are somewhat limited.
Let me know how it goes!
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 12:49 AM   #58
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,030
My Ride: F32 M4, E46 M3/325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bostonbeast View Post
I just bought this a few minutes ago. Thanks ac2007 for the link!

I already have PaSoft but it's capabilities are somewhat limited.
Lol, np. I'd like to disable my corners and keep fogs enabled while using flash to pass as well. PA can't do that.

Side note, what temperature are the fog bulbs in your sig?
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 02:30 AM   #59
Bostonbeast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 239
My Ride: 2000 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Let me know how it goes!
Will do!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
Lol, np. I'd like to disable my corners and keep fogs enabled while using flash to pass as well. PA can't do that.

Side note, what temperature are the fog bulbs in your sig?
Yeah I've been playing around with PaSoft a bit and it looks like you can cause some serious problems if you don't know what you are doing. I mainly bought that suite for NCS Expert which I think has the ability to reset any module to its default settings without a backup. So basically it is "safer" coding than Pa Soft.

I got the bulbs from DDM tuning because I was ordering a bumper from there as well. I heard their bulbs are sht but these are pretty good. When I ordered them they just said 9006 - Yellow, so I don't know the exact temp, and I just looked on their website and they don't seem to be on there anymore. But I did compare them to the 3000k fog light that was still on the car and it looked exactly the same in terms of color. So if I were to guess I'd say 3000k (it could possibly be 2500k though).
Bostonbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:37 AM   #60
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by trj View Post
Got my scanner in the mail today. Damn snow, can't test it
Will install it in windows 7 in virtual box in mac and see. Will post the results when the snow ends
I assume they make coats in your area!! Put one on and get out there!!
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw scanner, diagnostic tool, error message, pa soft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use