E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 254 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-14-2012, 05:19 PM   #41
Tho///a5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: El Monte, CA
Posts: 73
My Ride: 2k M5
find it hard to believe we are all sticking with the stock boot logos this far into the development process lol.
Tho///a5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 12:34 PM   #42
jneumann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,065
My Ride: 323i, 530i, Z4 3.0i
Send a message via AIM to jneumann
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tho///a5 View Post
find it hard to believe we are all sticking with the stock boot logos this far into the development process lol.
I tried to change it, but it resulted in a bootloop. All the tutorials I found on how to unpack and repack apk's resulted in bootloops, regardless of signing.
__________________
E46 323i Sport/5 speed/TiAg | 242k miles
E85 Z4 3.0i Sport/6 speed/Toledo Blue | 96k miles
E39 530i M-Sport/5 speed/Topaz Blue | 231k miles

Dynavin Android | Laser Interceptor | GRE PSR-800 | STi-R+ | M3 seats | 50W 4300K FX-R Retrofit | Solid black interior | Mtech II front bumper | Koni FSDs
Member, Three Pedal Mafia | Long informative article on oil | BITOG German Castrol FAQ

jneumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 05:22 PM   #43
Tho///a5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: El Monte, CA
Posts: 73
My Ride: 2k M5
so much for open source. I'd really like to change the actual radio boot screen since my unit won't stay on the android side when it boots up. kind of a bummer.
Tho///a5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:33 PM   #44
Jarrettm3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 71
My Ride: m3
As any one figured out to hide the status bar? Also anything on getting the android to boot up faster upon start up?
Jarrettm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 06:57 AM   #45
azmp1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 78
My Ride: 01 M3, 03 A4, 08 X5
About the status bar... Just read this article http://tech2.in.com/news/science-and...mirrors/272982
Note the status bar, this one looks different from ours, i like it better. So, yea same question about the status bar as above.

Also, on the boot logo. Can someone please post instructions on howto change the logo on both android and dynavin side please? I've tried to use some instructions and didn't work...
azmp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:15 AM   #46
mistapony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 25
My Ride: volvo v70r
I think one of the problems is that our status bar contains the home, menu and back buttons so it is currently necessary for proper use. I think the one option would be to get ICS working since it supports soft buttons. Not sure if the dynavin can handle ICS though.
mistapony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:13 PM   #47
Jarrettm3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa
Posts: 71
My Ride: m3
I was thinking of something like an auto hide for the status bar. Maybe something like, you touch the screen and it drops down for 3 sec then hides itself. That would be cool!!!
Anything on booting up faster?
Jarrettm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 08:37 PM   #48
mdh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 81
My Ride: E60 M5
Anyone know of a way to get usb (music and video files) to work on the android side? I can get a hub to work with the supplied wifi radio but the media files will not show up in android.

I can plug in a thumb drive or even a hd to the android usb via a hub and i get a message "preparing udisk" but that is it. I can not locate the files anywhere...
If I pull the drive it will give me one of those messages to unmount udisk berfore removing.

Any ideas?

Last edited by mdh; 01-16-2012 at 09:20 PM. Reason: Insight
mdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:01 PM   #49
mdh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 81
My Ride: E60 M5
More...
I can find the usb flash drive with es file explorer and even play files from it but I can not find these files through the android music player. Is there a way to "mount" these drives in android so they are available to the system without digging for them?

I am way out of my league here but I am trying...
mdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:06 PM   #50
tasi333
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 134
My Ride: 330Ci Convertible
Quote:
Originally Posted by podge3 View Post
Some of the links in the first post do not work. Maybe the OP could fix

Thanks.
Which links? I double checked most of them, seems to be ok for me.
__________________



2002 330 Cic Topaz Blue
VMR 701; Front 19x8.5et35 225/35; Rear 19x9.5et45 245/30 | Spacers: 15mm front; 12mm rear | Megan Racing Coil Overs | Short shifter | eBay Strut Bar | Angel Eyes | LED Tails | Dynavin (Droid) | Vanos | DISA

*My Car Thread (Pics & Mod details):
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=873246
tasi333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:47 AM   #51
Danoff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 471
My Ride: '04 330i ZSP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrettm3 View Post
As any one figured out to hide the status bar?
Launcher Pro has the option to hide the status bar... unfortunately the this version of android has been told (somehow) to simply ignore that command. Very irritating. Swiping along the screen brings it back when this feature is used on a smartphone.
Danoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 02:33 PM   #52
tasi333
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 134
My Ride: 330Ci Convertible
802.11 n?

Has anyone successfully used an 802.11 n USB wifi adaptor? Could someone recommend ones that work?

Thanks.
__________________



2002 330 Cic Topaz Blue
VMR 701; Front 19x8.5et35 225/35; Rear 19x9.5et45 245/30 | Spacers: 15mm front; 12mm rear | Megan Racing Coil Overs | Short shifter | eBay Strut Bar | Angel Eyes | LED Tails | Dynavin (Droid) | Vanos | DISA

*My Car Thread (Pics & Mod details):
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=873246
tasi333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:37 PM   #53
jneumann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,065
My Ride: 323i, 530i, Z4 3.0i
Send a message via AIM to jneumann
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistapony View Post
I think one of the problems is that our status bar contains the home, menu and back buttons so it is currently necessary for proper use. I think the one option would be to get ICS working since it supports soft buttons. Not sure if the dynavin can handle ICS though.
Might be possible, but given the build requirements, I don't have a computer or server beefy enough to even try to build ICS.
__________________
E46 323i Sport/5 speed/TiAg | 242k miles
E85 Z4 3.0i Sport/6 speed/Toledo Blue | 96k miles
E39 530i M-Sport/5 speed/Topaz Blue | 231k miles

Dynavin Android | Laser Interceptor | GRE PSR-800 | STi-R+ | M3 seats | 50W 4300K FX-R Retrofit | Solid black interior | Mtech II front bumper | Koni FSDs
Member, Three Pedal Mafia | Long informative article on oil | BITOG German Castrol FAQ

jneumann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 01:49 PM   #54
OverBoostinAnthony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 32
My Ride: 2004 325i 5sp
I need to do this asap

Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
OverBoostinAnthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:32 PM   #55
DEVIL's Style
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ROMANIA
Posts: 13
My Ride: ---
Here's a few pictures and a small video with a d99 android for bmw e46 and rooted rom from m3 evolution.


Apps used : sygic aura 3 , torque pro obd2 , power amp , and other utilities. I also find a bug , with the usb hub plugged in , the wireles is giving me errors in android, why? it's because of the usb hub? [ a belkin passive usb hub ]

Best regards from Europe !

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0471.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	433152   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0480.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	157.3 KB
ID:	433153   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0475.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	433154   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0490.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	433155  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0487.jpg
Views:	155
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	433156   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0492.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	433157  
DEVIL's Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:07 PM   #56
mistapony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 25
My Ride: volvo v70r
Can someone help me update my android. I downloaded the m3evolution files, put the sd card in my mac and deleted everything that is on it. Then copied the files to the root of the sdcard. I put it in back in the dynavin and it just boots up normally, doesn't try to install. Any ideas?
mistapony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:35 PM   #57
reigate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 31
My Ride: e46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistapony View Post
Can someone help me update my android. I downloaded the m3evolution files, put the sd card in my mac and deleted everything that is on it. Then copied the files to the root of the sdcard. I put it in back in the dynavin and it just boots up normally, doesn't try to install. Any ideas?
Had the same problem however it was trying too and I just didn't realise. Try again but once the radio screen comes up, press the NAVI button and it will switch to the android side where the update process should be displayed. The update does take some time so be patient.
reigate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 02:47 PM   #58
mistapony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 25
My Ride: volvo v70r
Quote:
Originally Posted by reigate View Post
Had the same problem however it was trying too and I just didn't realise. Try again but once the radio screen comes up, press the NAVI button and it will switch to the android side where the update process should be displayed. The update does take some time so be patient.
Thats what I have done. I switch to NAVI and see the Dynavin boot screen then android starts like normal. Does the update happen when your in android?
mistapony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:39 PM   #59
reigate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 31
My Ride: e46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistapony View Post
Thats what I have done. I switch to NAVI and see the Dynavin boot screen then android starts like normal. Does the update happen when your in android?
No; mine goes into the upgrade process so I'm at a loss to suggest anything further. Not that it should be a factor however I do file manipulation on a PC and not a Mac. Did you get yours from Jeff or an alternate source as I believe that some people from the alternate source may have had similar problems due to incorrectly formatted micro SD boot cards.
reigate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:40 PM   #60
mistapony
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 25
My Ride: volvo v70r
Yeah mine is a d99 universal unit, got it off of ebay
mistapony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use